Courthouse Academy

previous
The premier private preschool in Virginia Beach
next
The premier private preschool in Virginia Beach
  • COURTHOUSE ACADEMY is known for "Academic Excellence in a Caring Environment".
  • COURTHOUSE ACADEMY offers many options to suit your needs. We accept infants through third grade. There are full day and extended day programs.
  • COURTHOUSE ACADEMY is the preeminent and only Spanish Immersion school in the area. Courthouse Academy "Prepares English Speaking Students to Become Bilingual Scholars."
  • Students in 2 and 3 year-old classes can be placed in Spanish immersion classes at the parents' discretion.
  • Students attending Pre-K through 3rd grade are all enrolled in Spanish Immersion classes.
  • In these classes students have one teacher who only communicates in Spanish with them, and their other teacher speaks and teaches in english.
  • Kindergarten is a full day program.  There are also extra-curricular activities for interested students.
  • Please call (757) 368-0368 or drop in at any time.

School Overview

School TypeEarly Childhood / Day Care
School Membership(s)School Assoc.National Association for the Education of Young Children
Other school association(s)
Virginia Association of Independent Schools (VAIS)
Grades OfferedGrades Nursery/Preschool-3
Year Founded1992
Summer School OfferedYes

Student Body

Total Students230 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
15%
State avg.: 26%
Students by GradeCourthouse Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers49 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio5:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
75%
Average Class Size16 students
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Advanced CoursesSpanish Immersion
Matriculation DataMatric. DataLink to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress CodeCasual

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Tuition NotesTuition is based on the program the child attends. The hours per day is also based on the class the child attends.
Acceptance Rate
99%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions DirectorJulia Salmon
Admissions AssociateKathy Hoppe

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.7 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Club or Organization:
Science

Arts and Music Programs:
Art

Recreational Athletic Programs:
Ballet, Hip Hop Dance, Jazz Dance, Soccer, Tap

School Notes

  • Academic Excellence in a Caring Environment
  • Part-time and full-time programs available
  • Beautiful Facility
  • Dedicated and Qualified Staff
  • Continuing education for teachers
  • State Licensed
  • Fire and Health Inspections
  • All staff background checked

Nearby Private Schools

All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Virginia Beach
    Tidewater Classical Academy
    Special Program Emphasis (Christian)
    Grades: PK-8 | 42 students
    1.4 miles
    1201 Rosemont Rd
    Virginia Beach, VA 23453
    (757)427-5683
    1.4 PK-8
    42
  • Virginia Beach
    Grades: NS-5 | 55 students
    1.6 miles
    1305 Windmill Point Crescent
    Virginia Beach, VA 23453
    (757)468-0099
    1.6 NS-5
    55
  • Virginia Beach
    Grades: NS-PK
    1.7 miles
    2032 South Independence Blvd.
    Virginia Beach, VA 23456
    (757)471-2221
    1.7 NS-PK
    n/a
  • Virginia Beach
    Rollingwood Academy
    Daycare / Preschool
    Grades: PK-KG | 34 students
    2 miles
    1752 Prodan Ln
    Virginia Beach, VA 23453
    (757)430-8244
    2 PK-KG
    34
  • Virginia Beach
    Beach Manor School
    Daycare / Preschool
    Grades: K | 40 students
    2.6 miles
    2660 W Neck Rd
    Virginia Beach, VA 23456
    (757)430-3338
    2.6 K
    40

