American Heritage School

5.00 5 1 (19 reviews)
Tel: (954)472-0022
  • American Heritage School is a nationally recognized college preparatory school with a strong commitment to academic excellence. All students in grades PK3 through 12 uphold the highest standards of knowledge, integrity, and compassion as they receive a rigorous and well-rounded education with superior programs in academics, the arts, and athletics.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Southern Association Of Colleges And Schools (SACS)
AdvancED
Middle States Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools
Florida Council of Independent Schools (FCIS)
Accreditation International
Religious AffiliationNonsectarian
Grades OfferedGrades Prekindergarten-12
Learning Difference ProgramsYes
Learning Programs SupportedMild learning differences
Year Founded1965
Summer School OfferedYes

Student Body

Total Students2800 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
10%
State avg.: 32%
Students by GradeAmerican Heritage School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers350 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio8:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
60%
Average Class Size22 students
Number of AP Courses28 courses
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Advanced CoursesAmerican Government, American History, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Chinese Language, Comparative Government, Computer Science, English Language & Composition, English Literature & Composition, Environmental Science, European HIstory, French Language, Human Geography, Macroeconomics, Music Theory, Physics 1, Physics 2, Physics C: Electricity & Magnetism, Physics C: Mechanics, Psychology, Spanish Language, Spanish Literature, Statistics, Studio 2D Art, Studio Drawing, World HIstory,
Average SAT score1320
Average ACT score28
Matriculation DataMatric. DataLink to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress CodeFormal
(Uniform required)

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost$23,851
Admissions DirectorMarc Shaw
Admissions AssociateLori Lombardi

Sports

Total Sports Offered18 sports
SportsBaseball, Basketball, Bowling, Cheering, Cross Country, Dance, Equestrian, Football, Golf, Ice Hockey, Lacrosse, Soccer, Softball, Swimming, Tennis, Track and Field, Volleyball, WrestlingBaseballBasketball,
BowlingCheering,
Cross CountryDance,
EquestrianFootball,
GolfIce Hockey,
LacrosseSoccer,
SoftballSwimming,
TennisTrack and Field,
VolleyballWrestling,

School Notes

The students at American Heritage School are uniquely prepared to be leaders of the 21st Century who embody knowledge, integrity and compassion. Each year, students attend prestigious competitions and earn exceptional awards. Here are some of the recent achievements of our students:
  • #1 high school in Florida with the highest number of National Merit Scholars
  • Ranked 9th out of 22,000 high schools in the nation
  • $83 million in college scholarships offered to the Class of 2017
  • 92% passing rate on all Advanced Placement exams (52% passing rate in the state of Florida; 60% passing rate globally);  AP average test score: 4
  • #1 private school in the U.S. in national Math Competitions and #1 high school in Florida
  • #1 school in Florida at state science fair competition
  • Qualifiers at the 2017 Robotics World Championship
  • #1 private school in the U.S. in Model United Nations
  • #1 Mock Trial team in Florida; #6 Mock Trial team in the U.S.
  • Top 1% in the nation in Speech & Debate competition
  • 2 winners of Miami Herald`s prestigious Silver Knight Award for academics and community service
  • 2 Emmy Awards for WAHS News from the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Suncoast Chapter - News Story and Public Service Announcement 
  • First place for the Patriot Post newspaper, Expressions literary art magazine, and Spotlight yearbook from the National Scholastic Press Association, the American Scholastic Press Association, and the Florida Scholastic Press Association
  • 5 Critics` Choice Awards at District and 1 Critics' Choice at State Thespian Festivals
  • Featured Choir at the National Youth Choir at Carnegie Hall in New York, NY
  • 2 national art award winners from the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards
  • FHSAA 2015-16 State Titles: Boys Swimming, Girls Soccer, Softball, Boys Track & Field
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Fort Lauderdale
    Grades: PK-12 | 2436 students
    12.8 miles
    1501 Ne 62nd St
    Fort Lauderdale, FL 33334
    (954)492-4135
    12.8 PK-12
    2436
  • Fort Lauderdale
    Grades: 9-12 | 2194 students
    8.2 miles
    2801 Sw 12th St
    Fort Lauderdale, FL 33312
    (954)581-0700
    8.2 9-12
    2194
  • Fort Lauderdale
    Grades: PK-12
    4.9 miles
    3375 SW 75 Avenue
    Fort Lauderdale, FL 33314
    (954)262-4506
    4.9 PK-12
    n/a
  • Fort Lauderdale
     Westminster Academy
    (Presbyterian)
    Grades: NS-12 | 896 students
    13.4 miles
    5601 N Federal Highway
    Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308
    (954)771-4600
    13.4 NS-12
    896
  • Coral Springs
    Grades: PK-12 | 863 students
    10.5 miles
    2251 Riverside Dr
    Coral Springs, FL 33065
    (954)752-2870
    10.5 PK-12
    863

