Our Savior Lutheran School

5.00 5 1 (23 reviews)
Tel: (502)426-0864
previous
Our Savior Lutheran School is a traditional Christian school serving students in pre-school through 8th grade, conveniently located on Shelbyville Road near the Watterson Expressway.We offer a challenging, technologically-integrated, Christ-centered education with a student-to-teacher ratio of 12:1. Our engaging arts program offers choir, band, handbells, and theater.  We
next
Our Savior Lutheran School is a traditional Christian school serving students in pre-school through 8th grade, conveniently located on Shelbyville Road near the Watterson Expressway.We offer a challenging, technologically-integrated, Christ-centered education with a student-to-teacher ratio of 12:1. Our engaging arts program offers choir, band, handbells, and theater.  We
  • Our Savior Lutheran School exists to provide a comprehensive Christian education for families in Louisville, KY and the surrounding areas. We offer a traditional preparatory education with advanced technology, Spanish, fine arts, an engaging music program including band, choir, handbells, and musical productions. Our sports program is no-cut with soccer, volleyball, basketball and archery teams.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.National Lutheran Schools Accreditation
Religious AffiliationLutheran Church Missouri Synod
Grades OfferedGrades Nursery/Preschool-8
Year Founded1990

Student Body

Total Students140 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
25%
State avg.: 13%
Students by GradeOur Savior Lutheran School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers13 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio11:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
100%
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Classroom Dress CodeCasual
(Uniform required for K-8)

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Tuition NotesTuition is from $2026-$6950 varying by child's grade, membership to the church and number of children. Please call for information.
% on Financial Aid
10%
Acceptance Rate
100%
National avg.: 85%

Sports

Total Sports Offered5 sports
SportsArchery, Basketball, Soccer, Track and Field, VolleyballArcheryBasketball,
SoccerTrack and Field,
Volleyball

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.12 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Club or Organization:
Art Club, Bowling, Cooking, Golf, Lego Robotics, Pickleball, Reading Club, Yearbook Club

Arts and Music Programs:
Band, Choirs, handbells

Recreational Athletic Programs:
Volleyball

School Notes

  • Our Savior Lutheran School exists to provide a comprehensive Christian education, nurture students in God's Word; develop their faith, talents and skills, and promote Christian living.
  • Our Savior provides a caring, personalized approach to instruction.By stressing close ties between home and school,
  • Our Savior develops a spirit of beneficial cooperation, concern, and learning which prepares children for higher education.
  • A well-rounded curriculum is provided, including: Reading, Math, Science, Social Studies, Lanugage Arts, Computers, Spanish, Religion, Phonics, Writing, Physical Education, Art and Music.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Louisville
    Grades: PK-12 | 109 students
    11.9 miles
    5627 New Cut Rd
    Louisville, KY 40214
    (502)368-0080
    11.9PK-12
    109
  • Louisville
    Grades: PK-12 | 239 students
    7.7 miles
    7808 Beulah Church Rd
    Louisville, KY 40228
    (502)239-6699
    7.7PK-12
    239
  • Louisville
    Christ Lutheran Preschool & Kindergarten
    Daycare / Preschool (Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (formerly AELC, ALC, or LCA))
    Grades: PK-KG | 63 students
    2.5 miles
    9212 Taylorsville Rd
    Louisville, KY 40299
    (502)267-5082
    2.5PK-KG
    63
  • Louisville
    Evangel Creative Learning Center
    Daycare / Preschool (Christian)
    Grades: PK-KG | 43 students
    9.1 miles
    Po Box 19229
    Louisville, KY 40259
    (502)968-5451
    9.1PK-KG
    43
  • Shepherdsville
    Grades: K-9 | 192 students
    13.5 miles
    5500 N Preston Hwy
    Shepherdsville, KY 40165
    (502)957-7686
    13.5K-9
    192

