Brookwood Christian Language School

  • Brookwood Christian Language School is specializing in language based learning disabilities.
  • Class size of 7 or less.  Full time school offering all subjects.
  • Wilson reading classes and tutoring are available for students with dyslexia.  Research based curriculum and methods are used.

School News

  • Brookwood Christian named a 2019 Top Small Business of the Year! - 05/06/2019 - The Cobb Chamber of Commerce named Brookwood Christian a 2019 Top 25 Small Business of the Year at the Chamber`s First Monday Breakfast on May 6, 2019*, for its remarkable ...moreinnovation, sound approach to organizational challenges and positive impact on the community. hide
  • Principal Kim Wigington to receive prestigious award. - 03/13/2018 - Principal Kim Wigington has been selected by the International Dyslexia Association, Georgia Branch (IDA-GA) to receive this year`s Leadership in Literacy Award. IDA-GAs Leadership in Literacy Award recognizes a ...moreschool administrator who has shown leadership in developing literacy in his/her school or school system within the state of Georgia.

    Kim has demonstrated:
    outstanding leadership through the development of effective reading programs,
    the support of excellent teacher training and professional development
    significant gains in student reading achievement, and
    the engagement of parents in school/home cooperative ventures to support literacy.

    Kim will be honored at IDA-GA`s Dimensions of Dyslexia Conference to be held at Georgia Tech Research Institute in Atlanta on March 24, 2018, for her dedicated service to education and outstanding efforts to promote and encourage student reading achievement.
    hide
  • Principal Kim Wigington named Acworth Citizen of the Year by Cobb County Chamber of Commerce - 12/15/2016 - Brookwood Christian School Principal, Kim Wigington, has been named Acworth Citizen of the Year by the Cobb County Chamber of Commerce. As Chair of the Downtown Development Authority, her leadership ...morehas provided a vision to support prosperity and growth for downtown businesses and citizens in the Acworth community. hide

School Overview

School TypeSpecial Education School
School Membership(s)School Assoc.Other associations(s) for exceptional children
Georgia Accrediting Commission
Religious AffiliationNonsectarian
Grades OfferedGrades 1-12
ADD/ADHD SupportYes
Learning Difference ProgramsYes
Learning Programs SupportedLanguage/Information Processing disorders such as Dyslexia, Auditory Processing, etc.
Year Founded2004

Student Body

Total Students55 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
57%
State avg.: 22%
Students by Grade Brookwood Christian Language School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers11 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio5:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
64%
Average Class Size7 students
Number of AP Courses5 courses
Advanced CoursesAP Biology, AP Calculus AB, AP Chemistry, AP Statistics, AP US History, Biology, Chemistry, English Literature, Latin, Precalculus
Average ACT score21
Classroom Dress CodeCasual
(comfort and modesty)

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost$19,500
Tuition Notes$500 non-refundable registration/enrollment fee which is applied toward tuition if paid by the registration deadline. After the deadline it will be an additional charge.Applications for financial aid are due April 1, 2020
% on Financial Aid
93%
Average Financial Aid Grant$9,300
Admissions DirectorTerri Whitehurst
Admissions AssociateDanielle Anderson

School Notes

  • We are a private, non-profit school that serves students who have not been successful in public or private schools due to their unique learning needs.  Many of our students have been diagnosed with a language based learning disability such as dyslexia. Students typically have an IQ ranging from low average to gifted accompanied with various individual or multiple learning disorders such autism spectrum disorder, attention deficit disorder, neurological disorder, and other specific learning disabilities. Our curriculum is specialized and tailored to compensate for or overcome these learning disorders.  
  • We use Wilson Reading, a program based on Orton Gillingham methods which uses a multi-sensory, systematic approach to phonemic instruction, spelling, and reading comprehension.  Handwriting is taught with Handwriting without Tears, a curriculum developed by an Occupational Therapist.  
  • English Language Learners may choose to transition into another school or graduate from BCLS. Transitional students are given the opportunity to learn to speak, read, and write English before enrolling in a traditional school.
  • Personal daily attention is given to each student to improve the student`s low attention span and to provide an environment in which our students can adjust to a normal competitive classroom situation and to help them qualify for future post secondary education and independent living.
  • Most of our operating budget comes from tuition payments augmented by the Georgia SB-10 scholarship program.  This program allows students who have attended public school to seek alternative help from schools like ours.

Profile last updated:

Show me:
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Marietta
    MDE School
    MDE School Photo
    Special Education School
    Grades: K-12 | 51 students
    15.8 miles
    1517 Johnson Ferry Road
    Marietta, GA 30062
    (770) 971-4633
    15.8 K-12
    51
  • Kennesaw
    Devereux Ackerman Academy
    Alternative School
    Grades: 4-12 | 100 students
    7.1 miles
    1291 Stanley Rd Nw
    Kennesaw, GA 30152
    (770) 427-0147
    7.1 4-12
    100
  • Roswell
    The Cottage School
    The Cottage School Photo - The Cottage School sits on 23 beautiful acres of land on the Chattahoochee River corridor in Roswell, Georgia. The "cottages" are spread over the property and house our classrooms and offices in a peaceful nature setting.
    Special Education School
    Grades: 4-12 | 257 students
    20 miles
    700 Grimes Bridge Road
    Roswell, GA 30075
    (770) 641-8688
    20 4-12
    257
  • Roswell
    Jacob's Ladder
    Jacob's Ladder Photo
    Special Education School
    Grades: PK-12 | 85 students
    17.5 miles
    407 Hardscrabble Rd
    Roswell, GA 30075
    (770) 998-1017
    17.5 PK-12
    85
  • Roswell
    Porter Academy
    Special Education School
    Grades: PK-8 | 62 students
    18.4 miles
    200 Cox Rd
    Roswell, GA 30075
    (770) 594-1313
    18.4 PK-8
    62

