The Hill School

5.00 5 1 (8 reviews)
Tel: (540)687-5897
  • The goal of a Hill School education is to build character, self confidence, and scholarship through academic and co-curricular excellence, individualized attention, and a strong sense of community.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Virginia Association of Independent Schools (VAIS)
Religious AffiliationNonsectarian
Grades OfferedGrades Prekindergarten-8
ADD/ADHD SupportYes
Learning Difference ProgramsYes
Year Founded1926

Student Body

Total Students205 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
8%
State avg.: 26%
Students by GradeThe Hill School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers40 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio5:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
37%
Average Class Size15 students
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Matriculation DataMatric. DataLink to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress CodeCasual

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineFeb. 1 / Apr. 1 / rolling
Tuition NotesJunior Kindergarten - $9,500 Kindergarten - $14,800 1st - 3rd Grade - $20,800 4th - 8th Grade - $22,800
% on Financial Aid
30%
Admissions DirectorKelly Johnson
Endowment Size$14 million

Sports

Total Sports Offered6 sports
SportsBasketball, Cross Country, Field Hockey, Gymnastics, Lacrosse, SoccerBasketballCross Country,
Field HockeyGymnastics,
LacrosseSoccer,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.2 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Arts and Music Programs:
Art Club, Girl's Singing Clu

School Notes

  • The school`s goal is to help children grow strong and happy. In doing so we prize certain abilities: the abilities to think, to demonstrate essential academic skills, to be curious and resourceful, to communicate with oneself and with others, to trust, to be grateful, to wonder. And we prize certain qualities: honesty, humility, empathy, and compassion.
  • To preserve or achieve these attributes, we believe that one must possess a sense of worth and a sense of belonging a child who feels alienated or unsure will be neither a good citizen nor an efficient learner. Therefore the school`s first concern is to be a family, so that students may be secure enough to be able to appraise their own strengths and weaknesses, to risk succeeding and failing.
  • We believe that confidence derives partly from experience, therefore that students should have opportunities to participate in many and varied activities academic, artistic, social, athletic intimately and realistically. A class overnight camping trip is as integral to the curriculum as is long division, care of a salamander in the science lab as germane as learning how to study for a test. Students need not only to read and discuss plays, but write and act them; not only to listen to symphonies, but play instruments; not only to participate in sports, but compete in them. There should be time to practice as well as study democracy; time to teach, as well as be taught.
  • Students also need opportunities to make choices: simple choices whether or not to attend carefully to today`s test review; and complex choices whether or not to show disapproval of an irresponsible act by an important friend. They need freedom, often encouragement, to make such choices. Mistakes need to have as realistic consequences as possible, yet if adult intervention is required, it should be forth-right, but also sympathetic and optimistic. Similarly, responsible conduct should be rewarded as naturally as possible, but when necessary, with adult confirmation.
  • Finally, we recognize that the most sensible and ambitious philosophy is achieved only by parents and teachers who maintain high expectations of themselves and their children, who are patient, and who are not discouraged by failure, or afraid to love.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Leesburg
    Grades: NS-8 | 330 students
    10.2 miles
    20600 Red Cedar Drive
    Leesburg, VA 20175
    (703)777-3841
    10.2NS-8
    330
  • The Plains
    Grades: NS-12 | 432 students
    8.1 miles
    PO Box 107/4439 Old Tavern Rd
    The Plains, VA 20198
    (540)253-7600
    8.1NS-12
    432
  • Ashburn
    Grades: 6-12 | 52 students
    15.4 miles
    44675 Cape Court, Suite 105
    Ashburn, VA 20147
    (703)956-5020
    15.46-12
    52
  • Annandale
    Grades: NS-6
    30.4 miles
    7209 Quiet Cove
    Annandale, VA 22003
    (703)354-3446
    30.4NS-6
    n/a
  • Ashburn
    Grades: NS-5 | 200 students
    14.7 miles
    20909 Ashburn Village Blvd
    Ashburn, VA 20147
    (703)723-4500
    14.7NS-5
    200

