Barnstable Academy

  • For more than thirty-five years, Barnstable Academy's core purpose has been to provide a nurturing, college-prep day school program that encourages students with differing learning styles to succeed academically and socially.
  • We clearly recognize that not all students learn in the same manner, and our small environment opens doors that may otherwise never open.
  • Our faculty has always been dedicated to maximizing the potential of each student by enhancing self-esteem and providing a high quality, academically oriented education in which the student can be recognized and supported.
  • Barnstable Academy is a proud member of the Fusion Education Group.
  • For more information, please contact Head of School, Dani Ryckman at dryckman@barnstableacademy.com.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.National Independent Private Schools Association
AdvancED
Middle States Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools
Grades OfferedGrades 5-12
Offers Post-Graduate YearYes
Learning Difference ProgramsYes
Learning Programs SupportedADHD, Dyslexia, Mild Learning Difference
Year Founded1978

Student Body

Total Students115 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
18%
State avg.: 30%
Students by GradeBarnstable Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers22 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio5:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
80%
Average Class Size10 students
Number of AP Courses2 courses
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Average SAT score1120
Average ACT score24
Classroom Dress CodeCasual

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost$30,750
Tuition NotesPlease contact the school for information regarding NAPLES Placement tuition and fees.
% on Financial Aid
30%
Average Financial Aid Grant$4,000
Acceptance Rate
60%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions DirectorLuanne McGann
Admissions Associate

Sports

Total Sports Offered6 sports
SportsBaseball, Basketball, Cheering, Soccer, Softball, VolleyballBaseballBasketball,
CheeringSoccer,
SoftballVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.10 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Bowling, Chess, Community Service, Dance, Hiking Club, Paint Ball Club, Performing Arts, Publications/Yearbook, Ski/Snowboarding Club, War Strategies Club Bowling, Chess, Dance, Hiking Club, Community Service,
Paint Ball Club,
Performing Arts,
Publications/Yearbook,
Ski/Snowboarding Club,
War Strategies Club,
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Englewood
    Grades: PK-12 | 897 students
    16.9 miles
    315 E Palisade Avenue
    Englewood, NJ 07631
    (201)569-9500
    16.9PK-12
    897
  • Woodside
    Greater New York Academy
    (Seventh Day Adventist)
    Grades: 9-12 | 211 students
    25.9 miles
    4132 58th St
    Woodside, NY 11377
    (718)639-1752
    25.99-12
    211
  • Woodside
    Razi School
    (Islamic)
    Grades: PK-12 | 281 students
    26.2 miles
    5511 Queens Blvd
    Woodside, NY 11377
    (718)779-0711
    26.2PK-12
    281
  • Fair Lawn
    Grades: K-9 | 24 students
    8.7 miles
    41-21 Dunkerhook Rd
    Fair Lawn, NJ 07410
    (201)791-1891
    8.7K-9
    24
  • Glen Rock
    Grades: K-9 | 432 students
    7 miles
    180 Rodney St
    Glen Rock, NJ 07452
    (201)445-0622
    7K-9
    432

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (7 reviews)
5  2/6/2017
Our son is in his 2nd year at Barnstable and is thriving. He loves his teachers and has made great friends. The small classes and positive environment have built his self esteem and made him a better student.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
Our daughter just completed her 2nd year at Barnstable: she will be a senior next year. We have been exceptionally happy with the care and attention she has received at Barnstable. The teachers and administration have been exceptionally caring and helpful throughout the two years. On the eve of our daughter's first big Spanish exam, we got a phone call at home from the Spanish teaching asking if our daughter was feeling OK about the exam and he offered any help he could give so that she would study effectively. The Barnstable staff go above and beyond in their efforts to make school productive, supportive, and successful. Along with my wife and daughter, I have felt welcomed at Barnstable and I am very grateful that we found this exceptional school.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
Our daughter is in her second year at Barnstable, where she is thriving academically and socially. The benefits include small classes, extra help, but most importantly, the teachers are inspirational and passionate about their work.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
My son is in his second year at Barnstable, it has been a great experience for him academically. He really enjoys his teachers, who are attentive, caring and always available to help. The small class size and extra help have been a great support for him.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
My daughter has attended Barnstable Academy for four years and is in her last year. Coming from a large school where gifted students and special needs students receive the most attention, I felt my daughter was "falling through the cracks." After attending BA for only a short time, she blossomed, regained her confidence and succeeded far beyond any expectation. I can honestly say this is due to the amazing teaching staff who become mentors and truly care about each and every student. They work to help students achieve their top potential and are available 24/7 for help of any kind. The school offers wonderful physical education, art, drama and journalism electives and students become like a family. The environment is one of respect, nurturing, and growth and I feel extremely grateful that we had such an amazing alternative to public school!
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
Barnstable Academy is pleased to announce the addition of the Accent Reading program which is offered to all middle school students as well as selected high school students. This additional program provides students support with the fundamentals of reading and writing. Barnstable has also added Executive Function Workshops to aid in organization and time management skills.
- Posted by
5  7/3/2013
Barnstable Academy is a warm, caring, supportive environment for children who are motivated to learn and wish to succeed. Faculty are available to their students offering them the skills they need to enter college. A wide range of academic courses are available with a full performing arts competent.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
October 18, 2017
The Seattle area is home to many fine private schools as well as to major companies such as Microsoft, Boeing and Starbucks.
September 30, 2017
Scandals in private school are bound to raise questions for those of us thinking about sending our children to private school. Regardless of how sensational these scandals may appear, they are actually few and far between.
September 29, 2017
Parents have many reasons for deciding to take their children out of public school and enrolling them in private school. This circumstance is something which can happen at any stage of your child's education.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Bergen County, NJ is $8,561 for elementary schools and $18,128 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Bergen County, NJ is 77% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).