Duchesne Academy Of The Sacred Heart

5.00 5 1 (4 reviews)
Tel: (713)468-8211
  • Duchesne Academy is a Catholic independent Pre K 12 all girl school.
  • It is a member of the Network of Sacred Heart Schools and as such is committed to educate students to a personal and active faith in God; a deep respect for intellectual values; a social awareness which impels to action; the building of community as a Christian value; and personal growth in an atmosphere of wise freedom.
  • Each student is helped to develop a positive self-image, the self-confidence to be a leader, and an acceptance and tolerance of others-talents particularly appropriate in our multicultural society.
  • Our commitment at Duchesne is to educate the whole person.
  • Therefore, we educate to faith, to intellectual values, to social awareness, to the building of community as a Christian value, and to personal growth in an atmosphere of wise freedom.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Coalition of Girls
National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Independent Schools Association of the South West (ISAS)
Texas Association of Accredited Private Schools (TAAPS)
Texas Catholic Conference Education Department
Religious Affiliation Roman Catholic
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten-12
Year Founded 1960

Student Body

Total Students 726 students
Student Body Type All-girls
% Students of Color
40%
State avg.: 35%
Students by Grade Duchesne Academy Of The Sacred Heart Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 93 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 8:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
70%
Number of AP Courses 16 courses
Average SAT score 1330
Average ACT score 27
Classroom Dress Code Formal

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline Jan. 15 / rolling
Tuition Notes Pre-K $14,403 K-4 $16,538 5-8 $18,305 9-12 $20,047
Admissions Director Beth Anchondo
Admissions Associate Alex Golden

Sports

Total Sports Offered 11 sports
Sports Basketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Field Hockey, Golf, Soccer, Softball, Swimming, Tennis, Track and Field, VolleyballBasketballCheering,
Cross CountryField Hockey,
GolfSoccer,
SoftballSwimming,
TennisTrack and Field,
Volleyball

School Notes

  • Duchesne Academy is a Catholic independent Pre K 12 all girl school. It is a member of the Network of Sacred Heart Schools and as such is committed to educate students to a personal and active faith in God; a deep respect for intellectual values; a social awareness which impels to action; the building of community as a Christian value; and personal growth in an atmosphere of wise freedom. Each student is helped to develop a positive self-image, the self-confidence to be a leader, and an acceptance and tolerance of others-talents particularly appropriate in our multicultural society. Our commitment at Duchesne is to educate the whole person. Therefore, we educate to faith, to intellectual values, to social awareness, to the building of community as a Christian value, and to personal growth in an atmosphere of wise freedom.

Profile last updated: 05/12/2016

Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Houston
    Incarnate Word Academy
    All-girls (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: 9-12 | 326 students
    7.9 miles
    609 Crawford Street
    Houston, TX 77002
    (713)227-3637
    7.99-12
    326
  • Houston
    St. Agnes Academy
    All-girls (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: 9-12 | 922 students
    6.1 miles
    9000 Bellaire Blvd
    Houston, TX 77036
    (713)219-5400
    6.19-12
    922
  • Houston
    Grades: PK-12 | 1206 students
    1.7 miles
    7455 Awty School Ln
    Houston, TX 77055
    (713)684-4850
    1.7PK-12
    1206
  • Dallas
    Ursuline Academy Of Dallas
    All-girls (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: 9-12 | 850 students
    228.3 miles
    4900 Walnut Hill Ln
    Dallas, TX 75229
    (469)232-1800
    228.39-12
    850
  • Houston
    Grades: PK-12 | 1375 students
    2.4 miles
    201 Kinkaid School Dr
    Houston, TX 77024
    (713)243-5040
    2.4PK-12
    1375

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (4 reviews)
5  5/17/2016
I have a lower school student and she loves going to school every day! The school treats every child with respect and my daughter feels so confident and comfortable at Duchense. Mrs. Montalbano is an amazing principal. She loves the kids and is always available to parents. She know each of the children personally and works the carpool line on many mornings where she greets the children with a huge smile. Academically it is challenging but they make it so fun that the girls don't feel like it is overwhelming! I would highly recommend Duchesne!!!!
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
As a seventh grader attending Middle School in Duchesne Academy, I must say that my experience is far better than any other school that I have ever attended. Coming to Duchesne as a fifth grader, it was clearly evident that Duchesne values academics above all. Being the best student among my peers in my old schools without breaking a sweat, I did not understand the importance of school and I did not care. However, coming to this school made me realize my long term goals and the importance of education. The learning environment is challenging enough for any student. Though Duchesne is Catholic-based, they will welcome any other religion with open arms. Because of Duchesne, I was able to participate in Duke TIP, and it was a truly amazing experience. Their sports are also fun and competitive, and the Fine Arts were amazing as well. All in all, as long as you don't care about your social status, you will surely have as great of an experience as I had in Duchesne.
- Posted by
5  5/23/2013
Amazing school is really intellectually stimulating
- Posted by
5  7/27/2012
Superior education both academically and in personal development. Quality Fine Arts program includes outstanding music, art, and theater programs; strong emphasis on development of relationships - solid, award-winning athletics'' offerings; highly recommend.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
May 15, 2017
Many famous children have attended private schools. Here is a sampling of schools and the famous folk who graced their hallowed halls.
May 11, 2017
As you narrow the field in your private school search process, you will develop a short list of three to five schools which you will evaluate in detail. Visiting each school is an essential part of your due diligence.
May 11, 2017
Learn more about the Private School Review "Ultimate Admissions Checklist," with top-flight tips from leading minds in education.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Houston, TX is $12,126 for elementary schools and $14,517 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Houston, TX is 85% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).