Wanchese Christian Academy

  • Wanchese Christian Academy is a ministry of the Wanchese Assembly of God Church.
  • The governing body of Wanchese Christian Academy includes the Pastor, the Board of Directors, the Principal, and the Wanchese Christian Academy School Board.
  • Members and friends of our local church are encouraged to benefit from this ministry by enrolling their school-aged children.
  • Christian parents of other Bible-believing faiths are also welcome to enroll their children if they are willing to adhere to the policies of Wanchese Christian Academy.
  • In both practice and teaching, Wanchese Christian Academy subscribes to the following Statement of Fundamental Truths of the Wanchese Assembly of God Church.
  • The mission of Wanchese Christian Academy is to provide each child with an academically sound educational experience from a Biblical perspective and in a Christ centered environment.
  • We, the administrators, faculty, and staff share this responsibility with the families of our students.
  • It is our desire that all students grow in "wisdom and stature, and in favor with God and man," (Luke 2:52).
  • We are committed to a life-long vision of academic excellence and moral integrity.

School Overview

Religious Affiliation Assembly of God
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten-12
Year Founded 1978

Student Body

Total Students 56 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
87%
State avg.: 18%
Students by Grade Wanchese Christian Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 7 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 8:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 5 students
Advanced Courses Spanish I and II, Chemistry, Algebra I and II

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Tuition Notes Tuition amounts are according to selected grade level.
Acceptance Rate
90%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Karen Hinson

Sports

Total Sports Offered 2 sports
Sports Basketball, VolleyballBasketballVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 8 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. chapel services weekly, elementary specials: art, chorus, PE, computer, Spanish, music lessons, physical education, school-wide plays annually, talent shows, voice lessons, yearbook staff music lessons, talent shows, voice lessons, yearbook staff, chapel services weekly,
elementary specials: art, chorus, PE, computer, Spanish,
physical education,
school-wide plays annually,

Nearby Private Schools

All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Kitty Hawk
    Grades: PK-3 | 52 students
    15.5 miles
    100 Beacon Dr
    Kitty Hawk, NC 27949
    (252)261-4095
    15.5PK-3
    52
  • Kitty Hawk
    Grades: PK-4 | 86 students
    16.2 miles
    3910 Poor Ridge Rd
    Kitty Hawk, NC 27949
    (252)261-7891
    16.2PK-4
    86
  • Jarvisburg
    Grades: 4-11 | 15 students
    27.7 miles
    121 Forbes Rd
    Jarvisburg, NC 27947
    (252)491-8283
    27.74-11
    15
  • Elizabeth City
    Grades: 6-11 | 16 students
    40.6 miles
    1456 Weeksville Rd
    Elizabeth City, NC 27909
    (252)330-4130
    40.66-11
    16
  • Elizabeth City
    Grades: PK-12 | 177 students
    44.5 miles
    1210 Us Highway 17 S
    Elizabeth City, NC 27909
    (252)338-0883
    44.5PK-12
    177

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (5 reviews)
5  2/26/2016
I can't say enough positive things about my time at WCA. I was fortunate enough to spend my entire 13 years (K5-12) at this school and I received more personal attention and instruction than most children ever have the opportunity to do. I graduated with honors, went on to earn two degrees from a Christian University in Florida and I now work for a Fortune 500 company in the Aerospace and Defense industry. As I no longer live in the area, I don't have the opportunity to send my two girls to the same school that blessed my life in so many ways, but hopefully this review will inspire another parent to give their child the same opportunity I had.
- Posted by
5  7/12/2013
We love the academic, spiritual and social progress seen in our children during the years of enrollment at Wanchese Christian Academy. The focus is on God and others.... not self, yet their individual talents are fostered!
- Posted by
5  6/20/2012
we just completed preK and Kindergarten here and we could not be more pleased. Our children have learned and grown so much in the loving caring environment at WCA under the guidance of the school principal Mrs. Rachel, and their teachers this year. We really look forward to another great year coming up!
- Posted by
5  2/28/2012
I attended and graduated from this school. I have never benn limited in any areas of my life as a result of being a WCA graduate. I feel that its reputation and education have helped me more that if I had attended a public school. I am currently sending my children to this school and as a parent I am even more pleased. I would recommend this school to anyone who values private/Christian education.
- Posted by
5  1/10/2012
We chose Wanchese Christian Academy, because we want "Christianaity" to be the normal, rather than an optional way of living. The instructors teach truth, in the most loving environment. If someone is going to have my kids for the majority of the day - I want to filter that information in the right direction. Thanks WCA for your investment in my children's life!
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
April 25, 2017
What are the attributes which make 21st century military schools so special? We find out in this article.
April 25, 2017
If you are looking for a college preparatory education with a military emphasis, then take a look at military schools.
April 25, 2017
School uniforms are largely found at religious, parochial and military schools. Dress codes have replaced uniforms at most schools.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in North Carolina is $7,677 for elementary schools and $9,554 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in North Carolina is 87% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).