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (19 reviews)
5  5/6/2018
American Heritage is a great school. My daughter loves the school and I love all the opportunities it provides her. The teachers are very caring and allow the children to find their passion in what ever they are learning. The school is the driving force of why I live in Southern Florida and I wouldn't want my daughter to go to any school other than AH.
- Posted by
5  5/2/2018
American heritage is so diverse, it is a fit for almost anyone. My children are not only exposed to friends and faculty from all over the world but that have been able to find classes, clubs and sports that they are excited to participate in. I have two very different children enrolled at American Heritage, one loves all of the sports teams available for him to join and the other is delighted to audition and act in all of the fine arts activities offered. As a parent I find they are being challenged academically by the curriculum and know they are being prepared for college. Their teachers are are always available and willing to assist them in any way. I am very happy my children are attending American Heritage.
- Posted by
5  5/2/2018
AHS offers an exceptional opportunity at every level. Students can excel in any area they choose while being provided with guidance, discipline and all other necessary tools. The faculty and administrators are committed to help each student reach his/her goal. Safety is also a top priority and the school has always taken an active role in making sure of this.
- Posted by
5  4/23/2018
If you want your child to have the opportunity to find his or her true talents and interests, American Heritage is the perfect school. From stellar academics and a myriad of extracurricular clubs to an amazing fine arts and athletic programs, Heritage has it all. Every day I drop off my two children, grades 4 and 6, I know they are learning valuable information and being introduced to new, interesting experiences. In addition to the academic opportunities, I have piece of mind regarding security. This school goes above and beyond to keep the students, teachers, and all of the Heritage family safe. It is clear to see how the administration and teachers truly care about the students and I know my girls are in good hands.
- Posted by
5  4/23/2018
American Heritage has offered my daughter opportunities that don`t exist at other private schools. She is now in her third year of the school`s pre-medical track and all the courses she has taken have been taught by medical doctors who have not only increased her interest in the subject area, but who have increased her understanding of the field and its demands. American Heritage has also provided invaluable trainings and information as we begin to look at the next step, college. American Heritage has the motto, "college is a match to be made not a prize to be won," which is so perfect for juniors and seniors to hear. The school then spends countless hours helping students find just the right match. I cannot imagine another school where thIs level of dedication takes place.
- Posted by
5  3/10/2018
The success of any school lies with its teachers and administrators. American Heritage School's teachers are extremely passionate about the curriculum and imprinting their students to become all around successful. Everyday I bring my children to Heritage, I have the upmost confidence that teachers at Heritage are giving them a premier education. I have a son who started in preK3 and is now in 8th grade. My daughter is in preK4. There is no other school that I would consider for my children from an academic, enrichment, and social perspective. Furthermore, I am extremely impressed by the hands on professional administration that demonstrate ongoing compassion and competence with their staff and students. Best investment I made!
- Posted by
5  3/10/2018
I have three children that have attended American a Heritage for the last 3 years and we couldn`t be more pleased. The curriculum is top notch, the teachers are warm, caring and truly amazing. They get so much more and have experienced so many amazing things. The school is a true melting pot of diversity and it is celebrated. The multicultural event that the lower school does each winter is an amazing. We couldn`t be happier to have our children at such an amazing school.
- Posted by
5  3/10/2018
American Heritage is an excellent school. My children started at American Heritage when they were in elementary. They are now in high school and are true Patriots. They have grown up to be well rounded students with great work ethic, thanks to the dedication of all of the wonderful teachers. Enrolling my children in American Heritage was the best decision I have made for my children's future.
- Posted by
5  3/10/2018
I am extremely thrilled with our choice of sending my three children to American Heritage. The school is so instrumental in opening many opportunities for my children that I didn't foresee as possibilities when we enrolled them. My eldest just recently graduated from Boston University and as a student at American Heritage his participation in the fine arts in the orchestra and guitar program along with his studies in the pre-law Track enhanced his ability to get accepted to the University of his choice and let him excel there graduating Cum Laude. My second child participates in the athletics department by playing on the baseball team and also is active in the fine arts program and is on the pre-law track. Finally, my youngest also participates in the athletic department by playing football and is part of the pre-engineering track. This school offers a wide variety of academic tracks as well as affording the opportunity of a well rounded experience in the many successful athletic teams and award winning fine arts department. They also have numerous clubs and activities that will allow your child to be exposed to a wide variety of experiences that are second to none.
- Posted by
5  3/10/2018
