The Montessori Academy

5.00 5 1 (16 reviews)
Tel: (817)274-1548
  • The Montessori Academy, in partnership with parents and community, is committed to providing an affordable, quality Montessori program for students of diverse abilities, economic, and cultural backgrounds.
  • We offer education programs for children beginning at 6 weeks through 6th grade.
  • We believe that children learn best when they are active participants in their own learning and are expected to work to their potential.
  • Students at TMA are in the process of becoming academic achievers with a love of learning, critical thinkers, creative problem-solvers who use technology as a tool, peacemakers, protectors of the environment and its resources, and responsible, productive and caring community citizens.

School Overview

School TypeMontessori School
School Membership(s)School Assoc.American Montessori Society (AMS)
AdvancED
Religious AffiliationNonsectarian
Grades OfferedGrades Nursery/Preschool-6
Year Founded1981
Summer School OfferedYes
Summer Program Cost NotesWe offer the option of a 12-month school contract. Pricing is the same as the school year pricing. Elementary program also offers session options for summer camp. See www.tmaonline.org/index.php/tma-programs/summer-camps for details.

Student Body

Total Students189 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
56%
State avg.: 39%
Students by GradeThe Montessori Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers35 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio5:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size20 students
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Matriculation DataMatric. DataLink to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress CodeCasual

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost$8,250
Tuition Notes2018-19 Tuition varies from $8,500 to $14,760, depending on program. See http://www.tmaonline.org/fees.shtml for details.
% on Financial Aid
10%
Admissions DirectorLynette Engelke
Admissions AssociateLinda Martin

Sports

Total Sports Offered3 sports
SportsBallet, Martial Arts, SoccerBalletMartial Arts,
Soccer

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.7 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Club or Organization:
Lone Star Institute of Taekwondo, Stretch & Grow Ballet, The Outsiders Club, Yoga

Arts and Music Programs:
Piano, Theater Arlington Drama and Creative Movement

Recreational Athletic Programs:
Fury Soccer Academies

School Notes

  • Thank you for your interest in The Montessori Academy of Arlington. Please visit www.tmaonline.org to learn more about our school, community, and the Montessori philosophy of eduction. You can also schedule a tour to see, firsthand, how our programs prepare children to become productive and caring community citizens.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Arlington
    Grades: PK-12 | 870 students
    2.3 miles
    5900 West Pioneer Parkway
    Arlington, TX 76013
    (817)451-4994
    2.3 PK-12
    870
  • Arlington
    Childrens University
    Special Program Emphasis
    Grades: PK-6 | 203 students
    3.7 miles
    4621 Park Springs Blvd
    Arlington, TX 76017
    (817)784-6655
    3.7 PK-6
    203
  • Irving
    Redeemer Montessori School
    Montessori School (Episcopal)
    Grades: PK-6 | 123 students
    15.8 miles
    2700 Warren Cir
    Irving, TX 75062
    (972)257-3517
    15.8 PK-6
    123
  • Dallas
    Alcuin School
    Montessori School
    Grades: PK-12 | 489 students
    25.5 miles
    6144 Churchill Way
    Dallas, TX 75230
    (972)239-1745
    25.5 PK-12
    489
  • Dallas
    Grades: PK-6 | 89 students
    25.1 miles
    6210 E Mockingbird Lane
    Dallas, TX 75214
    (214)821-9466
    25.1 PK-6
    89

