Clare Woods Academy

5.00 5 1 (10 reviews)
Tel: (630)289-4221
  • Clare Woods Academy is a private alternative day school for students with special education needs.
  • We individualize each students needs in the areas of academic, emotional, vocational, occupational and speech and language therapies.Clare Woods Academy also offers students a very typical school experince by offering art, music, phyiscal education, compter training, vocational training, library arts and specialized reading instruction.

School Overview

School Type Special Education School
School Membership(s)School Assoc. Association of Independent Schools of Florida
Religious Affiliation Roman Catholic
Grades Offered Grades Kindergarten-12
Year Founded 1968

Student Body

Total Students 97 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
19%
State avg.: 31%
Students by Grade Clare Woods Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 15 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 6:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
83%
Average Class Size 10 students
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $27,280
Tuition Notes Tuition is reimbursed by the sending school district. Private pay is an option
Acceptance Rate
99%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director John Utterback

School Notes

    Show me:
    People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
    All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
    Show me:
    • School Location Miles Grades Students
    • Naperville
      Camelot Schools
      Special Education School
      Grades: 1-12 | 89 students
      7.2 miles
      1220 Bond St
      Naperville, IL 60563
      (630)355-0200
      7.21-12
      89
    • Riverdale
      Beacon Therapeutic School
      Special Education School
      Grades: 5-12 | 102 students
      27 miles
      12440 S Ada St
      Riverdale, IL 60827
      (708)388-3183
      275-12
      102
    • Elgin
      Grades: PK-12 | 418 students
      17.9 miles
      2700 W Highland Avenue
      Elgin, IL 60124
      (847)695-0310
      17.9PK-12
      418
    • La Grange Highlands
      Acacia Academy
      Special Education School
      Grades: 2-12 | 101 students
      13 miles
      6425 Willow Springs Rd
      La Grange Highlands, IL 60525
      (708)579-9040
      132-12
      101
    • Lisle
      Grades: K-12 | 59 students
      4 miles
      2500 Cabot Dr
      Lisle, IL 60532
      (630)864-3800
      4K-12
      59

    School Reviews

      5.00 out of 5  (10 reviews)
    5  7/12/2017
    This has been my son's 2nd yr of ESY summer school. He wouldn't stop talking about how he wanted to attend because the staff, and his friends were going. He has reached many goals, while attending ClareWoods Academy in Wheaton. Thanks to Mr. Utterback (principal) for his constant care of my child and other students there. He has seen much potential in my son, and has really made his transition from another school (which I won't mention) extremely rewarding. Never giving up on him, and instead mentoring him to do well. I can't say enough for this staff. They are amazing!!!! The love and care they put into each child is just a peace of mind for us parents. As a community we all need to work together to achieve our childrens best education and achieve their individual goals. And at ClareWoods, parents receive that support. Blessings to this staff and Mr. Utterback and Mr. Greske.
    - Posted by
    5  6/23/2017
    I am so happy we decided on Clarewoods Academy for my son. He not only has improved academically but has nDeveloped friendships . The friendships have blossomed so much that he now goes to the movies on the weekends to lunch ,and bookstores with his friends he met at Clare Woods. Thank You Principal Utterback and Staff for helping my son come out of the cocoon.
    - Posted by
    5  6/23/2017
    My son transferred in mid year after a disastrous year at his homeschool. It has been such a comfort to learn how much he CAN do instead of the incessant communication about what he couldn't do. The staff of Clare Woods as a whole has been welcoming , friendly, and collaborative. We noticied that on our tour all students and staff we saw smiled waved said hi... It is a very safe embracing environment that has allowed out Kindergartener finally be sucessful, even with a developmental delay! Could not be happier with the choice we made.
    - Posted by
    5  6/23/2017
    Clare Woods Academy has been a wonderful experience for our family. It has given my son resources that were not available in the public school setting and has given him the opportunity to learn in his own special way. The staff has always been fantastic and supportive. I love the fact that he participates in the musicals and productions twice a year. I would highly recommend Clare Woods Academy!
    - Posted by
    5  6/23/2017
    My son's home school is over 3600 kids which is too big for my son to be mainstreamed. He has improved socially and emotionally in the two years at Clare Woods. OT Community boys group is wonderful. Great teachers and support staff.
    - Posted by
    5  6/23/2017
    My wife and I are so happy that our son goes to Clare Woods Academy. He is being taught more than the 3 R's. He is learning life skills he needs to know in order to hold a job one day. We attended his IEP this past spring and he has met our exceeded his goals for the school year. His teachers and therapists are the greatest. The Spring and Winter musicals are a great program to expose the student to music and being in front of an audience. I have recommended this school to a family and now there son is in my son's class.
    - Posted by
    5  6/12/2017
    I love teaching here. Staff is great and very supportive.
    - Posted by
    5  6/12/2017
    Our base HS was too big and overwhelming for my child with autism. Since I moved him to Clare Woods a year and a half ago he is a different kid. He is happy and In a safe, individualized setting where he is learning and making friends. The staff is caring and supportive of our family as well.
    - Posted by
    5  6/12/2017
    This has been our 1st year at Clare Woods, and it's been amazing. My daughter's individual needs are met by highly qualified teachers and aides. The staff here see there work not as a job, but as a vocation. The class sizes are small which allows for great differentiation. My daughter used to say, "No school today Mom" *every* single morning in public school. Now she says, "Yessss!" when I tell her it's a school day. That alone speaks volumes. You won't find a more dedicated staff or welcoming environment. It's fantastic!
    - Posted by
    5  9/23/2014
    Highly recommend Clare Woods Academy to any family with a autistic child. My son and I have been treated like family. He has progressed so much in just a year academically and sociably. I am so elated we found Clare Woods Academy.
    - Posted by

    Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

    • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
    • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
    • Academic or athletic awards

    I am a:

    Name or Alias:

    Your review:

    Endorse this school:
    Recent Articles
    July 12, 2017
    Here are five facts about Montessori schools to bear in mind when exploring preschools and primary schools for your child.
    July 12, 2017
    What are the advantages and/or disadvantages of a for profit versus a not for profit school? Is one kind of school better than the other?
    Request Information
    I am a:      
    Email:
    Name of parent:
    Student First name:
    Student Middle name:
    Student Last name:
    Student date of birth:
    Student is:
         
    Currently in grade:
    Seeking entry for grade:
    Target start date:
    Name of current school:
    School type:
            
    Applying for financial aid?:
            
    Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
    Address:
    City:
    Country:
    State:
    Zip:

    (enter "N/A" if not applicable)
    Phone:
    Did You Know?
    The average private school tuition in Dupage County, IL is $5,271 for elementary schools and $11,364 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
    The average acceptance rate in Dupage County, IL is 94% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).
    Related School Videos