I have three children that attend American Heritage and we couldn`t be more pleased. The education they are receiving is unmatched. They are all involved in many different activities and have found what interests them most. I believe the constant encouragement and support from the faculty and staff as well as the curriculum has set my children up for an amazing future.
- Posted by
5  3/16/2017
I have been a Heritage parent for 20 years. My older daughter started there when she was in Kindergarten with the most wonderful Mrs. Lister and my younger daughter started in PK-3 with the bubbly Mrs. Evans. At American Heritage, kids can do as much or as little as they want though the former is more common. The opportunities are myriad and the no cut policy for anything you want to try your hand on is friendly. The academics, sports, fine arts and the family spirit aside, the Heritage community has shaped my daughters into articulate, intelligent, accomplished, empathetic and kind young women. As they embark on the next chapter of their lives, I am grateful for the choice I made to send them here.
- Posted by
5  3/16/2017
Sending my children to American Heritage and American Academy for the past 12 years (both started in pre-k) was the best decision I ever made. In lower school, they had the opportunity to take weekly p.e., art, music, computer, library, and language classes. In middle school, they learned to apply critical thinking skills with projects like Natonal History Day, research paper, and persuasive speaking. My son is now in high school, and he has blossomed as a student thanks to the wonderful education he had gotten along the way. My daughter was drawn to the theater AND broadcasting programs, and has been a member of several award winning project. Clearly, I cannot say enough wonderful things about American Heritage and American Academy!
- Posted by
5  3/16/2017
My three children are graduates of AHS. They began in fifth grade, fourth grade, and kindergarten. Throughout their years at AHS they were able to take advantage of superior education, excellent extra curricular activities in athletics, fine arts and clubs. This school offers opportunities for students in every area. In the words of my youngest son, this school offered an " intellectually engaging environment, support in every area...academically, in sports, and extra curricular activities. It was a good backbone for pursuing your college dreams and it is instrumental to the development of the individual". Socially, they created life long friendships and their years at AHS helped them attain admission to excellent universities and, for my oldest son, a highly ranked law school. I am thankful they had the opportunity to attend AHS.
- Posted by
5  3/16/2017
For my three VERY different children, American Heritage has provided the perfect combination of interesting classes, sports (including bowling!), and extracurricular activities to keep them motivated, challenged, engaged, and HAPPY. From the fine engineering program which prepared my eldest son for college to the speech and debate program for my future lawyer, I have been heartily pleased with the dedication of the talented staff and effervescence of the other students. This is a place to work, to engage, and to find one's passion. Love it!
- Posted by
5  3/16/2017
I currently have 3 children attending American Heritage, all at the elementary level. We have been extremely pleased with the academic programs offered to challenge our children. Our children all have different interests, but all have found a passion to pursue. They can be found after school participating in robotics, AIMS math, swimming, tennis, or art. We look forward to watching our children excel at American Heritage for many years to come.
- Posted by
5  2/25/2017
This is our 5th year at American Heritage and we believe that the education that our children receive at AH is unparalleled. American Heritage enriches our children's academics through their commitment to each area of study. AH exposes their students to a curriculum that goes beyond any textbook.
- Posted by
5  1/14/2017
Our two boys have been attending American Heritage for 8 years since they were in Kindergarten and First Grade, and we couldn't be happier with their growth and maturity. They have learned good study habits and research skills through the rigorous curriculum, and they each discovered talents they might not have realized they have thanks to all of the electives and the programs in the fine arts. Their teachers were all incredible. They are the driving force for who our boys are today.
- Posted by
5  11/3/2016
Both of my children have attended American Heritage School -- my youngest since Kindergarten (currently in her Junior Year.) My eldest graduated from the Academy in 2014.I couldn't be happier with the level of professionalism and caring that all of my kids teachers have provided for them. My son found his passion in computers while attending there. The amount of programs available for all students is amazing.The friendly confines of American Heritage School is the perfect place for any child.
- Posted by
5  6/20/2012
I would love to get more information on your school my son is only in middle school right now but I would like to enroll him in your school. I know your school has a great concept about teaching you students to excell and my son needs to be in a envoriment like that.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
June 20, 2018
You would think it would be easier to get your child into an elementary or primary school than into a prep school. But in fact it is almost as complicated.
June 07, 2018
If you have the chance to move overseas, don't worry about educating your children. You have several options.
May 10, 2018
Sending your child to a single-sex school is one of several options you have when it comes to private schools.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Fort Lauderdale, FL is $8,178 for elementary schools and $14,827 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Fort Lauderdale, FL is 83% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).