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (16 reviews)
5  7/21/2018
TMA is a wonderful school. The teachers are all very well trained and clearly love what they do. The classroom environments are miraculous and allow for the children to truly learn and grow. Sending my 6 week old to school was so difficult but TMA and the NIDO program made it so easy.
- Posted by
5  7/21/2018
This is an amazing school! From the Principal, to the office personnel and the incredible and caring teachers!The children not only grow academically but most importantly they learn critical thinking, leadership, and an incredible love for nature and the environment around them. TMA has its own wildscape where the kids play and explore.We are extremely blessed to be a part of the TMA family. I will recommend this school to everyone looking not only for excellence in academics but also to raise independent, confident, creative, compassionate, problem solving and critical thinking children.
- Posted by
5  5/9/2018
My daughter has been attending TMA since last September and we couldn`t be happier with our choice! I researched and visited several other schools and this is by far the most impressive on every level. The environment is warm, safe and inviting. There is ample outdoor space and opportunities to experience nature. The teachers are very experienced facilitators who understand how to be present for the children while allowing them independence. My 20 month old has grown leaps and bounds thanks to TMA, both socially and emotionally, and she loves it there too!
- Posted by
5  12/27/2017
TMA is a wonderful school with a great team of educators. The staff (from the teachers in the classroom to the head of school) are genuinely interested in the development of the children. The outdoor learning environment is unmatched. Phenomenal school!
- Posted by
5  12/27/2017
TMA is a wonderful school with an outstanding administrative team. The teachers care about the students and classroom management is amazing. Top notch!!!
- Posted by
5  12/27/2017
We love TMA! My son has been attending Tma for about 5 months now. And we have been very impressed with the school and the staff. This place is a hidden gem. The head of the school is wonderfull and very much involved in everything which is great! I couldn`t have ask for a better place to send my son!
- Posted by
5  12/27/2017
As parents we are picky to select the best education for our children and Montessori is a method that just makes sense to foster self learning. It was hard to find a good school that provide the method with quality and close to where we live and I am glad we found TMA that provides just that. Great teachers in there as well!
- Posted by
5  12/26/2017
Love this school and have recommended it to others. Love the diversity of students and ideas and the caring and supportive staff.
- Posted by
5  12/26/2017
Our family is very happy with our experience with TMA. The teachers and administrators are passionate and work hard to ensure each child has the opportunity to flourish (both socially and academically). We can't recommend this school enough!
- Posted by
5  12/8/2017
TMA shines beyond the classroom as students learn how to take care of a garden and animals. Out back is a series of trails that lead to a wooded area where the kids play, explore, and coexist with nature.
- Posted by
5  11/9/2017
Our son has been going to TMA for a year and a half now, and we love everything about the school! Each classroom has its own private courtyard, and the school has a large outdoor play area with a separate area for younger children, plus its own private wildscape that the children get to explore. I like that the teachers and TMA staff members take the time to know each child`s name and welcome them every morning as they walk into the school. I highly recommend TMA.
- Posted by
5  11/9/2017
I highly recommend TMA. The environment is very inviting. The teachers are very willing to customize your child's academic plan. There is an abundance of opportunities for enrichment and extracurricular activities. It is worth the money!
- Posted by
5  11/9/2017
TMA has given our son a wonderful school experience. He enjoys school each day and is provided with a rigorous education. The teachers genuinely care about each student. TMA has a wonderful, well-rounded approach to education.
- Posted by
5  11/9/2017
Our son has been in Montessori since he was 18 months old. Now that our son is in the 2nd grade, we moved to TMA to better balance the 'real world' with the nurturing application of Montessori. Our son is thriving under the fluid structure of the Montessori curriculum , while also learning the skills he will need when he moves to a more traditional education environment (homework, testing, etc.). TMA is a gem and the administration across the entire school is top notch.
- Posted by
5  11/9/2017
We love TMA! Our son has been attending for a year and a half now, and he has learned so much about himself, his peers, and his environment in such a short time. The school is beautiful, and the children get to experience an indoor/outdoor learning environment daily. The staff takes the time to learn each child`s name and welcome them into the school every morning. TMA goes above and beyond!
- Posted by
5  9/10/2017
We recommend TMA to everyone! It is a wonderful school, always clean, my child is loved and cared for and we have had a wonderful experience!
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
August 06, 2018
SCVNGR adds a new layer to the social media world. Jeff Kirchik explains what SCVNGR is and how it works.
August 06, 2018
Two television series about private schools received a certain amount of buzz. Gossip Girl aired on CW. NYC Prep was on Bravo.
July 24, 2018
We identify changes in The Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017 which impact not-for-profit private schools.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Arlington, TX is $6,305 for elementary schools and $13,788 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Arlington, TX is 87% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).