Our Savior Lutheran School

5.00 5 1 (5 reviews)
Tel: (808)488-0000
  • We are promoting the Christian faith and life-long learning of the whole child in a changing world.
  • It's a small school, conveniently located, which has a strong family-atmosphere with unity in values, academic focus, and faithful attitudes.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC)
National Lutheran Schools Accreditation
Hawaii Association of Independent Schools (HAIS)
Religious AffiliationLutheran Church Missouri Synod
Grades OfferedGrades Nursery/Preschool-8
ADD/ADHD SupportYes
Learning Difference ProgramsYes
Learning Programs SupportedMild Learning Differences, Mild Dyslexia
Year Founded1970

Student Body

Total Students150 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
68%
State avg.: 61%
Students by GradeOur Savior Lutheran School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers14 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio11:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
80%
Average Class Size13 students
Number of AP Courses2 courses
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Advanced CoursesAdvanced Band, Algebra, Algebra II
Matriculation DataMatric. DataLink to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress CodeFormal
(Uniform Dress Code with Variety of Colors)

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost$8,300
Tuition NotesTuition: $8300 Registration: $500 Application: $50
% on Financial Aid
13%
Average Financial Aid Grant$1,000
Acceptance Rate
89%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions DirectorBeth Yee
Admissions AssociateKelly Shima

Sports

Total Sports Offered6 sports
SportsBasketball, Cross Country, Dance, Golf, Track and Field, VolleyballBasketballCross Country,
DanceGolf,
Track and FieldVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.9 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Club or Organization:
A+ Study Club, Bible Club, Chess Club, Computer Game Design Club, Day Care, Hula, Japanese Club, Robotics Club

Arts and Music Programs:
Art Clu

School Notes

  • A small Christian school, a strong community, and traditional education.. An Our Savior Lutheran School graduate will:
  • Know Christ
  • Comprehend Information
  • Solve Problems
  • Use Healthy Interpersonal Skills
  • Use Skills and Technologies
  • Care Our community's Christian stewardship allows healthy individuals to give their best efforts and achieve great things as they enjoy God's blessings.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Aiea
    Grades: K-8 | 239 students
    1.9 miles
    99-310 Moanalua Rd
    Aiea, HI 96701
    (808)488-5322
    1.9K-8
    239
  • Honolulu
    Grades: K-12 | 3751 students
    8.6 miles
    1601 Punahou Street
    Honolulu, HI 96822
    (808)944-5711
    8.6K-12
    3751
  • Ewa Beach
    Grades: 7-12 | 144 students
    7.3 miles
    91-1219 Renton Rd
    Ewa Beach, HI 96706
    (808)681-3146
    7.37-12
    144
  • Honolulu
    St Theresa School
    (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: K-8 | 338 students
    6.2 miles
    712 N School St Bldg A
    Honolulu, HI 96817
    (808)536-4703
    6.2K-8
    338
  • Honolulu
    Hawaiian Mission Academy K-8
    (Seventh Day Adventist)
    Grades: K-8 | 104 students
    8.4 miles
    1415 Makiki St
    Honolulu, HI 96814
    (808)949-2033
    8.4K-8
    104

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (5 reviews)
5  8/2/2017
I loved my time at this school! I'm being transferred to Hawaii, and I'm glad I have a chance to get my children into Our Savior. Although my parents moved me off the island after 7th grade, I remember the friends and the teachers. The teachers were involved in my class activities and also focused on my social behaviors and modeled their faith. After learning these things at Our Savior, I was miles ahead of my future high school, college, and professional colleagues. So, look for my children soon; you'll receive my full support, and I'll help you on those volunteer work days!
- Posted by
5  7/19/2017
My sisters and brother were discussing our various schools we attended, and Our Savior came up as the place where we agreed that we grew the most, learning knowledge, stories, habits, skills, and attitudes, which enabled us to succeed in subsequent schools, jobs, teams, interests, fitness, and raising our own children. We noted that the teachers taught and lived God's Word, and no matter how different the teachers were from each other, we knew they generously gave us the mindset that we could always give challenges our "best shot" because, no matter what, we were loved by Jesus Christ, our families, and Our Savior. This frees us to try. Winning or Losing, we are loved and blessed.
- Posted by
5  3/16/2017
We love it here at Our Savior Lutheran thus far. My daughter's experience as a Kindergartener has been amazing - she's come so far with her attitude about learning and in her ability to read. We owe it all to Mrs. Fujii, who is so patient and loving, and who uses learning strategies that's really helped my little one to blossom! It also helps that the student to faculty ratio is low, so she gets a lot of individual attention. She also learns music and computer skills from separate teachers that specialize in that area. I'd also like to add that my daughter is a creative one, so she absolutely loves her after school activities, Art Club and Hula!I chose this school because everyone who I spoke to about the school had only positive things to say, and because I was so impressed with the behavior and mannerisms of the older students at Open House. It wasn't just a front - these kids are respectful and friendly all year 'round! It really is a reflection of the teachers and leadership of this school.They have chapel once a week and devotion every day, which builds their faith and character. Lessons seem to revolve around love, grace, and thankfulness, rather than equipping them to to judge or condemn others. In chapel, my daughter is paired up with a "Chapel buddy," or older student, who acts as a role model for her, as well as developing leadership skills for the older ones.It's only been a year, but I highly recommend Our Savior Lutheran School. :)
- Posted by
5  12/17/2016
Our two sons struggled when we transferred to Our Savior. The teachers helped with different ideas and suggestions for us, and they tried different steps. Over time, our children adjusted and caught on. They kept improving until they found the work understandable and easy. The work habits they gained are priceless. One is finishing high school and the other is finishing his bachelor's degree in engineering. We thank OSLS for the teachers who developed a strong faith in our boys and gave them strong can-do attitudes, study skills, and a well-rounded foundation. Even though our boys are very different, they both found success and ownership of their own education; they also appreciate differences in others. The OSLS developed strong character traits along with Christian virtues. May God continue blessing the OSLS community!
- Posted by
5  5/4/2016
This school has helped me excel in every way imaginable. I was excepted into all the high schools I applied to (Punahou, Iolani, HBA etc.). I have mild dyslexia, but with Our Savior Lutheran's help I read at post high school levels. Some people say the school has too little teachers, but I disagree. This allows for a special student teacher bond.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
January 19, 2018
Depending on their family circumstances, our Presidents received a wide range of primary and secondary schooling.
January 19, 2018
A fascinating look at where our first Presidents went to school.
January 18, 2018
From time to time we all wonder how things might have turned out if circumstances and situations had been different. We apply that questioning to private schools.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Honolulu County, HI is $8,569 for elementary schools and $15,711 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Honolulu County, HI is 82% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).