Vertical Skills Academy

5.00 5 1 (5 reviews)
Tel: (303)562-1900
32156 Castle Court Drive #201
Evergreen, CO 80439
previous
Unique Students. Unique School.
next
Unique Students. Unique School.
  • Vertical Skills Academy is an educational nonprofit school for students 1st - 8th grade who have been diagnosed with dyslexia.
  • Our full-day, literacy immersion program engages students through multisensory teaching in all subject areas.
  • Our unique environment, combined with Orton-Gillingham trained staff, allows students to grow at their individual pace, fill their literacy gaps and become more confident and capable students.

School Overview

School TypeSchool with Special Program Emphasis
Religious AffiliationNonsectarian
Grades OfferedGrades 1-8
ADD/ADHD SupportYes
Learning Difference ProgramsYes
Learning Programs SupportedDyslexia related differences
Year Founded2014

Student Body

Total Students24 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
45%
State avg.: 23%
Students by GradeVertical Skills Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers12 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio2:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
95%
Average Class Size5 students
Classroom Dress CodeCasual

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost$21,000
% on Financial Aid
25%
Average Financial Aid Grant$2,000
Acceptance Rate
75%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions DirectorAudra Chapleski

School Notes

  • Classes range in size between 4 and 6 students and are taught by licensed teachers with extensive training to support, encourage and bridge impactful literacy gaps as well as attend to social and emotional growth.

Nearby Private Schools

All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Evergreen
    Grades: PK-8
    2.3 miles
    1036 El Rancho Road
    Evergreen, CO 80439
    (303)674-3400
    2.3PK-8
    n/a
  • Evergreen
    Evergreen Country Day School
    Special Program Emphasis
    Grades: NS-8 | 205 students
    2.4 miles
    1093 Swede Gulch Rd
    Evergreen, CO 80439
    (303)674-3400
    2.4NS-8
    205
  • Evergreen
    Grades: NS-8 | 281 students
    3.1 miles
    PO Box 2468
    Evergreen, CO 80437
    (303)674-0093
    3.1NS-8
    281
  • Evergreen
    Grades: K-8 | 80 students
    6.5 miles
    27826 Alabraska Lane
    Evergreen, CO 80439
    (303)670-1721
    6.5K-8
    80
  • Golden
    Eagle Ridge KinderCare
    Daycare / Preschool (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: NS-PK
    8.7 miles
    18601 Eagle Ridge Dr.
    Golden, CO 80401
    (303)279-0814
    8.7NS-PK
    n/a

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (5 reviews)
5  11/9/2017
As a teacher at VSA, I have seen kids grow from shy people that don't feel confident in their own ability to succeed into fantastic presenters, readers, and writers that are excited to learn. It is a wonderful community where students and teachers alike are really invested in success.
- Posted by
5  11/9/2017
Vertical Skills Academy has saved my sons life, literally. Their expert team of teachers work with each child individually, find what they need and incorporate it into their every day learning environment. I cannot say enough about VSA. Thank you for all you do for each and every child in your school!
- Posted by
5  11/9/2017
My 3rd grade daughter was formally diagnosed with dyslexia last Spring, although we had been giving her a ton of extra support from Kindergarten on because we were suspicious she had learning disabilities. At the time we were living in a great school district and her public school faculty did literally everything they could to support her. She squeaked by 2nd grade at the reading level she should be, but it was so hard on her. It was obvious to her and us that she was struggling much more than her peers with reading, writing, and spelling. She was spending 2 afternoons a week in tutoring, so had little time for sports, playdates, etc. Our reading specialist tutor told us about Vertical Skills Academy, and I came up for a tour. I am SO IMPRESSED with the quality of education this school provides. The personal attention is incredible, the teachers are amazing, and they truly educate the whole child. They teach these kids what it means to be dyslexic (it's not bad!), how to advocate for themselves, how to get and stay organized, and how to look at the world so it makes sense for the way their different brains work. Each kid gets a 1:1 tutoring session every day, and the kids really don't have homework. I am amazed every day at how well this school connects with my daughter and her way of learning. They have a huge focus on literacy of course, but they have amazing curriculum for science, social studies, history, math....all taught using the same learning tricks and tips they teach them for literacy, so it unlocks their abilities in other subject areas.We've got our afternoons back and now she can do sports, pottery classes, theater, whatever she wants. She can be a kid, and now for the first time, she understands how smart she is. She's making straight As, because the VSA teachers are able to connect with her and teach her in a way she can process the information, which basically unmasks her intelligence that was hiding behind her information processing issues. In public school, she frequently just couldn't connect with the information and was overwhelmed by being in a class of 27 kids. Twenty minutes of reading support in a small group wasn't cutting it. She's now confident in ways I never thought possible.VSA's goal is to set these kids up to go mainstream, which I love. I want my daughter to learn to live in the real world, and that's exactly what this school teaches them to do. They can advocate for themselves, learn to process information in the way that makes sense for them, and they have the confidence to know that dyslexia DOES NOT MEAN YOU'RE NOT INTELLIGENT! It's so awesome, y'all. Worth every penny.
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
If you have a dyslexic child you need to make an appointment with VSA. We live 45 miles away from the school and this is the best decision we could have made for our child. The instruction is specific to the child. The teachers, administration and tutors are amazing! Focusing on the skills that kids with learning differences need to succeed in traditional middle and high school. When our child was first diagnosed with dyslexia and dysgraphia we jumped through all the hoops of public school yet we were told "We just don't have the resources for these kids." We are truly blessed to have found VSA with educators who are passionate about "these kids." The curriculum is challenging, the children learn how to advocate for themselves and they THRIVE in this school.
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
My son has dyslexia and struggled at a private school where his needs were not being met, even though they focused on teaching students with learning disabilities there. His difficulty with reading and writing had a negative impact on his self-esteem and interest in learning, which broke my heart! It became clear that we needed to try something different and I am so very happy that we found VSA! The teachers there are so caring and helpful and provided the support my son needed to regain confidence in himself and in learning. His reading skills have grown and so has his overall happiness. Thank you, VSA!
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
December 12, 2017
If you have not looked for a job in the past several years, your job search probably needs a refresh. Here's how to do it.
December 12, 2017
You won't find several things in private schools which you will find in public schools.
December 04, 2017
If you are responsible for marketing your school, you probably have encountered the term SEO. If you are unfamiliar with SEO, this article will introduce you to the basic concepts.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Colorado is $8,159 for elementary schools and $13,525 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Colorado is 91% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).