Dawson School

5.00 5 1 (7 reviews)
Tel: (303)665-6679
  • Dawson School is a co-ed learning community that challenges students to achieve excellence in mind, body, and character through a rigorous college preparatory program.
  • Dawson graduates are young men and women who achieve their individual potential, savor life, and meet the challenges of the world.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Association of Colorado Independent Schools (ACIS)
Grades OfferedGrades Kindergarten-12
Year Founded1970

Student Body

Total Students485 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
13%
State avg.: 23%
Students by GradeDawson School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers60 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio8:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
80%
Average Class Size15 students
Number of AP Courses13 courses
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Average SAT score1280
Average ACT score27
Matriculation DataMatric. DataLink to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress CodeCasual

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost$20,550
Tuition NotesTiered tuition: K-2, 3-4, 5-8, 9-12
% on Financial Aid
18%
Admissions DirectorMark Saunders
Admissions AssociateScott Schneider

Sports

Total Sports Offered10 sports
SportsBaseball, Basketball, Cross Country, Cycling, Golf, Kayaking, Lacrosse, Soccer, Tennis, VolleyballBaseballBasketball,
Cross CountryCycling,
GolfKayaking,
LacrosseSoccer,
TennisVolleyball,
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Lafayette
    Catalyst High School
    Alternative School
    Grades: 9-12 | 43 students
    5.2 miles
    1376 Miners Drive
    Lafayette, CO 80026
    (303)604-6512
    5.29-12
    43
  • Boulder
    September School
    Alternative School
    Grades: 9-12 | 32 students
    9.3 miles
    1902 Walnut Street
    Boulder, CO 80302
    (303)443-9933
    9.39-12
    32
  • Broomfield
    Holy Family High School
    (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: 9-12 | 575 students
    7.5 miles
    5195 W 144th Ave
    Broomfield, CO 80023
    (303)400-1411
    7.59-12
    575
  • Boulder
    Watershed School
    Special Program Emphasis
    Grades: 6-12 | 62 students
    10.5 miles
    205 Canyon Blvd
    Boulder, CO 80302
    (303)440-7520
    10.56-12
    62
  • Boulder
    Shining Mountain Waldorf School
    Special Program Emphasis
    Grades: PK-12 | 292 students
    9.6 miles
    999 Violet Avenue
    Boulder, CO 80304
    (303)444-7697
    9.6PK-12
    292

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (7 reviews)
5  5/21/2016
I have been at Dawson for two years beginning last year in 7th grade. I felt that coming in as a new student and finding new friends was very easy since everyone respects anyone here.The envirnoment is very inclusive and everyone hangs out with everyone. Along with this, the small class sizes are great and allow for one on one time with teacher. This has really helped me understand material that I would otherwise struggle with. Dawson provides a variety of arts, sports and languages which make up a very well rounded education. I'm very glad that I came to Dawson.
- Posted by
5  10/8/2015
After 11 years as a Dawson parent of 3 children, I am more pleased than ever with the high quality education provided by supportive teachers. Through Experiential Education my kids gained invaluable cultural exposure with travel to China and Turkey. The College Counselors provided invaluable guidance through the stressful college application process. The rigorous curriculum enabled my kids to transition smoothly to college. I am very grateful to Dawson and so are my kids!
- Posted by
5  11/5/2014
This is our sixth year at Dawson and we have kids in the Lower, Middle and Upper Schools. Our four kids are all very different in both personality and academic ability. The teachers at Dawson have been extremely willing to help tailor their program to help my quick learner stay focused and also tutor my slow reader. All academic, creative and athletic talents my kids are passionate about have been supported, fostered and celebrated at Dawson. My kids have all gained confidance in themselves because of the amazing teachers at Dawson.
- Posted by
5  10/10/2014
I am a Dawson alum. Great school, great faculty that care about the students. You will be supported here and you will gain experiences that carry with you long after you graduate.
- Posted by
5  8/30/2014
Our daughter is extremely happy at Dawson. She loves the teachers, and all of the projects/activities keep her engaged and excited. The teachers are wonderful and the class sizes are very small. The "specials" are as important to the education as are the core classes. Dawson provides a great, well-rounded education, while ensuring emotional health and growth. And the campus is fabulous! It is nice for the kids to have so much space and access to the outdoors. The Lower School kids have recess three times a day...a perfect way to keep them active and engaged--both inside and outside of the classroom. Our experience at Dawson has been great!
- Posted by
5  8/4/2014
We are very happy with our kids at Dawson. Both the Middle and Upper Schools have small class sizes and very enthusiastic teachers. My kids have developed close relationships both with the teachers and other kids. Great arts program and the sports program is getting better. A lot of parent involvement, it is a great community and we are happy to be a part of it.
- Posted by
5  4/2/2013
Love it here! Teachers and administrators are experienced, forward thinking and enthusiastic. Graduates are equipped to succeed not only in college, but in life! Great arts & sports programs, plus awesome experiential learning opportunities. Facilities are unparalleled.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
January 19, 2018
Depending on their family circumstances, our Presidents received a wide range of primary and secondary schooling.
January 19, 2018
A fascinating look at where our first Presidents went to school.
January 18, 2018
From time to time we all wonder how things might have turned out if circumstances and situations had been different. We apply that questioning to private schools.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Boulder County, CO is $8,990 for elementary schools and $19,563 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Boulder County, CO is 93% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).