A Child's Touch

5.00 5 1 (12 reviews)
Tel: (303)286-8460
  • A Child's Touch is a non-profit, state-licensed, Christian school providing infant, preschool, kindergarten, and child care services in Thornton, Colorado.
  • Our school opened on August 1, 1977. We seek to provide a nurturing place for your child.
  • Your child's need to develop relationships, to be creative, imaginative and cooperative, and to progress physically, intellectually and spiritually are given the utmost priority by our well-trained and dedicated staff.
  • Our goal is to have a positive impact on the neighborhood, our staff, and our parents.
  • We seek to be one of the best child care centers in the nation, providing a model showcase for other centers.
  • We offer a full-day academic kindergarten program packed with creative teaching and fun.
  • The year concludes with the children receiving diplomas at a cap-and-gown graduation ceremony.
  • Our graduates are typically reading at about a second grade level and tend to do very well in elementary school.

School Overview

School TypeEarly Childhood / Day Care
School Membership(s)School Assoc.National Association for the Education of Young Children
Religious AffiliationChristian
Grades OfferedGrades Prekindergarten-Kindergarten
Summer School OfferedYes

Student Body

Total Students91 students
Student Body Typen/a
% Students of Color
39%
State avg.: 23%
Students by GradeA Child's Touch Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers2 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio46:1
National avg.: 13:1

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Denver
    Grades: PK-12 | 132 students
    7.8 miles
    2949 Federal Blvd
    Denver, CO 80211
    (303)964-8993
    7.8 PK-12
    132
  • Denver
    Denver Waldorf School
    Special Program Emphasis
    Grades: PK-12 | 380 students
    12.7 miles
    2100 S. Pennsylvania St.
    Denver, CO 80210
    (303)777-0531
    12.7 PK-12
    380
  • Lafayette
    Hope Montessori Academy
    Montessori School
    Grades: PK-K | 120 students
    4 miles
    250 S. Cherrywood Dr.
    Lafayette, CO 80026
    (303)255-8151
    4 PK-K
    120
  • Denver
    Grades: PK-8 | 143 students
    1.6 miles
    2341 E 78th Ave
    Denver, CO 80229
    (303)288-2159
    1.6 PK-8
    143
  • Thornton
    Grades: PK-12 | 92 students
    4.4 miles
    12505 Colorado Blvd.
    Thornton, CO 80241
    (303)452-7514
    4.4 PK-12
    92

