Ridgefield Academy

previous
next
Ridgefield Academy Photo #1 - At RA, imaginations flourish and academic excellence takes root. Here, the dreamers of today become the thinkers of tomorrow.
Ridgefield Academy Photo #2 - Individualized teaching instruction in a challenging and supportive environment allows our students to take risks, question the world around them, and become strong, independent thinkers.
Ridgefield Academy Photo #3 - The Bridge is Ridgefield Academy's high-tech digital arts facility. Projects in The Bridge are designed to be cross-curricular and work in coordination with history, science, literature and world language lessons. A computer lab offers students programs including Photoshop, Garageband, and Final Cut Pro.
Ridgefield Academy Photo #4 - Every K-Grade 8 student enjoys multiple science classes per week, many focusing on STEM.
Ridgefield Academy Photo #5 - Our physical education and competitive athletics programs promote fitness, good sportsmanship, and teamwork. Students in grades 6 - 8 are required to participate in one of our many sports offerings each of the three seasons.
Ridgefield Academy Photo #6 - Our preschool, Landmark Preschool, offers a full-day program for 2 - 4 year old children. Our preschool teachers provide an introduction to academics through play-based activities.
Ridgefield Academy Photo #7 - Our state-of-the-art Kitchen Lab allows students to explore math, science, and nutrition through the art of cooking.
Ridgefield Academy Photo #8 - Ridgefield Academy's visual and performing arts curriculum encourages students to express their creativity and stretch their imaginations in a wide variety of activities designed to build confidence and promote personal growth and discovery.
Ridgefield Academy Photo #9 - Our 42 acre campus offers some of the best views in Fairfield and Westchester Counties! Our faculty use these spectacular grounds as an extension of their classroom.
Ridgefield Academy Photo #10 - Students begin learning early on how to compose well constructed essays and public speaking skills. On graduation from Grade 8, they deliver remarks with confidence and poise.
  • The Ridgefield Academy (RA) is a co-educational, independent day school for students enrolled in preschool through eighth grade. We are preK-8 by design. The foundation for life-long learning is established during these critical years. Our model allows for early and genuine leadership opportunities as well as age appropriate activities and events in a safe environment without the distraction of high school.
  • The Ridgefield Academy and Landmark Preschool community celebrates childhood, pursues excellence, and cultivates kindness. Our educational program is intellectually inspiring, and we foster joyful learning and mutual respect in all that we do. We empower each student to rise to their authentic self, preparing confident graduates who shape their future with ingenuity and integrity.
  • Our Center for Innovative Teaching and Learning guides our talented teachers in examining the act of teaching, not merely the subject, as well as the process of learning. We are able to take teaching out of the textbooks and bring lessons to life with memorable experiences.
  • Small class sizes afford our students a unique opportunity to test and stretch their imaginations, and unleash academic excellence that is inspired, not forced.
  • Great emphasis is placed on oral and written communication skills beginning as early as preschool. In Lower, Middle and Upper School, students participate in a formal public speaking curriculum and are given many opportunities to practice their skills through class activities, project presentations and dramatic performances.
  • Our Service Learning program combines community service opportunities with classroom lessons and advisory programs. It is a compliment to our school's character education piece, which teaches the value of good student citizenship. RA students are encouraged and empowered to become thoughtful, reflective citizens who are inspired to serve as active agents within their community.

Upcoming Events and News

  • DREAMERS BECOME THINKERS - 10/28/2019 - At Ridgefield Academy, imaginations flourish and academic excellence takes root. Supported by exceptional faculty, students in our small classes are both encouraged and challenged, expanding the boundaries of their capabilities. ...moreHere, the dreamers of today become the thinkers of tomorrow.hide
  • LOWER SCHOOL CAMPOUT: AN ANNUAL TRADITION UNDER THE STARS - 09/16/2019 - Tradition is woven into the RA experience. Traditions are important here because they bring together individual students, faculty, staff and families into one vibrant community.
  • RA Runs Over 200 Miles in Run4RA Event - 10/01/2019 - Students in K-Grade 8, faculty, staff, and parents ran and walked in celebration of community, a commitment to fitness, and school spirit. 
  • RIDGEFIELD ACADEMY CELEBRATES THE CLASS OF 2019 - 06/13/2019 - Ridgefield Academy graduated 26 members of the Class of 2019 during a beautiful outdoor ceremony in RA`s Graduation Garden. Eleven of the graduates were "lifers", having attended RA since Kindergarten.
  • SECONDARY SCHOOL RESULTS ANNOUNCED - 05/14/2019 - Students from the Class of 2019 are attending a wide range of fine secondary schools and were admitted to an even broader range of schools, from which they had the ...moreluxury of choosing. While this is just one of many metrics of a substantive PK-8 education, it certainly does inspire confidence in the RA experience.hide
  • GRADE 7 AND THE PROSPECTOR THEATER: THE IMPORTANCE OF MAKING A DIFFERENCE - 05/29/2019 - Service Learning is an integral part of the curriculum at Ridgefield Academy and builds character development. It teaches students to be thankful for what they have, to empathize with others ...moreand to develop a sense of civic responsibility. hide
  • NEWS FROM THE CENTER: RECAP OF INTERDISCIPLINARY WEEK - 04/09/2019 - In recent years, the week before Spring Break has been more than just dreaming about sleeping in, vacations, or camps for Ridgefield Academy students in Grades 7 and 8. It ...morehas also been our Interdisciplinary Week, an opportunity to look at a specific topic from a variety of perspectives.hide
  • KINDNESS COUNTS - 08/14/2019 - As children grow in a world filled with technology, it is more important than ever to nurture kindness in our children and to encourage their natural leadership and problem-solving abilities. ...more hide

