The Covenant School

5.00 5 1 (11 reviews)
Tel: (615)467-2313
  • The Covenant School believes that children are best prepared for the future by an educational program that incorporates skills that are important to learning and working in the 21st century along with Truth that is timeless.
  • So as they are learning to work collaboratively, to think critically, and be innovative, they are also learning Truth that has its roots in Scripture.
  • Timeless Truths are incorporated into instruction in ways that allow children to recognize, at every turn, the nature of God and their relationship to Him.

School Overview

Religious Affiliation Presbyterian
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten-6
Year Founded 2001

Student Body

Total Students 155 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
Students by Grade The Covenant School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 21 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 7:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
60%
Average Class Size 13 students

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $13,000
Tuition Notes 2017-2018 Tuition K-6: $13,000 PreK 3 day: $4,800 PreK 5 day: $8,000
Admissions Director Diana Apple

Sports

Total Sports Offered 6 sports
Sports Basketball, Cross Country, Dance, Football, Soccer, Track and FieldBasketballCross Country,
DanceFootball,
SoccerTrack and Field,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 10 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Choir, Creative Dance, Drums, Journalism Club, Makers Club, Robotics, Sculpture and Art, Service Projects, So You Think You Can Improv, Student Council Choir, Creative Dance, Drums, Makers Club, Robotics, Journalism Club,
Sculpture and Art,
Service Projects,
So You Think You Can Improv,
Student Council,

School Notes

  • Where 21st Centruy Learning Meets Timeless Truth
  • Our children regardless of their calling in life, will be expected to be collaborative workers, innovative thinkers, and creative problem solvers who are culturally and digitally literate and who possess the traits of initiative, responsibility, flexibility, leadership, and self-direction.  As members of an information-saturated culture, they must know how to both engage and ultimately shape that culture, and they need to be given the tools to do that well.
  • At the same time, students must be equipped to see every sphere of life - regardless of the time to which they were born - as under God's authority and as saturated with messages of His love for them.  They must be informed by Scripture and equipped to engage the inconsistencies, half-truths, and misinformation of this age.  At The Covenant School, we engage the minds of our students as well as their hearts.  Learning in the 21st century must reflect Truth in all its facets.

Nearby Private Schools

All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Nashville
    Grades: PK-6 | 400 students
    0.3 miles
    5035 Hillsboro Road
    Nashville, TN 37215
    (615)269-4751
    0.3PK-6
    400
  • Nashville
    Grades: 5-12
    1.1 miles
    3801 Hobbs Road
    Nashville, TN 37215
    (615)297-9543
    1.15-12
    n/a
  • Nashville
    Montessori Centre
    Montessori School
    Grades: KG | 1 students
    1.1 miles
    4608 Granny White Pike
    Nashville, TN 37220
    (615)673-0897
    1.1KG
    1
  • Nashville
    Lipscomb Academy
    (Church of Christ)
    Grades: PK-12 | 1265 students
    1.8 miles
    3901 Granny White Pike
    Nashville, TN 37204
    (615)966-1600
    1.8PK-12
    1265
  • Nashville
    Grades: K-1 | 93 students
    1.9 miles
    3420 Belmont Blvd
    Nashville, TN 37215
    (615)292-8151
    1.9K-1
    93

