Wanchese Christian Academy

  • Wanchese Christian Academy is a ministry of the Wanchese Assembly of God Church.
  • The governing body of Wanchese Christian Academy includes the Pastor, the Board of Directors and the Principal.
  • Members and friends of our local church are encouraged to benefit from this ministry by enrolling their school-aged children.
  • Christian parents of other Bible-believing faiths are also welcome to enroll their children if they are willing to adhere to the policies of Wanchese Christian Academy.
  • In both practice and teaching, Wanchese Christian Academy subscribes to the following Statement of Fundamental Truths of the Wanchese Assembly of God Church.
  • The mission of Wanchese Christian Academy is to provide each child with an academically sound educational experience from a Biblical perspective and in a Christ centered environment.
  • We, the administrators, faculty, and staff share this responsibility with the families of our students.
  • It is our desire that all students grow in "wisdom and stature, and in favor with God and man," (Luke 2:52).
  • We are committed to a life-long vision of academic excellence and moral integrity.

School Overview

Religious AffiliationAssembly of God
Grades OfferedGrades Prekindergarten-12
Year Founded1978

Student Body

Total Students56 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
87%
State avg.: 19%
Students by GradeWanchese Christian Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers7 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio8:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size5 students
Advanced CoursesSpanish I and II, Chemistry, Algebra I and II
Classroom Dress CodeCasual
(Elementary: any color (no black) oxford shirts with boys in black slacks and girls in black skirts/pants. Secondary: Any color(no black) polo shirt colors with bottoms of khaki or black (gentlemen in slacks and ladies in knee length skirts or slacks). )

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Tuition NotesTuition amounts are according to selected grade level.
Acceptance Rate
90%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions DirectorKaren Hinson

Sports

Total Sports Offered2 sports
SportsBasketball, VolleyballBasketballVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.11 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.chapel services weekly, chorus, computer, elementary specials: art, music lessons, physical education, school-wide plays annually, Spanish, talent shows, voice lessons, yearbook staff

Nearby Private Schools

All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Kitty Hawk
    Grades: PK-3 | 52 students
    15.5 miles
    100 Beacon Dr
    Kitty Hawk, NC 27949
    (252)261-4095
    15.5PK-3
    52
  • Kitty Hawk
    Grades: PK-4 | 86 students
    16.2 miles
    3910 Poor Ridge Rd
    Kitty Hawk, NC 27949
    (252)261-7891
    16.2PK-4
    86
  • Jarvisburg
    Grades: 4-11 | 15 students
    27.7 miles
    121 Forbes Rd
    Jarvisburg, NC 27947
    (252)491-8283
    27.74-11
    15
  • Elizabeth City
    Grades: 6-11 | 16 students
    40.6 miles
    1456 Weeksville Rd
    Elizabeth City, NC 27909
    (252)330-4130
    40.66-11
    16
  • Elizabeth City
    Grades: PK-12 | 177 students
    44.5 miles
    1210 Us Highway 17 S
    Elizabeth City, NC 27909
    (252)338-0883
    44.5PK-12
    177

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (5 reviews)
5  2/26/2016
I can't say enough positive things about my time at WCA. I was fortunate enough to spend my entire 13 years (K5-12) at this school and I received more personal attention and instruction than most children ever have the opportunity to do. I graduated with honors, went on to earn two degrees from a Christian University in Florida and I now work for a Fortune 500 company in the Aerospace and Defense industry. As I no longer live in the area, I don't have the opportunity to send my two girls to the same school that blessed my life in so many ways, but hopefully this review will inspire another parent to give their child the same opportunity I had.
- Posted by
5  7/12/2013
We love the academic, spiritual and social progress seen in our children during the years of enrollment at Wanchese Christian Academy. The focus is on God and others.... not self, yet their individual talents are fostered!
- Posted by
5  6/20/2012
we just completed preK and Kindergarten here and we could not be more pleased. Our children have learned and grown so much in the loving caring environment at WCA under the guidance of the school principal Mrs. Rachel, and their teachers this year. We really look forward to another great year coming up!
- Posted by
5  2/28/2012
I attended and graduated from this school. I have never benn limited in any areas of my life as a result of being a WCA graduate. I feel that its reputation and education have helped me more that if I had attended a public school. I am currently sending my children to this school and as a parent I am even more pleased. I would recommend this school to anyone who values private/Christian education.
- Posted by
5  1/10/2012
We chose Wanchese Christian Academy, because we want "Christianaity" to be the normal, rather than an optional way of living. The instructors teach truth, in the most loving environment. If someone is going to have my kids for the majority of the day - I want to filter that information in the right direction. Thanks WCA for your investment in my children's life!
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
January 19, 2018
Depending on their family circumstances, our Presidents received a wide range of primary and secondary schooling.
January 19, 2018
A fascinating look at where our first Presidents went to school.
January 18, 2018
From time to time we all wonder how things might have turned out if circumstances and situations had been different. We apply that questioning to private schools.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in North Carolina is $7,706 for elementary schools and $9,569 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in North Carolina is 86% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).