Brookwood Christian Language School

  • Brookwood Christian Language School is specializing in language based learning disabilities.
  • Class size of 7 or less.  Full time school offering all subjects.
  • Wilson reading classes and tutoring are available for students with dyslexia.  Research based curriculum and methods are used.

School News

  • Brookwood Christian Featured in Around Acworth Magazine - 07/01/2017 - Brookwood Christian School Leads Students to Succeed!
  • Principal Kim Wigington to receive prestigious award. - 03/13/2018 - Principal Kim Wigington has been selected by the International Dyslexia Association, Georgia Branch (IDA-GA) to receive this year`s Leadership in Literacy Award.  IDA-GAs Leadership in Literacy Award recognizes a school administrator who has sho...more
  • Principal Kim Wigington named Acworth Citizen of the Year by Cobb County Chamber of Commerce - 12/15/2016 - Brookwood Christian School Principal, Kim Wigington, has been named Acworth Citizen of the Year by the Cobb County Chamber of Commerce. As Chair of the Downtown Development Authority, her leadership has provided a vision to support prosperity and growth for do...more

School Overview

School TypeSpecial Education School
School Membership(s)School Assoc.Other associations(s) for exceptional children
Georgia Accrediting Commission
Religious AffiliationChristian
Grades OfferedGrades 1-12
ADD/ADHD SupportYes
Learning Difference ProgramsYes
Learning Programs SupportedDyslexia, Reading Comprehension, Dyscalcula
Year Founded2004

Student Body

Total Students51 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
State avg.: 25%
Students by GradeBrookwood Christian Language School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers11 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio5:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
Average Class Size7 students
Number of AP Courses5 courses
Advanced CoursesAP Biology, AP Calculus AB, AP Chemistry, AP Statistics, AP US History, Biology, Chemistry, English Literature, Latin, Precalculus,
Average ACT score21
Classroom Dress CodeCasual
(comfort and modesty)

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineMar. 30
Yearly Tuition Cost$17,000
Tuition Notes$300 non-refundable registration/enrollment fee which is applied toward tuition if paid by the registration deadline. After the deadline it will be an additional charge.Applications for financial aid are due March 1, 2018
% on Financial Aid
Average Financial Aid Grant$6,512
Admissions DirectorKim Wigington
Admissions AssociateTammy Urban

School Notes

  • We are a private, non-profit school that serves students who have not been successful in public or private schools due to their unique learning needs.  Many of our students have been diagnosed with a language based learning disability such as dyslexia. Students typically have an IQ ranging from low average to gifted accompanied with various individual or multiple learning disorders such autism spectrum disorder, attention deficit disorder, neurological disorder, and other specific learning disabilities. Our curriculum is specialized and tailored to compensate for or overcome these learning disorders.  
  • We use Wilson Reading, a program based on Orton Gillingham methods which uses a multi-sensory, systematic approach to phonemic instruction, spelling, and reading comprehension.  Handwriting is taught with Handwriting without Tears, a curriculum developed by an Occupational Therapist.  
  • English Language Learners may choose to transition into another school or graduate from BCLS. Transitional students are given the opportunity to learn to speak, read, and write English before enrolling in a traditional school.
  • Personal daily attention is given to each student to improve the student`s low attention span and to provide an environment in which our students can adjust to a normal competitive classroom situation and to help them qualify for future post secondary education and independent living.
  • Most of our operating budget comes from tuition payments augmented by the Georgia SB-10 scholarship program.  This program allows students who have attended public school to seek alternative help from schools like ours.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Marietta
    MDE School
    Special Education School
    Grades: K-12 | 36 students
    15.8 miles
    1517 Johnson Ferry Road
    Marietta, GA 30062
  • Roswell
    The Cottage School
    Special Education School
    Grades: 4-12 | 164 students
    20 miles
    700 Grimes Bridge Road
    Roswell, GA 30075
  • Roswell
    Porter Academy
    Special Education School
    Grades: PK-8 | 70 students
    18.4 miles
    200 Cox Rd
    Roswell, GA 30075
  • Roswell
    Jacob's Ladder
    Special Education School
    Grades: PK-12 | 85 students
    17.5 miles
    407 Hardscrabble Rd
    Roswell, GA 30075
  • Kennesaw
    The Devereux Georgia Treatment
    Special Education School
    Grades: 6-12 | 135 students
    7.1 miles
    1291 Stanley Rd Nw
    Kennesaw, GA 30152

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (2 reviews)
5  12/26/2017
I just cannot say enough wonderful things about this school. My son has auditory processing disorder and was unable to learn to read in public schools. No matter how hard he worked he just couldn't get it. I picked my son up from school one day and asked him if he got to make an eclipse t-shirt in his class. He told me no, because he was stupid and had to be pulled out for stupid classes. That was my breaking point. I knew my son was not stupid and could learn to read with the proper help. We found Brookwood Christian School online but were apprehensive since it was an hour and a half away from our house. When we visited Brookwood and met with the principal and staff we knew this was where my son belonged. They were familiar with his learning disability and knew how to help him. On his shadow day he brought home a completed assignment! I couldn't believe my eyes!! My son started at Brookwood Christian School on 9/15/2017. He was immediately placed in the schools reading programs, FastForword and Wilson Reading. Within two weeks my son read a whole sentence to his class!! By three weeks, he was reading three letter words!!! He has been at Brookwood for 2 months now and is reading big words like branch and shopping!! He was able to find a DVD last week by reading a title! I love watching my son read and the pride on his face when he finishes a story!!! The reward far out-weighs the 3 hours a day that we spend in the car. This school has changed his life and I am forever grateful.
- Posted by
5  12/8/2017
Brookwood Christian continues to be the answer to many tears and prayers for my daughters. Both of them were diagnosed with different Learning Disabilities that effected how they learned in a public school atmosphere. Through Brookwood's curriculum and the outstanding teaching staff, they are now thriving Freshmen and succeeding in school. Each staff member is invested in the children, and strives to provide a caring and compassionate learning atmosphere. I would highly recommend Brookwood Christian to any parent whose child is struggling in the traditional school atmosphere.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
March 01, 2018
Shootings, terrorist attacks, tornadoes, floods, earthquakes, fire, and more are sadly commonplace happenings in the 21st-century. How prepared for the unthinkable is your school?
February 21, 2018
Raising children involves constant attention to their development and progress. Identifying learning disabilities must be part of your plan.
February 19, 2018
Think of the school search process as a series of checkpoints, each of which has a due date. We show you when to do the various items in the search process.
Request Information
I am a:      
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Applying for financial aid?:
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Georgia is $8,665 for elementary schools and $11,427 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Georgia is 83% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).