Blue Rock School

5.00 5 1 (1 review)
Tel: (845)535-3353
  • Blue Rock is lower Hudson Valley`s only progressive, independent day school for grades K-8.
  • Founded in 1987 to provide an alternative and holistic educational experience, Blue Rock offers a hands-on and experiential environment.
  • In small class settings, children follow their natural curiosity and innate love of learning.
  • Critical thinking, collaboration and creativity is encouraged, as students engage in a dynamic, multidisciplinary, and discovery-based curriculum infused with the arts, nature, and play.

Upcoming Events and News

  • Is a Progressive Education a Good Fit For Your Child? - 11/19/2014 - What is a progressive education?  Learn more about this engaging and thoughtful approach to teaching children.
  • Help Your Child Unwind by Getting Outside - 04/15/2016 - Studies have shown an increase in the use ADHD medications and antidepressants for children. The antidote? Simplify. Slow down. Get outside.
  • A Model for Schools That Works - 10/14/2010 - In this uncertain economy, we as parents are naturally preoccupied with our children`s future success. And this seems to lead us to crucial questions as we seek to reform schools that are mandated to prepare our children for adulthood. What is success? Wh...more
  • Empowering Our Children through Joyful and Authentic Learning - 08/15/2016 - What do we wish for our children? Happiness? To live full, rich lives? Sometimes we can best serve them by letting go just a little so they can be their own person and guide. 

School Overview

School TypeAlternative School
School Membership(s)School Assoc.National Coalition of Alternative Community Schools
Other school association(s)
Religious AffiliationNonsectarian
Grades OfferedGrades Kindergarten-8
Year Founded1987

Student Body

Total Students90 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
25%
State avg.: 29%
Students by GradeBlue Rock School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers15 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio6:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size11 students
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Classroom Dress CodeCasual

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost$21,600
Tuition NotesTuition for half day Kindergarten is $12,960 and tuition for full day students from K-8th grade is $21,600
% on Financial Aid
48%
Admissions DirectorBeverly Stycos

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.3 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Arts and Music Programs:
Guitar Lessons, Pottery

Recreational Athletic Programs:
Horseback Riding

School Notes

  • Blue Rock School offers a progressive education with a hands-on, experiential approach. Our unique learning environment encourages children to follow their own natural curiosity and innate love of learning. In our smaller classes, children engage in a thoughtful, multidisciplinary, and discovery-based curriculum infused with the arts, nature, and play, while encouraging critical thinking, collaboration and creativity.
  • Practicing a commitment to civil discourse and global community, students actively engage in an educational environment which fosters respect, harmony and an understanding and appreciation of the diversity. Social Learning and positive communication skills are embedded into our curriculum. Students learn that conflict and resolution are important and meaningful parts of successful coexistence, as natural moments of disagreement are used to deepen understanding and hone listening skills.
  • Our exceptionally talented and committed teachers consciously choose to teach in an environment where the relationship to the students is at the center and the bridge from which curriculum and academic/artistic achievement are reached.The majority of teachers have Masters degrees in education, as well as additional degrees in Special Education and the Arts. All our teachers hold in common an open and questioning attitude toward the art of education, and that learning is a lifetime journey.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Congers
    Grades: PK-12 | 124 students
    3.8 miles
    34 Kings Highway
    Congers, NY 10920
    (845)268-6802
    3.8PK-12
    124
  • Spring Valley
    Grades: NS-12 | 336 students
    4.2 miles
    307 Hungry Hollow Road
    Spring Valley, NY 10977
    (845)356-2514
    4.2NS-12
    336
  • New Windsor
    Grades: NS-6 | 165 students
    25.5 miles
    271 Quassaick Ave
    New Windsor, NY 12553
    (845)562-3711
    25.5NS-6
    165
  • Garnerville
    Grades: PK-8 | 300 students
    7.8 miles
    29 Cinder Rd
    Garnerville, NY 10923
    (845)947-1330
    7.8PK-8
    300
  • Nanuet
    St. Anthony School
    (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: PK-8 | 220 students
    0.8 miles
    34 West Nyack Road
    Nanuet, NY 10954
    (845)623-2311
    0.8PK-8
    220

School Reviews

5  2/24/2015
My children attend Blue Rock School ranging from Kindergarten through Sixth Grade and I am more impressed each year with the focus and passion of the teachers and administrators. My kids are out doors for recess for an hour each day! They love going to school, they enjoy learning, and I feel that they are being educated in a way that acknowledges the effects of body and soul on the intellectual life of a child. If you are looking for an option that will support your child in every possible way you can imagine, Blue Rock School is your place.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
January 16, 2018
Part of the private school selection process is financial aid. We point out five issues about which you should be aware.
January 16, 2018
We look at why tuition costs vary so widely from school to school.
January 08, 2018
Changes to the Tax Code in late 2017 included the addition of saving for K-12 private school education to 529 plans. We take a look at what this means for families thinking about private school for their children.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in New York is $11,457 for elementary schools and $22,223 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in New York is 79% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).