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (25 reviews)
5  3/10/2018
I love Courthouse Academy. My daughter is in Spanish Immersion Kindergarten and my son is in the Twos' Classroom. The Spanish education my daughter is getting is very impressive. She comes home every day saying new things and now I have a bad feeling she's smarter than me! She has loved every teacher she's ever had and I sincerely believe they've had her education and development as their top priority from the moment they walk into the school in the morning. I also can't help but to smile that every time I pick her up at the end of the day it seems as though every teacher at the school knows her by name and says goodbye. This really shows to me how much the staff really cares about the kids we trust them with each day. Pair this with the times I pick her up at the end of the day and she doesn't want to leave...they've definitely got the school going right.Now my two year old son hasn't started speaking Spanish (yet) but I am very happy with the care he's getting. I have no doubt that he is going to benefit greatly from being at this school. The staff makes it very obvious that they care for his well being. They are doing great at laying down the foundation for his education. From starting shapes and colors, to behavioral keys like patience and sharing, they've got the right plan. I'm pleased with the involvement I get from their specific teachers. Any questions I may have are quickly addressed with obvious concern from the staff. I'm blown away each week as my kids seem to grow and learn so many new things. It's amazing to me the changes I see in them and the all the new things they can do. From reading, to coloring in the lines, to sharing, to writing and spelling, Courthouse Academy has done wonders for my kids and I can't wait to see what the coming years have in store for our family! Thank you all so much!
- Posted by
5  3/10/2018
This is my daughters fourth year at Courthouse Academy and all of her teachers have always been amazing! They genuinely care for their students and work so hard to bring out their potential. My daughter is learning more than I ever thought at this point. I had no idea that she would be conjugating verbs in Spanish in the first grade!!The leadership is amazing here!!! We love the principle!! Ms Julie is always right there in her office every morning as soon as you walk in with her door open and a smile on her face!!! She is so personable with everyone that comes through the door!!! We love her!! Everyone is always so friendly and happy to be there!! That really makes a big difference!I honestly can`t say enough good things about this school!!! I recommend it to everyone i know!!!! We can`t imagine her at any other school!! She loves it here!!
- Posted by
5  3/10/2018
I am glad to have found such compassionate care for my little guy! I appreciate all of the art and activities, even for the infants and toddlers!
- Posted by
5  3/10/2018
We have only been at Courthouse Academy a short time but the staff in the front office and in the infant classroom have been very welcoming. Everyone seems to really enjoy working there and that means a lot to a parent. I want my child to be around happy people who enjoy their job (especially since it involves taking care of my child all day). It is hard dropping off your 3 month old for others to take care of but the kindness of the teachers in her room make that as easy as possible. Thanks C.A.!
- Posted by
5  1/25/2018
Courthouse Has Been a Blessing For My Family! My Son Has Came Out of His Shell So Much! He is Picking Up Spanish So Well and Even Using It at Home! I Appreciate That the Staff Knows Every Child on a First Name Basis and Are Sooo Loving and Attentive to the Kids! This Gives My Husband and I Relief Knowing Our Son Noah is in Great Hands!
- Posted by
5  1/25/2018
Our oldest daughter started at Courthouse Academy when she was two years old. She now attends the Spanish Immersion Kindergarten Program at the school. Our second daughter started in the infant room and is now in the Spanish Immersion 3 year old program. Our son is currently in the infant room. Each of our children have flourished developmentally, socially and academically while attending Courthouse Academy. The teachers at this school truly care for each child and make learning fun and exciting each day. We truly have been amazed at what our children have learned. To hear them communicate (in simple terms at this point) in Spanish with each other is amazing. Our Kindergartener is already reading books to us and comes home excited each day to tell us what she has learned. On top of everything else, Courthouse Academy is a close knit family. Every day that I drop my children off at school, I know that they are going to be cared for and nurtured in a safe, positive, and fun environment. We know that we have made the right choice in sending our children to Courthouse Academy!~KG
- Posted by
5  1/25/2018
This school is so awesome we have only been with them a short time and have noticed so much growth in our daughter. I couldn`t ask for more.
- Posted by
5  1/25/2018
My daughter attended their preschool and my son has attended their school for the past two years. As an educator in the public school system, I highly recommend this school. They go above and beyond for each each child by making sure they have qualified teachers and different programs available for children. They also offer several different types of before and after school activities to keep students involved and to provide enrichment. They also promote community involvement by hosting food drives and most recently, gathering supplies for those affected by the hurricanes. Overall, we have had an excellent experience!
- Posted by
5  1/25/2018