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (11 reviews)
5  2/25/2017
The relationships lived out each day at Covenant are what make this school a unique and loving place! First and foremost, we are truly a Christian school in that we meet for kid-friendly chapel services with relevant (and often silly and fun!) sermons by our school pastor. We live out the Word and reference important verses in interactions between faculty and student and also the ways teachers encourage students to treat one another. Our teachers genuinely care about each individual child and work with one another to develop engaging, challenging lessons to meet those individual needs. The creative lessons incorporate 1-to-1 technology, 21st century skills practice, and timeless truths. The curious, eager students here grow into loving friends, seeking to serve the Lord by working their hardest in all that they do and looking for ways to help and serve others.Families pour their love and commitment into Covenant by volunteering and giving countless hours behind the scenes as we partnership with them for the optimal educational environment.To sum it up more simply, we don't just SAY we are a Christian school, we LIVE it out daily and can honestly say we feel the Lord's presence and his work alive here in this school. It's a phenomenal choice for any family seeking a small student-to-teacher ratio with teachers passionate about their work and providing challenging academics, sweet and welcoming families, and a heartfelt school led by a Biblical worldview.
- Posted by
5  2/25/2017
As the parent of two alumni I can say without equivocation that my children were prepared academically and spiritually for both their next Schools (Ensworth & Harpeth Hall), and life. Friendships made at this special place have stood the test of time. There is no way one can adequately describe the quality of the culture. My children would not be who they are if they hadn't spent their first 7 years at Covenant.
- Posted by
5  2/25/2017
This is our eighth year at The Covenant School, and we could not have been more pleased with our child's education. I know when she graduates this year, she will be well prepared to succeed at her next school and will have the extra confidence given from the individual attention from small class sizes and the love of her teachers. If you are seeking a Christian education with academic excellence, Covenant is a wonderful option!
- Posted by
5  2/25/2017
Covenant is an incredible school! It provides a quality education founded in Biblical truth, and strives to prepare students not only academically, but for life outside these walls. We work to instill Christian values in our students that they will cling to when they leave Covenant. For me personally, Covenant is family. Coming to Nashville alone, finding a second family here has meant so much. Not only do I get to work with amazing people every day, I feel like I`ve found my career niche as well.
- Posted by
5  2/25/2017
I have been a part of many schools, both as an educator and as a parent, and NEVER have I been so proud as I am to be a part of the TCS family!! There is a real uniqueness about this place that is evident. Words like integrity, compassion, and respect come to mind. Starting at the top and filtering down through our teachers is a remarkable understanding of the importance of not only academic excellence but a recognition that each and every student has God-given talents that must be fostered and utilized. Through challenge and empowerment, our students are extremely prepared for the next level of academics as well as life.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
Not only does this school teach my children about Jesus, but the academic level is above and beyond what I even expected . Not many people know about this school and I love that it's still a hidden jewel, outside the eyes of the masses. Hopefully it stays this quaint! I feel so blessed to have found this school. My children love the students and teachers, and we all felt welcome from the first day by the faculty and other parents. Seriously can't say enough good things about The Covenant School.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
The education, love and team building atmosphere at The Covenant School is unmatched (in my opinion) to any parent desiring a Christ-centered daily education for your child. Our child has had two wonderful years growing in character, making friends for life, and recieving a stellar education with a staff that is committed to excellence EVERY DAY. When searching for the right school for our son, we chose Covenant not just for education(almost all of the teachers have Master's Degrees), but for the opportunities he would have in becoming involved there. Going into his third year, he will continue his cross-country running, and is looking forward to more extracurricular activites to choose from.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
The Covenant School is the best kept secret in Nashville. The teachers care so much about the children. They care about the children's academic growth and the growth of their hearts. There is no way to communicate the love my children have about getting up every morning and going to school. There has never been a day where they were not excited to see their freinds and their teachers at school. We have loved cross country, basketball and volleyball this past year. My oldest easily got into every school she applied for after her 6th grade year at Covenant. She was very prepared for middle school and I truly feel that Covenant prepared her for what a lovely young lady that she is now. What a blessing to have The Covenant School in our lives!!
- Posted by
5  7/27/2012
An affordable way to send our four children to a school with strong academics as well as a solid Christian world view. The small size creates a true community where everyone fits in. Our daughter had her pick of the private schools she applied to when she graduated.
- Posted by
5  7/27/2012
We have 4 children at TCS and we LOVE it! One of my favorite things about our school is the compassion and love of Christ that the teachers and staff show to the children. My kids excel academically, but they also leave TCS with a heart for the Lord. We also love the Fine Arts Enrichment academy- our kids have taken both piano and guitar instruction. TCS is a special place!
- Posted by
5  7/27/2012
We love, love, LOVE The Covenant School! We love the amazing teachers, the high quality education, the beautiful facility, the individual attention and love each child receives and the overall mission of the school. The Covenant School is a hidden gem, and we are so blessed to be a part of this amazing group of people.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
July 12, 2017
Here are five facts about Montessori schools to bear in mind when exploring preschools and primary schools for your child.
July 12, 2017
What are the advantages and/or disadvantages of a for profit versus a not for profit school? Is one kind of school better than the other?
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Nashville, TN is $10,320 for elementary schools and $15,230 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Nashville, TN is 72% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).