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (12 reviews)
5  5/9/2018
My oldest daughter attended A Child's Touch and we switched school for convenience, bad idea. Now we are back my youngest is in the pre k program and my oldest will be in the summer cap. They both are so happy to be there. The teacher are awesome and the staff is very helpful.
- Posted by
5  5/9/2018
A Child's Touch has been the best choice I have made for my daughter. I was blessed to attend the school as a child and carry many beautiful memories with me. Values and morals are important to me and the respectful way in which children are taught her at A.C.T. helps them develop in to well rounded and confident students. The academic aspect alone is enough to brag about! The children are functioning at an advanced level - all while having so much fun! The school was designed with children in mind from the ground up! The teachers are committed to keeping the classrooms inviting and always changing which stimulates my daughter's adventurous side. My daughter has been coming here since the age of 7 weeks and because of the care I know she receives I don't have to stress about her well being while I am working. Now when I pick her up she doesn't want to leave! I would recommend A.C.T. to any parent at any time. The experience our children have here they will carry with them into adulthood. They create memories, adventures, family. I will always be blessed to be a part of the A.C.T. family.
- Posted by
5  5/9/2018
I had my son enrolled at another daycare center and was not satisfied. I saw the best changes in him from the first day. He loves the school and is actually excited to go every day. He often wants to go on the weekends too. The staff is caring and amazing. One way to know the staff is great is that I do NOT see a lot of turnover at this school. This consistancy alone is invaluable. I am excited that he will be attending their fantastic kindergarten program next year. Lastly, I love that he comes home and talks about Jesus. This melts my heart. I am so glad I was led to this school
- Posted by
5  5/9/2018
My (now 4 year old) twins have been at a A Child's Touch for 6 months. I am so blessed to have found this awesome Christian Daycare. The teachers are so wonderful, the atmosphere is loving, the staff all-around is great. While I was a little concerned because my children are beyond their peers in academics. ACT has continued to keep them ahead of the curl in all aspects of learning. They have such a great environment all around. I would highly recommend!
- Posted by
5  5/9/2018
A Child's Touch is an amazing school. I have been nothing but pleased by the Teachers and the Staff. The school is diligent in keeping parents informed on all things from a child's injury to a fundraising event. Everyone that works for A Child's Touch has an amazing attitude and they truly care about your child. I am confident that the best team of people are looking after my children. Before we came to A Child's Touch my children had been enrolled in two different schools. Those schools were neglectful, did not communicate well and my children were not being taught according to their stated education programs. My children did not enjoy going to school. I was so disappointed. Thanks to A Child's Touch my children are now thriving both socially and scholastically. They look forward to school. If you are looking for a school that will help your child thrive then look not further. A Child's Touch is the best place for you and your children.
- Posted by
5  5/6/2018
A Child's Touch has been a part of my life since I was a child. I actually had the privilege of attending the school myself, thanks to my awesome mother! I am so grateful to have had such a positive experience there. The memories I have from being there are still very vivid in my mind. I always looked forward to going. That being said, when I had my son and became a parent myself, there was never a doubt in my mind about where I wanted to send him. I knew he would have a love for it just like I did. The entire staff is friendly and positive. Every interaction I have with them all is always pleasant. I love that the building is secure and safe. I never worry about my son while he's there. I know he is in the best hands. Their rates are also very affordable considering everything that goes into my child's day. Breakfast, lunch, and snacks are provided as well as a full day of structured, fun activities. He has learned so much including sign language! His level of intelligence truly amazes me and I am so thankful for the amazing teachers who have helped my son's love for learning grow so rapidly! He always comes home in a great mood, ready to tell me all about his day. His genuine love for his friends and teachers are worth every penny. I highly recommend this school to everyone I know. They are one of a kind and you definitely won't regret your decision. We have so much love this school and all of its staff members. We couldn't be happier with our decision to send our sweet boy here! :)
- Posted by
5  5/6/2018
As a new mother 6 1/2 years ago a daycare was a terrifying thought for me once we found a child's touch I knew the search was over, my daughter has attended a child's touch for 4 1/2 years now. To watch her learn and grow is very exciting! A Child's Touch has exceeded our expectations - ownership management and teachers are incredible!!! I highly recommend their summer current program as well!!!A. Mattei
- Posted by
5  5/6/2018
A Child`s Touch has been the school of our choice for both of our children. It`s such a relief to know we are taking our children to a safe, happy, fun environment. My son went on to a school in our county and is advanced compared to others in his class. I thank ACT for that! I recommend this school with no hesitations.
- Posted by
5  5/6/2018
I am so happy to have found ACT. My son loves the outdoors, and one of their best attributes is that they have over 13 playgrounds, and they are one of a few certified Nature Explore school in the country. There are a lot of activities throughout the day for the kids to keep them engaged. The staff and teachers are great and truly care. My second favorite thing about this school is that they talk about God everyday!
- Posted by
5  5/6/2018
I looked for months for a daycare for my kiddos and this one offers everything you could imagine and more. The place is absolutely humongous with things for kids of every age. One of the nicest features is that it has playgrounds for every age group so you know your kiddo is safe. Outdoor activity is very important, which is of huge importance to us. They also have many different "stations" where kids can learn about science, wood working, etc. The staff is amazing and caring, you feel like family here. I would recommend them to anyone and everyone. We couldn't be happier with A Child's Touch.
- Posted by
5  5/6/2018
We have been with A Childs Touch for over 3 years now. Our son was diagnosed with celiac disease last year which means he can't eat or touch any wheat based products (food, even playdoh). The school has been fantastic about making sure the teachers and his classmates know what his restrictions are. We have not had any issues with the food and if they do an art project with food or playdoh, they always send me a message ahead of time to bring in gluten free pretzels or whatever is needed. As a parent, I love the fact that the school is looking out for him and he's in good hands. In addition, we like that this is a Christian based daycare and the stories and lessons are based upon that. The school is always responsive when I send in questions and they have great activities and fun events planned throughout the year. Overall, A+ for A Childs Touch!!
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
A Child's Touch has been the best thing to happen to our family. I wish we would have found this incredible place years ago! Our son began attending in April 2013 and just had his last day before kindergarten. The rates for all age groups are truly unbeatable for the Denver metro area. Our son has never had a bad day at school and has never wanted to stay home since his start with A Child's Touch. The teachers are incredibly warm, intelligent, and responsive to the children's needs and learning styles. The office staff are always very helpful and quick to answer any questions. Our son has learned so much in his time with A Child's Touch and we feel very confident about his readiness for kindergarten. I highly recommend taking a tour of the facility... you won't want to leave and your child will be in awe. We LOVE that the owners have been dedicated to their facility for decades and continue to add wonderful hands-on stations at the school. We highly highly recommend A Child's Touch to ANYONE looking for infant care all the way through school-age care for before/after school and school breaks. We plan to enroll our son in the school-age program during holiday breaks and next summer. We cannot thank everyone at A Child's Touch enough for all that they have done for our family. Your search is truly over... go and enroll your child(ren) today!!!
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
July 16, 2018
As you’ve been doing your boarding school research, you’ve likely seen ISEE/SSAT score submission requirements for your target schools, and understand how important scores are to the admissions process. Unfortunately, tremendous candidates can get bypassed because they were not able to demonstrate what they knew on test day.
July 13, 2018
Schools for the artistically gifted child are in short supply.
June 26, 2018
Many people thought vouchers would never amount to much. Not only have they amounted to a great deal more than anybody could have thought, but vouchers have encouraged several more education choices to flourish.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Denver, CO is $9,391 for elementary schools and $9,288 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Denver, CO is 89% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).