Top Placements

Ridgefield Academy places among the top 20% of private schools in Connecticut for:

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Religious AffiliationNonsectarian
Grades OfferedGrades Nursery/Preschool-8
ADD/ADHD SupportYes
Year Founded1975
Summer School OfferedYes
Summer Program DetailsLink to Summer Program Details

Student Body

Total Students265 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
18%
State avg.: 22%
Students by Grade Ridgefield Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers50 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio5:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
74%
Average Class Size15 students
Matriculation DataMatric. DataLink to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress CodeFormal
(khaki, white and navy)

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineJan. 15 / Aug. 1 / rolling
Tuition NotesRange: 24,720-36,050
% on Financial Aid
30%
Average Financial Aid Grant$13,791
Admissions DirectorDavid Suter
Admissions AssociateJulie Alzapiedi

Sports

Total Sports Offered12 sports
SportsBaseball, Basketball, Cross Country, Fencing, Field Hockey, Flag Football, Golf, Lacrosse, Soccer, Softball, Volleyball, WrestlingBaseballBasketball,
Cross CountryFencing,
Field HockeyFlag Football,
GolfLacrosse,
SoccerSoftball,
VolleyballWrestling,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.5 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Club or Organization:
Arts, Athletics, cooking, etc., STEM

School Notes

  • Childhood is celebrated at Ridgefield Academy. This is at the center of all we do in the classroom, on the field and even in the lunchroom! Our great passion is knowing our students as individuals within our vibrant community and helping them rise to their authentic selves. We believe education is more than a series of tests and a body of knowledge to memorize. Guided by our Center for Innovative Teaching and Learning, students engage in a comprehensive and intellectually inspiring curriculum that is meaningful to their lives. Our talented teachers create a forward-thinking educational experience for their students, one that is rooted in a keen understanding of child and adolescent development. Students find the power of their voices during class discussions, collaboration with their peers, and public speaking. Their self-assuredness blossoms as hidden talents unfold through participation in a new sport (there are 14 to choose from!), service learning and the arts. Our students are challenged to pursue excellence, and they do so knowing they have the support of the entire community. They learn how to learn and as they discover the world, they discover themselves. On this journey of becoming, RA students have the confidence to not only ask "Why?" but "Why Not?" They graduate prepared for success in even the most challenging high school programs and beyond. 
  • Westchester and Fairfield County families enjoy easy access to our beautiful 42-acre campus. Busing of New York students is free within 15 miles of campus. Nurture the wonder of becoming for your child at Ridgefield Academy.

Profile last updated:

Show me:
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Danbury
    Wooster School
    Wooster School Photo - Wooster School's James Marshall Chapel
    (Episcopal)
    Grades: NS-12 | 350 students
    5.4 miles
    91 Miry Brook Rd
    Danbury, CT 06810
    (203)830-3916
    5.4 NS-12
    350
  • New Canaan
    Grades: 5-12 | 581 students
    7.5 miles
    377 North Wilton Road
    New Canaan, CT 06840
    (203)801-4833
    7.5 5-12
    581
  • Danbury
    Grades: NS-8 | 192 students
    8.4 miles
    44a Shelter Rock Rd
    Danbury, CT 06810
    (203)744-8088
    8.4 NS-8
    192
  • Greens Farms
    Grades: PK-12 | 713 students
    16.8 miles
    35 Beachside Avenue
    Greens Farms, CT 06838
    (203)256-7501
    16.8 PK-12
    713
  • Bethel
    Grades: PK-8 | 165 students
    9.2 miles
    24 Dodgingtown Rd
    Bethel, CT 06801
    (203)744-2922
    9.2 PK-8
    165

School Reviews

5  
Ridgefield Academy reaches every student at his or her level and offers an integrated curriculum that fosters critical thinking skills, collaboration, and public speaking. The teachers are caring and supportive, and the culture is wonderfully warm. What a great place for a child to develop not only great skills, but confidence!! So happy we found RA!
- Posted by

Endorse Ridgefield Academy. Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
SSAT and ISEE scores are one part of the total picture which most private school admissions staff review. These standardized tests reveal what you have learned in key mastery areas.
Do you think your son has a learning disability? Not sure what to do? A special needs school might be the way to go.
You thought everything was set. The test scores were excellent. She had glowing teacher recommendations. The visit and the interview went well. But the school didn't accept your child. What do you do now?
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Connecticut is $15,938 for elementary schools and $33,072 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Connecticut is 69% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).