Athens Christian School

5.00 5 1 (17 reviews)
Tel: (706)549-7586
  • The motto of Athens Christian School is Quality Education in a Christian Atmosphere.
  • ACS is accredited by the Georgia Accrediting Commission (GAC); therefore, our graduates are well-received into the college and career of their choice.
  • We have many graduates in the fields of law, medicine, business, government and technology.
  • We are also members of the Georgia Association of Christian Schools (GACS) and the Georgia High School Association which allows our students to participate in music, speech, drama, athletic and Bible quiz competitions.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI)
Other school association(s)
Religious AffiliationChristian
Grades OfferedGrades Prekindergarten-12
Year Founded1970

Student Body

Total Students787 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
Students by GradeAthens Christian School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers68 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio12:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
33%
Average Class Size20 students
Number of AP Courses6 courses

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling

Sports

Total Sports Offered14 sports
SportsBaseball, Basketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Drill Team, Flag Football, Football, Golf, Softball, Tennis, Track and Field, Volleyball, Weightlifting, WrestlingBaseballBasketball,
CheeringCross Country,
Drill TeamFlag Football,
FootballGolf,
SoftballTennis,
Track and FieldVolleyball,
WeightliftingWrestling,

School Notes

  • ACS is an inter-denominational, college preparatory institution founded to work hand in hand with the family concerning the mental, physical, social and spiritual development of their most priceless possessions, their children. The objective of ACS is to equip each young person with a Christian world-view; the finest academic training available; and the scriptural character traits necessary for each student to reach their maximum potential in life, for the glory of God.
  • Activites - Athens Christian is also known as "the traveling school". Our students enjoy extended trips.
  • Athens Christian offers many opportunities for fine arts and sports
  • School Hours - Class hours are 8:00am-3:15pm. Office hours are 8:00am-4:15pm. Summer hours are 9:00am-3:00pm
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Athens
    Grades: PK-8 | 220 students
    4.5 miles
    958 Epps Bridge Parkway
    Athens, GA 30606
    (706)543-1621
    4.5PK-8
    220
  • Winder
    Grades: KG-12 | 6 students
    25.7 miles
    83 Patrick Mill Rd Sw
    Winder, GA 30680
    (770)867-5746
    25.7KG-12
    6

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (17 reviews)
5  11/9/2017
We love this school. My four children attended and now I have 3 grandchildren who attend. I would highly recommend this school.
- Posted by
5  11/9/2017
I would not have my children anywhere else. The faculty truly love the students and pray for them regularly. The classes are quite rigorous and will prepare my kids for college.
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
I have experienced Athens Christian as a teacher and a parent. ACS has had a profound effect on our family especially in the family atmosphere that has helped our family through some difficult times in our family's ministry. Our children were also prepared well for college.
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
I highly recommend this school. It has been wonderful for our son.
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
We love Athens Christian School. I am very pleased with the quality Christian education that my children are receiving!
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
Athens Christian School is a wonderful school! The teachers genuinely care about our children. From preschool to high school, ACS provides quality curriculum in a Christian environment to prepare all students for college and the real world. There is no other place we would want to send our children!
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
My children have had a great experience at Athens Christian in an atmosphere of excellence. They are given opportunities to become involved in the community and give back. Academically, the teachers engage students, challenging them to become the best version of themselves. My children have received many academic as well as extra-curricular opportunities in college because of the level of education they received during their time at ACS.
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
My son received a quality education at Athens Christian School. I wanted him to be taught in a Christian environment, but I also desired a quality education that would prepare him for college. ACS provided that. I am very satisfied with the school and with my son's experiences there.
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
Athens Christian School is a well rounded educational establishment. They have a fantastic faculty and staff team, that instill a Biblical world-view in the students. ACS has a strong family involvement. Athletics, fine arts, as well as aesthetics are available and encouraged. ACS students and teachers have the freedom to pray and share the gospel daily. I highly recommend Athens Christian School.
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
Athens Christian is such a welcoming environment. Kids get to participate in all the extracurriculars of a big school but still get to be part of a tight-knit community.
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
This is a great school with a solid Biblical foundation. It does an outstanding job of training up students to use their gifts and talents - academically, athletically, artistically, musically. For a school this size it has amazing opportunities. Excellent teachers who care and small class sizes are key for success.
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
ACS offers quality academic programs, a great variety of extracurricular activities, and a Christian worldview, all of which prepare students for life after graduation. The administrators and teachers at ACS are like a family. They care for one another and the students they serve. Athens Christian School is the best choice for any parent looking for a quality education in a Christian environment!
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
ACS is not only a school~ it is a family. Our school emphasizes faith, family, and education. We embrace children with academic differences and strive to make all our students feel loved and valued.
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
This is a great place for a student to learn both life and living life lessons!!!
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
Athens Christian School is a great place to place your young people for their educational needs.
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
We are in our 3rd year at ACS and absolutely love it! Would highly recommend to anyone looking into a private school!
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
After teaching in the public school system for many years, it is a breath of fresh air to be able to make the students think again. We do not just teach a test that will make the school system look successful. The students are held accountable for their successes.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
January 22, 2018
Depending on their family circumstances, our Presidents received a wide range of primary and secondary schooling.
January 19, 2018
Depending on their family circumstances, our Presidents received a wide range of primary and secondary schooling.
January 19, 2018
A fascinating look at where our first Presidents went to school.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Georgia is $8,683 for elementary schools and $11,278 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Georgia is 84% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).