This is my daughter's first year at Courthouse. She is in the 3's Spanish Immersion classes. At first, we were nervous that she wouldn't adapt as quickly to a school setting; however, her teachers and the admins are so great with the kids. She loved it after the first day! She says everyone in her class are her best friends including her teachers. They work on the basics with the 3's: numbers, letters, colors, cutting with scissors, hand eye coordination, writing/tracing, and music and art (I'm sure there's more that I didn't cover.) My daughter is in the Spanish Immersion class. Two months in she knew how to count to 10. Now she knows some of her colors (red, green, blue, yellow, black and white.) I love that they offer a variety of after school activities such as Mini Med School, Soccer Shots, and Rock-It Science...just to name a few. When you sign up for any of these extracurricular activities, they send you a weekly update on what they did that day. I'm not sure if all teachers use the Appletree app or something like it, but my daughter's teacher sends us daily updates on what they did in class that day AND pictures of all the kids. She also keeps us informed of future events, like if there is a bake sale, book fair, class party or school closings. I would highly recommend Courthouse Academy to any parent looking to enroll their kid.
- Posted by
5  1/25/2018
We have been at Courthouse since my daughter was 3, she is now 7. All 3 at my kids are at the school ranging from 1, 3 and 7 year old. We absolutely love the school, the teachers and staff. I never imagined that I would find a place that I would fell comfortable leaving them at. They are nurturing and care for the kids with so much love. My kids have been exposed to so many different cultures, traditions and have learned to value individuality because of the explore they get at school. I know that Vourthouse has made a huge impact in their lives. To say we love our school is an understatement.
- Posted by
5  1/25/2018
My son was in Kindergarten at Courthouse Academy. The curriculum that was taught was at a 1st grade level. His learning experience was exceptional. Although at times his homework was plenty, it prepared him for life in so many ways. He learned to read, tell time, count money, write full sentences, addition and subtraction, and how to do a class presentation. We absolutely love the staff and their warmth. I have my 3yr old there and plan for him to continue.
- Posted by
5  1/25/2018
My experience has been so wonderful at this school. My son is in the Spanish Immersion 2's and has been there since being in the infant room. Each classroom he has moved up to has been a wonderful experience. It's hard enough as is to leave your child, but it feels like I am dropping him off with family because we basically are. It is also hard as a working mother to sometimes feel like I am not doing enough "teaching" at home, and it is so so so nice to randomly here him start counting numbers, singing ABCS, knowing all of his colors, genuinely learning in a safe and loving environment, not just being "babysat" all day. I have always called this "going to school", not daycare, it just wouldn't be true!
- Posted by
5  1/25/2018
I have 3 children that are attending this school and I have nothing but great things to say about it. The teachers are very involved and the school is really an extension of our family. Our children are above grade level in many areas of learning and every day they come home excited about what they have learned in their regular studies or in their Spanish program. One of the best things about this school is the friendships my kids have formed and the social skills they are learning everyday.
- Posted by
5  1/25/2018
Courthouse Academy has been an amazing experience for our children. Everyday they enter the schools they are greeted by name and it seems that all the teachers (including staff for before and afterschool care) know all the children which leads to a very family atmosphere. The academics really pushes the children to learn. My children have flourish beyond my imagination with the instruction they received with some of the most dedicated teachers I've met. The administration is the backbone bone of this school. With their willingness to handle any concern one might have they keep this schools running smoothly. I feel very fortunate that we found Courthouse Academy I feel it gives our children a head start.T. Megenity
- Posted by
5  1/25/2018
Words cannot describe how fast our daughter is learning spanish. She comes home daily saying all the words she knows in spanish and asks us how to say other things in spanish. She is so excited every day to show us what she made that day or her classwork she worked on. These teachers are amazing. Thank you Miss Bianca and Miss Jennifer!
- Posted by
5  1/25/2018
My wife and I are very satisfied with the learning environment that has been put in place for our little angel. The curriculum has increased her vocabulary and communication skills. She also participates in ballet among the many enriching activities that the school provides. The school still maintains the same excellent standards that were in place for my oldest daughter. I highly recommend this school for your child.
- Posted by
5  1/25/2018
My son has been attending this school since June 2017 and I am impressed. From the staff to the educators this school gets an A+++. My son is 4 years old enrolled in the Spanish immersion program and is becoming very fluent in Spanish. He can count to 40 in Spanish and say complete sentences in Spanish. He has become more confident in his math, coloring, abs writing skills. I love Courthouse Academy.
- Posted by
5  1/25/2018
Moving to a new city when my husband is deployed with the Navy is hard enough, but having to secure employment, a place to live and a safe school for our son made the situation even more challenging. Prior to Courthouse Academy, I had my son in two different schools. What I experienced was heartbreaking. Too often, childcare providers are underpaid and undertrained and not qualified enough to work with children. This leads to high turnover, stressed staff and a low-quality level of childcare. What I experienced at other childcare institutions was a sharp difference between the theory and the practice. My son was not learning anything, he was often placed in groups with other children that were much older or younger just to "keep ratio" and there were too many hazards and cases of poor judgment. At Courthouse Academy it has been a true breath of fresh air. All the teachers and teacher`s aides seem to truly love and enjoy their jobs and many have been there for a long time. There is always plenty of staff at the front desk and they keep the children very safe. The building is extremely clean, safe and always freshly decorated with the children`s school work. The teachers are organized, talented and communicate very well with parents. The teachers communicate with the children and the parents from a place of love and it shows in everything they do. You simply cannot put a price on peace of mind. And with Courthouse Academy, I never have to worry about my son`s safety because I trust the administrators and the staff there very much. At Courthouse Academy my son comes home and tells me what he learns every single day. I am no longer hearing "I don`t know", or "I played", or "I went outside" from my son. He sings me new songs in Spanish and English, he tells me the new words he is learning, he shows me his school work, and most of all he tells me how loving and kind his two teachers are which warms my heart and makes me so happy.