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (5 reviews)
5  
I can not say enough about Brookwood Christian Academy!! It has saved my son's education and self confidence. It has Far surpassed my exceptions and continues to do so! The staff and teachers are so kind and loving that my son feels like they are family. They truly care about him not just educationally, but for his well being too! It's also a bonus that all the students are very close and treat it other with kindness and respect! I look forward to my son continuing his education all the way to graduation at Brookwood!
- Posted by
5  
In every great story, there is a comeback. As a mother of a child with numerous learning differences, I have been searching for the beginning of my child`s comeback story. I tried public school IEPs, homeschool, tutoring and another private school to no avail. When I met Kim, the founder of Brookwood Christian school, she had a quiet confidence about her that I could trust. My daughter has found a loving, safe environment with highly qualified teachers, like Kristen, Nadiya and Julie, who invest in my child on a daily basis. She moved from self-identifying as a non-reader to reading books like The Babysitter`s Club. She still has more work ahead of her, but she is taught the way her brain learns. She moved from being someone who hates math to smiling when she speaks of her success with her latest lesson. I can speak as a parent with full confidence that 1 year ago when my child started at Brookwood Christian school, her comeback story began. As a parent who has faced school days with anxiety, I can confidently drop her off knowing she is getting evidence-based interventions with Wilson Reading and FastForward to name just a few, as well as therapeutic art lessons to help her develop her fine motor skills, eye hand coordination and flex her creative muscles. Last years testing confirmed what I already knew, the intervention and environment was working! I would like to encourage parents to help their children to stop struggling and start thriving. Come check out Brookwood Christian School. This school is one of the best decision I have ever made for my child!
- Posted by
5  
My child started attending Brookwood Christian this school year. She tutored throughout the school year and summer leading up to this year. The resources available, understanding of my child's individual needs, and the empowerment that has been instilled in her during this process have been outstanding. The school Director and staff clearly have a love and passion for ensuring success for each student. For that past 3 1/2 years, I have been discouraged, in tears, and unaware of how to unlock the knowledge that I know is inside my child. My child truly feels a sense of belonging and hope that I have not seen in her. Excited to wake for school, energetic to share what she has learned at the end of the day. If your child is dyslexic, I STRONGLY encourage you to look into BC. If you are a resource for the school, I thank and appreciate you for supporting this school and encourage other resources you may know to support the development of young minds at this amazing school!
- Posted by
5  
I just cannot say enough wonderful things about this school. My son has auditory processing disorder and was unable to learn to read in public schools. No matter how hard he worked he just couldn't get it. I picked my son up from school one day and asked him if he got to make an eclipse t-shirt in his class. He told me no, because he was stupid and had to be pulled out for stupid classes. That was my breaking point. I knew my son was not stupid and could learn to read with the proper help. We found Brookwood Christian School online but were apprehensive since it was an hour and a half away from our house. When we visited Brookwood and met with the principal and staff we knew this was where my son belonged. They were familiar with his learning disability and knew how to help him. On his shadow day he brought home a completed assignment! I couldn't believe my eyes!! My son started at Brookwood Christian School on 9/15/2017. He was immediately placed in the schools reading programs, FastForword and Wilson Reading. Within two weeks my son read a whole sentence to his class!! By three weeks, he was reading three letter words!!! He has been at Brookwood for 2 months now and is reading big words like branch and shopping!! He was able to find a DVD last week by reading a title! I love watching my son read and the pride on his face when he finishes a story!!! The reward far out-weighs the 3 hours a day that we spend in the car. This school has changed his life and I am forever grateful.
- Posted by
5  
Brookwood Christian continues to be the answer to many tears and prayers for my daughters. Both of them were diagnosed with different Learning Disabilities that effected how they learned in a public school atmosphere. Through Brookwood's curriculum and the outstanding teaching staff, they are now thriving Freshmen and succeeding in school. Each staff member is invested in the children, and strives to provide a caring and compassionate learning atmosphere. I would highly recommend Brookwood Christian to any parent whose child is struggling in the traditional school atmosphere.
- Posted by

Endorse Brookwood Christian Language School. Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
Now that school has safely reopened, what can we parents do to support and encourage the schools we care about so much?
Sending your child to a single-sex school is one of several options you have when it comes to private schools.
This article aims to show you where to look for information about school reopening protocols, school reopening communications, schools that have closed, and schools with COVID-19 cases, among other COVID-19 related issues.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please briefly describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Georgia is $9,009 for elementary schools and $11,575 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Georgia is 82% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).