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (8 reviews)
5  12/27/2017
My kids literally love going to school every day. They are challenged academically and have excelled - one is at a top boarding school now, and the other is on his way. Some of this stuff sounds 'too good to be true' but it's not - it's a great place. They draw from a broad community - including Leesburg and South Riding - and they get everyone involved. I would recommend it to anyone looking for an independent school built to nurture and get the best out of your child, without the pressure-cooker or cookie-cutter culture.
- Posted by
5  11/9/2017
Wonderful place to send your children for JK-8. Some teachers have been there 40+ years. Real community built around the kids. My kids that graduated went on to do very well at competitive high schools. Also better tuition and financial aid than surrounding similar private schools.
- Posted by
5  11/9/2017
I have 4 children who all attend The Hill School. They Love going to school because they are learning in a hands on environment where they respect the importance of art, drama, music, foreign language as well as enriching core curriculum. The teachers are invested in the children and they work hard at bringing out each child's strengths while also working on their weaknesses. They teach the children how to get back up after a failure and how to preserve and shine after disappointment. They feed their brains while building their character. I couldn't imagine a better school environment.
- Posted by
5  11/9/2017
I can't imagine a better Elementary School. Truly they encourage, support and mold my children to be great learners and to love the act of learning. They give them the tools to be critical thinkers while also developing them socially. They believe in the importance of a well rounded child and have a rich curriculum that has not only the core courses of Math, Language Arts, History and Science, but also Athletics, Art, Music, and Language. I love the school, and more importantly my kids love school too!
- Posted by
5  11/9/2017
I have had three children that have graduated from Hill School. Each one of them unique and extremely well-prepared for High School, and placed in advanced classes. The community of Hill School from the interaction among the students, from Junior Kindergarten through 8th grade, to that with the faculty and staff, is one of kindness and respect. The opportunity for every student to participate in everything from the arts, to athletics, to outdoor place-based education, as well as the core academic program allows children to try new things, and challenges them to stretch themselves as students, and as individuals in a safe environment. Hill School students develop a strong sense of self and go on to High School to be their own advocates, leaders, and strong community members in their school communities. I have found this with my own children, and with many other students that have attended and graduated from Hill. You will know a Hill School student when you meet them because they will look you in the eye, have a conversation with you, and be willing to extend themselves--whether it is a Junior Kindergartner, an eighth grader, or am alum of the school.
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
My children truly thrived at Hill School where they were surrounded every day by kind and loving adults who treated them as unique individuals and challenged them to grow and learn in ways that still enrich their lives years later in college and high school. I cannot say enough about the sense of connection my children felt/still feel to Hill and its learning community. They love returning to the beautiful campus to check in with their former teachers and update them on all the places they have been and the things they are learning. More than anything Hill School taught my kids to be life-long learners which has made such a difference in their lives. Hill School introduced them to a world of science, art, history, and music that continues to enrich our family today. Because the curriculum at Hill demands that everyone participate in all activities my kids became comfortable performers, public speakers, leaders on the playing field, and they learned what it was like to stumble at something they were not good at, deal with it, learn, and grow. These were all such valuable lessons in their lives. Hill School is the kind of school you wish you had gone to when you were growing up and are so thrilled that your kids get to experience.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
As a parent of two recent graduates from The Hill School, I couldn't be happier with the overall experience at the school. Our children were challenged academically, learned to support their classmates, had opportunities to engage in sports, chorus, drama performances, and in mentoring lower school students. The program is designed to build confident students that love to learn and that is exactly what we see in our children. Both are recognized leaders in their out of school activities and received academic merit based scholarships to leading private secondary schools in the Mid-Atlantic Region. The Hill School invites parents to partner in their child's education experience. Participation in field trips, assistance with major school projects, holiday activities, annual cultural study programs and sporting events allowed us to get to know all of their fellow students and many of the other parents. The faculty was highly responsive to our requests for challenging but age appropriate book recommendations and often provided personal copies for our children to enjoy. The caring atmosphere at The Hill School made this a fantastic experience for our children.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
Kids are allowed to be kids....period. Test scores are important, but more important is the "kid experience". Climbing trees, while learning math or, cleaning the pond area in driving rain, while learning the sciences of such, are what THE Hill School is all about. And, the educators are on board 100%. My kids LOVE it!....so do I.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
January 08, 2018
Changes to the Tax Code in late 2017 included the addition of saving for K-12 private school education to 529 plans. We take a look at what this means for families thinking about private school for their children.
January 07, 2018
From time to time we all wonder how things might have turned out if circumstances and situations had been different. We apply that questioning to private schools.
December 27, 2017
Hundreds of private schools, and for that matter, public schools, outside the United States will be happy to have you as a teacher for a few years.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Loudoun County, VA is $14,900 for elementary schools and $23,020 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Loudoun County, VA is 86% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).