- Posted by
5  1/25/2018
I have loved working at Courthouse Academy! I have been blessed with 3 amazing years in Kindergarten here at Courthouse. Each year different but in the end the same results. There is such a positive team of educators and administrators here at Courthouse. I have a love for education and I have never felt more encouraged than here at Courthouse. The administration team allows me to think out of the box and make learning fun, they have always supported me in my creative ways. They have given me the opportunity to share my love for education in a hole new light.
- Posted by
5  12/27/2017
This is my first year with Courthouse Academy and I am SO glad I found it! The school is a wonderful learning environment filled with happy faces! After teaching in Portsmouth Public Schools for the last two years I was run down and needed to find somewhere where I could be happy and rediscover my joy and love for teaching. C.A. is exactly what I needed; there are children eager to learn, teachers who genuinely love what they do, admin who go above and beyond, and parents who actually care and are involved in their children's education. I look forward to being a part of this wonderful school and growing with it!
- Posted by
5  11/9/2017
I want to take a moment to express our gratitude on how well the transitional has been putting our daughter into Courthouse. Having to put your child in daycare has several anxieties alone but having a great team at Courthouse made it much easier for us. I especially want to recognize all the teachers in the infant room- Last night I received a call from one of my friends frustrated at her daycare and their inconsistency with her babies teachers. It made me realize that we are very happy with ours! It gives our family a peace of mind when we see Emily smile and recognize them in the morning. We like that they provide us a lot of feedback with Emily and what she may need, even on days that may be more rough. I believe in the importance of a great team and I wanted to recognize that you have a great one in the infant room. Even the ladies on the other side of the infant room. They've all been very warm and approachable with us and you can tell they work HARD keeping the babies happy throughout the day. I know it's a hard job so I wanted to let them know we appreciate all of them!!!!
- Posted by
5  6/12/2017
My child has been going here since the toddler room and is now in the Pre-k room and we plan on keeping him here for kindergarten! The teachers are wonderful and we really love the Spanish immersion aspect it's great to hear our son teach us all the new words he has learned at school. The front office has always been receptive to any questions we have and we overall really love this school!
- Posted by
5  1/19/2016
I absolutely love this school. Our 3 year old son is in his 2nd year at Courthouse Academy and has learned so much there. The Spanish immersion classes that are offered are fantastic. My 3 year old counts up to 40 in Spanish, knows his colors and teaches me new words every week. The teachers and staff are so kind and actually care about the families attending (our son was admitted to the hospital and the welcome he received from his class when he returned was so heartwarming). I cannot say enough about this school. Thank you for making our son's first school experience a positive one- it will set him up for the rest of his life!
- Posted by
5  1/19/2016
I love Courthouse Academy! The teachers are wonderful with the children. They really connect at the kids level. My daughter has been a student there as a 2 year old, a 3 year old and a 4 year old and has participated in the Spanish immersion program each year. She loves going to school, loves her teachers and friends and has learned so much through her years there. I am impressed with the amount of Spanish she has learned over the 3 years and her accent when she speaks is spot on. Every week in addition to the regular curriculum, the children also participate in gym class, art class, music and computers. The management team is also easy to work with. Everyone there really seems to enjoy what they do and it shows. A. Sleigher
- Posted by
5  1/19/2016
My wife and I have been very satisfied with the quality of education provided to our children at Courthouse Academy. Our older daughter has flourished in their Spanish immersion program. The programs and activities she is involved in at Courthouse Academy, keep her excited about learning. Our younger daughter has benefited immensely from the infant, mini-toddler and now toddler classrooms. We love the focus on reading and language development that started in the infant classroom. As parents, we appreciate the friendliness, professionalism, and accessibility of the staff at Courthouse Academy.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
June 07, 2018
If you have the chance to move overseas, don't worry about educating your children. You have several options.
May 31, 2018
Sending your children to a summer program or camp keeps them active in fun-filled settings. We explore your options.
May 10, 2018
Sending your child to a single-sex school is one of several options you have when it comes to private schools.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Virginia Beach, VA is $12,099 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Virginia Beach, VA is 91% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).