Fortune Academy (formerly The Hutson School)

5.00 5 1 (11 reviews)
Tel: (317)377-0544
  • Fortune Academy , an ISACS,AOGPE and IDA accredited school, is designed to provide a multisensory environment using the Orton-Gillingham Approach.
  • All faculty members are trained under AOGPE guidelines.  Most teachers have advanced degrees in special education, gifted education, learning disabilities, and reading.
  • Speech and Language Pathologists, Social Worker and school nurse are also on staff.

School Overview

School TypeSpecial Education School
School Membership(s)School Assoc.Other school association(s)
Learning Disabilities Association of America (LDA)
Independent Schools Association of the Central States
Orton Gillingham Academy of Practioners and Educators
Grades OfferedGrades 1-12
ADD/ADHD SupportYes
Learning Difference ProgramsYes
Learning Programs SupportedDylexia/Language Based Learning Differences/ADHD
Year Founded2000

Student Body

Total Students100 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
22%
State avg.: 20%
Students by GradeFortune Academy (formerly The Hutson School) Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers25 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio4:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
75%
Average Class Size5 students
Advanced CoursesASL 3
Classroom Dress CodeFormal
(Khaki or navy pants, white, green or blue shirt, plaid jumpers)

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost$16,000
Tuition NotesTuition assistance available to 15% of student population
% on Financial Aid
12%
Average Financial Aid Grant$5,000
Acceptance Rate
60%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions DirectorLori Jones

Sports

Total Sports Offered6 sports
SportsBasketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Golf, Track and Field, VolleyballBasketballCheering,
Cross CountryGolf,
Track and FieldVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.14 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.ACT II Performers, Art club, Boys Club, Extreme Science, Games Club, Girls Club, Intramural soccer, Jump Rope Club, Kidz Choir, Lego Club, Public Art Club, Robotics Team, Student Council, Yugioh Club Art club, Boys Club, Games Club, Girls Club, Jump Rope Club, Kidz Choir, Lego Club, Robotics Team, Yugioh Club, ACT II Performers,
Extreme Science,
Intramural soccer,
Public Art Club,
Student Council,

School Notes

  • Students must have completed cognitive and achievement testing either from their home school district or from a private evaluator. Fortune Academy does not accept children diagnosed with PDD, Autism, or Behavior/Emotional challenges.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Indianapolis
    Worthmore Academy
    Special Education School
    Grades: K-12 | 58 students
    4.8 miles
    3535 Kessler Boulevard East Dr
    Indianapolis, IN 46220
    (877)700-6516
    4.8K-12
    58
  • Carmel
    Midwest Academy
    Special Education School
    Grades: 4-12 | 96 students
    9.7 miles
    1420 Chase Court
    Carmel, IN 46032
    (317)843-9500
    9.74-12
    96
  • Indianapolis
    Grades: PK-12 | 115 students
    2 miles
    10701 E 56th St
    Indianapolis, IN 46235
    (317)826-1160
    2PK-12
    115
  • Indianapolis
    Grades: PK-8 | 278 students
    1.9 miles
    6950 E 46th St
    Indianapolis, IN 46226
    (317)543-4923
    1.9PK-8
    278

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (11 reviews)
5  11/20/2014
i kijed the review. i would like to speak with someone about enrolling my child. i can be reached anytime after 2pm monday thru friday. my name is shawana shelby and my number is 438-4405
- Posted by
5  2/10/2014
My name is Sarah and this is my first year at Fortune Academy. I am in the 7th grade and I love it. The teachers are so helpful and interact with you and spend one on one tie with you to help you. They are so kind and loving, and care about there students. When ever I am haveing truble my teachers are always there to help me. I always love coming to school every day. I always have a great experense.
- Posted by
5  9/7/2013
Fortune Academy has transformed my child from a nonreader to a child who reads beautifully! His confidence has soared. Worth every penny and we are here to stay!
- Posted by
5  4/9/2012
My son is happy going to school and is learning again!
- Posted by
5  2/28/2012
The Hutson school is the answer to a very long prayer. Our son is in his 3rd year and couldn't be happier. The administration and staff go above and beyond to meet the individual child's needs. They all work tirelessly to provide a nurturing , enriching, positive educational environment !! We are blessed to have such an amazing school here in indianapolis!!
- Posted by
5  2/28/2012
When wanting the best of the best of the best for your child is all that really matters to you as a parent, then having The Hutson School is all that is required. The professional approach to the needs of my son has been breathtaking. The academic standards that have been set forth by the amazingly dedicated facility is beyond any that will be found in the public system. When your child has been discarded by so many Hutson opens their doors and says "Really, well we will just see about that!" My son has a future because of Hutson. I am only sad that I did not find them sooner. I owe them so much that simply could never bee repaid!
- Posted by
5  2/28/2012
My name is Noah and I have been at The Hutson School since 6th grade. It is the greatest school I have ever been to. The teachers took time to see me and to teach me. I am going to go to college and become a teacher so I can help students just like the teachers at Hutson. Some of the best days of my life have been at The Hutson School, I never want to leave school!
- Posted by
5  2/28/2012
Our daughter has attended The Hutson School for the past 8 years. This school has met her every learning need. It is a state of the art education facility for children who have learning differences. Hutson has taught our daughter how to "learn" in a way no one else was able.
- Posted by
5  1/28/2012
Excellent academic programs. Faculty highly trained, professional, compassionate. A wonderful learning environment. A 5 Star School to be sure!
- Posted by
5  1/28/2012
I thank my lucky stars that we found The Hutson School. The teachers and staff are wonderful and truly care about every single kiddo. The head of school is the most amazing person.
- Posted by
5  1/28/2012
The Hutson School is excellent!!! The teachers are fabulous and have inspired my son as a learner. Dyslexia is no longer a disability but a difficulty that he is overcoming. If you have a child with dyslexia this is a must school to check out. Our son is happy, thriving and loves going to school. We couldn't be happier with our choice in The Hutson School.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
October 18, 2017
The Seattle area is home to many fine private schools as well as to major companies such as Microsoft, Boeing and Starbucks.
September 30, 2017
Scandals in private school are bound to raise questions for those of us thinking about sending our children to private school. Regardless of how sensational these scandals may appear, they are actually few and far between.
September 29, 2017
Parents have many reasons for deciding to take their children out of public school and enrolling them in private school. This circumstance is something which can happen at any stage of your child's education.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Indianapolis, IN is $7,146 for elementary schools and $10,155 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Indianapolis, IN is 81% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).