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (23 reviews)
5  4/23/2018
OSLS is near and dear to my heart. I am an alumni and now both my children attend this wonderful school. The academics at this school are top notch. The smaller class size allows for more individualized attention. Having a Christ centered education is a very important component for my childrens everyday routine. There are sports and other clubs for children to take part in. I`ve had parents tell me how well prepared their high school children were compared to their peers. I can`t say enough good about this wonderful school.
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
We are new at Our Savior. Our son came from a Catholic school. He didn't have a good experience there but now he loves his new school. The kids are nice and welcoming, the parents are the same, very welcoming. The staff are very helpful. The academics are very strong. I highly recommend this school
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
I am so happy that we found Our Savior Lutheran School. Our older son attended K-8 and our younger son is still enrolled in grade school. We appreciate everything the staff has done to prepare our sons for whatever God has in his plan for them. I LOVE that Our Savior still teaches handwriting and they have chapel each week (chapel buddies are an added bonus!).
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
Love this school. Students are very well prepared academically for high school when done here. Even though they are now in different high schools all over the city, my son is still best friends with the kids he grew up with at OSLS.
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
We have had two children in this top notch school for eight years now. It really gives us peace of mind in knowing that the level of education and morals learned here are far superior to the public school system. The children are names and not numbers. The music program is exceptional. We will be back again next year.
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
Our savior Lutheran school has been such a blessing to our family there is no better feeling then hearing your 6 year old say "before we have lunch everyone prays" and how much she enjoys going to chapel.The staff and teachers are wonderful! everyone is so kind and helpful truly go out of their way to help anyway possible. We love OSLS!! Carr family
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
All 3 of our children have attended OSLS. We have had a wonderful experience. The teachers are dedicated to the learning and success of each child and family as a whole. As a past ALUMNI, I can voice how well prepared I was for high school and the foundation they provided me to succeed even through a masters level education.
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
We were looking for a great challenging education for my 2 children while ensuring they were in a safe environment. Thanks to the principal and staff at OSLS my kids are well prepared for the challenges of high school and college and have the necessary social skills to be successful in life. We are very lucky to have found a school that cares as much about each kid as the parents who send them there do. It takes a village... and I'm glad OSLS is a part of ours!
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
I am a parent of two students at Our Savior and a 1996 graduate of Our Savior as well. What continues to amaze me about this school is the caliber of the faculty and staff. Many of the teachers who taught me are still at Our Savior - more than 25 years later! It is this continuity and steadfast dedication that set OSLS apart from other private schools in the area. My son and daughter are in preschool and 2nd grade, respectively, and daily show me how they are advancing academically and socially. After leaving Our Savior, I went on to graduate as valedictorian of my high school class, attended a private liberal arts university on a scholarship, and completed graduate school to become a teacher myself. I expect great things for my own children, and am confident that foundation is being laid at Our Savior.
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
My son is a student at OSLS. He loves it! It is an excellent school with great teachers and smaller class sizes! Their Christian environment is refreshing!
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
OSLS provided a strong foundation for our children's lives. The were prepared for the future with strong faith, strong friendships, advanced education and sports experiences.
- Posted by
5  5/15/2017
Our family has been blessed by the teachers and faculty at Our Savior, who provided an amazing and challenging learning experience for our four children. The academics are truly second to none. All of children took the most difficult courses and programs after graduating and were extremely well prepared. The teachers and staff are very caring and they share important life lessons and help build confidence and character. This school is one of the best schools in Louisville.
- Posted by
5  5/13/2017
