School Around Us

5.00 5 1 (5 reviews)
Tel: (207)967-3143
  • Founded in 1970, School Around Us offers a holistic approach to education that nurtures the mind, body, heart and spirit, and encourages involvement in the natural and global worlds.
  • The small class size enables teachers to work flexibly with diverse learning styles and cultivate students' individual interests. Students come to SAU from communities throughout southern Maine.

School Overview

School TypeSchool with Special Program Emphasis
Grades OfferedGrades Kindergarten-8
Year Founded1970

Student Body

Total Students27 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
Students by GradeSchool Around Us Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers3 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio9:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size8 students

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Tuition NotesThere are 2 tiers for tuition. Please call for details.
Admissions DirectorLauren

School Notes

  • School Around Us is very different from public schools in that we are holistic in nature;                         we focus on the many aspects of a child including academic, social, emotional, and physical skills.  Creative expression, theatrical skills, learning through free play and environmental concerns are emphasized and honored in the daily curriculum.  With a teacher/student ratio of 1:8, children are able to receive the benefits of individualization and camaraderie with their peers and teachers. 
  • SAU’s curriculum includes traditional academic subjects as well as "theme" classes where students explore subjects in-depth for up to eight weeks. Creativity and hands-on learning are central to SAU's approach. Students spend a lot of time outdoors; the school is situated on six acres that include pine woods, a brook, trails and access to a pond for swimming and skating. SAU is run by parents, who have significant involvement in the school's operations.

Nearby Private Schools

All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Kennebunk
    Grades: PK-1 | 41 students
    3 miles
    35 Heath Rd
    Kennebunk, ME 04043
    (207)985-6022
    3PK-1
    41
  • Kennebunk
    Grades: 9-12 | 36 students
    3.3 miles
    38 York St
    Kennebunk, ME 04043
    (207)985-3745
    3.39-12
    36
  • Biddeford
    Grades: K-6 | 51 students
    4.2 miles
    551 Alfred Rd
    Biddeford, ME 04005
    (207)283-3858
    4.2K-6
    51
  • Wells
    Grades: 9-12 | 8 students
    5.1 miles
    2700 Post Rd
    Wells, ME 04090
    (603)965-6171
    5.19-12
    8
  • Biddeford
    St. James School
    (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: PK-8 | 173 students
    5.5 miles
    25 Graham Street
    Biddeford, ME 04005
    (207)282-4084
    5.5PK-8
    173

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (5 reviews)
5  5/17/2016
After almost 4 full years at SAU I couldn't be happier with my child's education. His teachers have been outstanding. He has been educated as a whole person, holistically, and having a fabulous time. He's 13, happy, and loves school and I like that.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
We are new to SAU and I can honestly say my son has never been happier at school. Although it's not academically "rigorous" the pressures of public school were too much for him. The curriculum is somewhat traditional (math, reading, writing) but the kids are also given choices in areas like science and history so that they will be interested in what they are learning. There's a lot of play time outside which is great for my son who is very active. There's some access to extra-curriculum activities (eg, guitar lessons, soccer) but not as much as at a larger school. Parents work hard for the school, which can be a challenge but keeps tuition costs down. For us it is well worth it.
- Posted by
5  1/29/2015
I love that creative expression and developing social and emotional skills are valued just as much as language arts, math and science. I am so grateful for the astonishing teachers!
- Posted by
5  1/31/2013
Both of my children went through this school from grades K-8 and it was a fabulous experience for both! My children are well rounded, responsible, intelligent kids who have a strong voice and desire to learn. They are currently both in High School and are doing great in another local private school, but I am certain they will do well anywhere! The teachers are fabulous at SAU and know the children as people and treat them respectfully and lovingly. Music and art are strong focuses and academics are learned in hands on meaningful ways.
- Posted by
5  1/31/2013
School Around Us is a wonderful school. My son graduated last year and is doing excellent in high school. I know that SAU contributed to his quest for knowledge, critical thinking skills and solid sense of self. He knows his passions as a learner. Thank you SAU.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
January 16, 2018
Part of the private school selection process is financial aid. We point out five issues about which you should be aware.
January 16, 2018
We look at why tuition costs vary so widely from school to school.
January 08, 2018
Changes to the Tax Code in late 2017 included the addition of saving for K-12 private school education to 529 plans. We take a look at what this means for families thinking about private school for their children.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Maine is $7,960 for elementary schools and $27,053 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Maine is 79% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).