Fairhill School

5.00 5 1 (3 reviews)
Tel: (972)233-1026
  • Fairhill is a private, non-profit college preparatory school (grades 1-12) serving students with diagnosed learning differences such as Dyslexia, Dysgraphia, Dyscalculia, Auditory Processing Disorder, or Attention Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder. Fairhill's staff works to develop strategies to help individual students "learn to learn" through a multi-sensory approach to teaching, a small student/teacher ratio, and a warm, supportive atmosphere.
  • Students are taught to maximize their strengths and to employ tools and processes to minimize their weaknesses.

School Overview

School TypeSchool with Special Program Emphasis
School Membership(s)School Assoc.Other special emphasis association(s)
Southern Association Of Colleges And Schools (SACS)
Learning Disabilities Association of America (LDA)
AdvancED
Grades OfferedGrades 1-12
ADD/ADHD SupportYes
Learning Difference ProgramsYes
Learning Programs SupportedDyslexia, ADD/ADHD, Dysgraphia, and others.
Year Founded1971

Student Body

Total Students172 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
8%
State avg.: 35%
Students by GradeFairhill School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers31 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio6:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
60%
Average Class Size8 students
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Matriculation DataMatric. DataLink to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress CodeFormal
(Uniforms required)

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost$18,600
Tuition Notesvaries by grade level
Admissions DirectorCarla Stanford
Admissions AssociateVicki Lewis

Sports

Total Sports Offered10 sports
SportsBasketball, Bowling, Cheering, Cross Country, Football, Golf, Soccer, Tennis, Track and Field, VolleyballBasketballBowling,
CheeringCross Country,
FootballGolf,
SoccerTennis,
Track and FieldVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.5 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Club or Organization:
International Thesbian Society, National Art Honor Society, National Honor Society, Spanish Honor Society, Student Council

School Notes

  • Fairhill School is a private, non-profit, college-preparatory school for students grades 1-12 with diagnosed learning differences such as dyslexia, dysgraphia, dycalculia, ADD/ADHA and more.  By providing learning different students with personalized instruction, multi-sensory approach to learning, small student/teacher ratio, and a warm and supportive learning environment, students learn strategies for optimizing their strengths.
  • A Fairhill education is designed for the whole child, to develop a firm foundation in problem-solving and critical thinking skills that will enhance emotional, social, and academic development.  This approach allows LD students to build confidence and achieve academic success that they are unlikely to develop in another academic setting.
  • Fairhill School has year-round enrollment.  To schedule a tour, please contact us at 972.233.1026.  
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Dallas
    Shelton School
    Special Education School
    Grades: PK-12 | 905 students
    1.2 miles
    15720 Hillcrest Road
    Dallas, TX 75248
    (972)774-1772
    1.2PK-12
    905
  • Plano
     Great Lakes Academy
    Special Program Emphasis
    Grades: 3-12 | 126 students
    7.3 miles
    6000 Custer Rd. Building 7
    Plano, TX 75023
    (972)517-7498
    7.33-12
    126
  • Dallas
    The Winston School
    Special Program Emphasis
    Grades: K-12 | 162 students
    5.2 miles
    5707 Royal Lane
    Dallas, TX 75229
    (214)691-6950
    5.2K-12
    162
  • Richardson
    Bridge Builder Academy
    Special Education School
    Grades: K-12 | 33 students
    2.5 miles
    1221 W Campbell Rd, # 209
    Richardson, TX 75080
    (972)516-8844
    2.5K-12
    33
  • Dallas
    Dallas Academy
    Special Education School
    Grades: 1-12 | 197 students
    10.5 miles
    950 Tiffany Way
    Dallas, TX 75218
    (214)324-1481
    10.51-12
    197

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (3 reviews)
5  9/10/2017
Fairhill is exceptional. This is my 20th year of teaching. I`ve taught in urban, suburban, private, & public schools. By far, Fairhill has impressed me the most. The students are challenged. Class sizes are small. Students receive the attention and assistance needed. The athletic program and extra-curricular programs are strong and numerous. In addition, Fairhill has an advisory period where students receive executive functioning instruction and guidance. Also, a character ed program is put in place based off "Rachel`s Challenge." The students need this, for themselves personally and for their social interactions. Finally, Fairhill has trained all their employees in responsibility-centered discipline. This is a program by Larry Thompson who`s trained school personnel throughout the country. This program keeps the students accountable and the situations respectful. You won`t be disappointed with Fairhill. I`ve never worked with a better group of professionals who love what they do.
- Posted by
5  9/10/2017
We have been so pleased with Fairhill. They have an incredibly knowledgeable staff, but more importantly, they have an incredibly caring staff. Teachers helped my daughter become responsible, organized, and confident, which prepared her for college and the work place. She is even planning on going to graduate school! We believe part of this is due to the love for learning Fairhill instilled in her. They took away her fears about school, encouraged her, and helped her realize that dyslexia is a learning difference...not a learning deterrent. We are very grateful to Fairhill!
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
We have had our child at Fairhill since the 5th grade. This year he will be going into the 10th grade. There has been much help every step of the way. The teachers we have had have been very helpful, and when our child wasn't performing to expectations, we were notified and were able to arrange after school tutoring to help him get to level or beyond. Fairhill is not everyone's cup of tea. If you are a parent and care about your child, you must have a working relationship with the teachers and the administration. This is not a school where you drop them off and expect magic to happen. It takes a lot of work from the student, the teachers, and the parents to get the child to be a success. I can honestly say that if we had stuck to public school for our child, I would be writing a failure story and not a success story, because believe me, by the end of 4th grade, we were heading in that direction. I was frustrated as a parent. My son was frustrated as a student. His self esteem was going to trash. He wasn't getting the help he needed and everything he was being taught was teaching to the State mandated TAKS testing, instead of teaching him the reading, writing and arithmetic life skills he needs to get along in life. I can truly say we would not be dreaming about college right now if we had kept our son in public schools. However, by staying at Fairhill my son now has a chance to be a success in life.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
January 23, 2018
What is private school really like? Is there any truth to the rumors you keep hearing? Let's find out.
January 23, 2018
Depending on their family circumstances, our Presidents received a wide range of primary and secondary schooling.
January 23, 2018
A fascinating look at where our first Presidents went to school.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Dallas, TX is $7,963 for elementary schools and $16,850 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Dallas, TX is 72% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).