We are new to Our Savior Lutheran School and we highly recommend this school. Though we are not Lutheran, we have been welcomed and made to feel at home. To us, the most important thing is that they teach a solid Biblical curriculum Route 66. (I have talked to many people of different Biblical persuasions that also use this curriculum.) We are also highly impressed with the academics at OSLS and amazed at all our child is learning -things I didn't learn until high school or college. They have a rigorous academic curriculum but it is done with grace. By that I mean that there are enough assignments that if a student has an off day and makes one bad grade, they can pull up the overall grade with hard work. Some teachers offer extra credit work, now and then, too. Critical thinking skills are integrated into the curriculum. This is a small school with big school amenities, opportunities, and organization. I get the impression, from the books, materials, and personal laptops that no expense is spared to make sure the students get the best education that can be provided. We wish we had found OSLS sooner. They have the motto, "Come & See." If you are looking for a school, I invite you to "Come & See." OSLS is a great Biblical and academic experience at an amazingly affordable price. I'm so glad someone told me about this school. People who know me know that I wouldn't say it, if I didn't believe it. -Parent who is grateful to God
- Posted by
5  4/8/2017
We have kids ranging from 5th grade through pre-school at Our Savior. This school has a close family atmosphere. The elementary academics gradually step students up, preparing them to be independent learners as they approach the middle school (6-8) program. Here you find students that are overall caring, inclusive and focused. Their buddy system allows older students to connect with younger students and provide solid mentoring opportunities.
- Posted by
5  4/7/2017
My daughter has attended Our Savior since she was 3 in their pre-school program. It has been a wonderful environment, and she has thrived in both academics and relationships with peers. Students and staff work together to provide a caring environment which helps each student do their best.
- Posted by
5  4/7/2017
I am both a teacher and a parent of 2 Our Savior Lutheran graduates. Both of my girls were well prepared for high school, not just academically, but even more importantly they were confident, responsible, and well grounded in Christian values. As the middle school science teacher, I strive to foster curiosity and a strong foundation in the sciences. The use of computer simulations, hands-on activities as well as STEM challenges are a main component of the science program.
- Posted by
5  4/7/2017
Very nice school,nice,understanding and supportive teachers and staff,good environment,nice curriculum and small sized classrooms with individual attention to each student with perfect discipline, beautiful playground and wow complete package of music program with choirs,handbells,christmas program and spring sing event every year with a great talented Music director and a very nice principal. My both kids really enjoy studying in OSLS. Praj Salvi
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
The music program at Our Savior is outstanding. There are opportunities for choir, band, handbells, musicals and more. My children always look forward to the Boar's Head Festival, the Spring Sing, and the School Musical. Fine Arts are alive and well at Our Savior!
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
Our Savior has provided such a wonderful education and experiences for my children. My son was so well prepared entering high school and his AP counselor at Trinity said that all the boys from OSLS come to their school with such a strong academic background. My other son that is currently at the school is very strong academically and loves going to school each and every day. I never regret my children and family choosing this school. The teachers and staff are excellent!!!
- Posted by
5  4/10/2015
I am a parent of two boys. My oldest graduated from Our Savior last year and is now doing very well in High School. My youngest is still in elementary school at OSLS. Both my wife and I attended public school in Missouri where we grew up, so we never dreamed we would have kids in private school. We absolutely could not be happier with the quality education and Christian Foundation that are boys have received at Our Savior. Compared to other private schools, it is also more affordable. I would highly recommend this school.
- Posted by
5  4/10/2015
We have 2 children in the middle school and another getting ready to attend Pre School next year. My son likes the archery and the rocketry elective. They are growing up in a Christian environment and getting a great education with small class sizes.
- Posted by
5  1/29/2015
If you are looking for a school where your child can feel part of a family of students and staff, and where academics and extracurriculars are both exceptional, you should definitely check out Our Savior!
- Posted by
5  12/11/2012
Being at Our Savior is like being at home. Parent involvement is extraordinary and the staff works together to help all the students excel both academically and spiritually. Our daughters have grown up here and are well prepared for what the future has in store for them.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
May 10, 2018
Sending your child to a single-sex school is one of several options you have when it comes to private schools.
May 10, 2018
Sending your children to a summer program or camp keeps them active in fun-filled settings. We explore your options.
April 19, 2018
We take a detailed look at the three popular early childhood methods to help you determine which one best suits your needs and requirements.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Louisville, KY is $7,855 for elementary schools and $11,260 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Louisville, KY is 90% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).