Bridge Builder Academy

previous
Bridge Builder Academy Photo #1 - We build bridges to success daily. Our mission is to assist students with unique learning styles and challenges to maximize their academic potential through individualized and customized educational plans.
next
Bridge Builder Academy Photo #1 - We build bridges to success daily. Our mission is to assist students with unique learning styles and challenges to maximize their academic potential through individualized and customized educational plans.
Bridge Builder Academy Photo #2 - Bridge Builder Academy students at the Johnson Space Center in Houston, TX. Out of over 3,500 schools with submissions to the NASA HUNCH program, BBA students pictured here with an American Astronaut won first place in the competition.
Bridge Builder Academy Photo #3 - Bridge Builder Academy receiving proclamations from the Texas House of Representatives, The Texas Senate and Governor Greg Abbott, along with a wonderful welcome from Mayor of Richardson Paul Voelker!
Bridge Builder Academy Photo #4 - Photo of Judge Cyndi Wheless speaking to new families. Because of our Special Ed Certified teachers, we work successfully with children that have many different learning differences including ADD, ADHD, Autism, Aspergers, Anxiety, Auditory Processing Disorder, Dyslexia Dysgraphia Dyscalculia, Dyspraxia, Gifted & Talented, Language Processing Disorder, Memory struggles, TBI and many others.
Bridge Builder Academy Photo #5 - The educational options at Bridge Builder Academy are highly customized specifically for your child. Your child?'s learning needs, learning styles, learning methods, learning locations, learning personalities & even the best times of day and days of the week are designed around what is best for them. We customize the what, when, where, and how specially for your child.
Bridge Builder Academy Photo #6 - Not only do we teach our students in one-on-one, we have group classes also, to help our students develop social-emotional skills, learn to work collaboratively and to develop long lasting friendships.
Bridge Builder Academy Photo #7 - Every student at Bridge Builder Academy is recognized as unique so we take a unique approach to teaching each of them. In our unique one-on-one teaching, we customize ALL aspects of each student's learning from the number of hours, days of the week, number of days, even a unique customized curriculum specifically for each student taught one-on-one.
Bridge Builder Academy Photo #8 - Bridge Builder Academy will stop at nothing to ensure that each of our students reach their full potential. We are the ONLY accredited school in the United States that does not have a "standard curriculum" that can be modified, but for each student at BBA a unique curriculum is created with no limits.
Bridge Builder Academy Photo #9 - Bridge Builder Academy offers electives for our high school students from Metalurigy, to Science of Cooking, from Golf to Psychology. We believe that every student can learn and every student can love to learn.
Bridge Builder Academy Photo #10 - Bridge Builder Academy has had at least 3 different students that have been recognized as an Eagle Scout. We are proud to teach social engagement and for all of our students to be active in the community in which they live.
For the 2nd year in a row the Dallas Morning News ranked us as the BEST Private School in the DFW area (2022 and 2023) - TOP RANKED 2022 Cognia School of Distinction Award In 2022 and 2023 our school as the Winner of NASA HUNCH program In 2022 and 2023, 1 of only 3 schools in the DFW area recognized as a 2022 and 2023 "School of Excellence" by the National Association of Special Education Teachers Most people know of at least one student whose unique needs are not being met by the traditional education system. Bridge Builder Academy customizes all aspects of your child's education to ensure that they are able to reach their full potential. Bridge Builder Academy is one of the Premier private school in the DFW area. We specialize in providing the highest quality of our Exclusive One-on-One instruction (never in groups) by customizing educational programs based on the individual needs of students. We develop programs based on the learning style and skill level of the student, not based on their grade level. Almost all of our teaching staff are CERTIFIED TEACHERS with many years experience. Our highly trained and qualified teachers work with students one-on-one, in the least restrictive and most comfortable environment
Our teachers are experienced and in teaching kids with learning differences and gifted/talented as well. Fully Accredited with: - Cognia (Advanc-Ed) - North Central Association Commission on Accreditation and School Improvement - Northwest Accreditation Commission - Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission - NCAA - TEPSAC - Texas Private School Association

Quick Stats (2024)

  • Top Ranked TX School
  • School Type: Alternative School
  • Grades: Kindergarten-12
  • Enrollment: 43 students
  • Acceptance rate: 65%
  • Average class size: 1 students
  • Application Deadline: None / Rolling
  • Source: Verified school update

Top Rankings

Bridge Builder Academy ranks among the top 20% of private schools in Texas for:

School Overview

Religious Affiliation
Grades Offered
Grades Kindergarten-12
ADD/ADHD Support
Yes
Learning Difference Programs
Yes
Learning Programs Supported
: ADD, ADHD, Aspersers, students all across the Autism Spectrum, Dyscalculia, Dysgraphia, Dyslexia, TBI, and Twice Exceptional, plus many other learning differences.
Year Founded
2006
Summer School Offered
Yes

Student Body

Total Students
43 students
Student Body Type
Co-ed
% Students of Color
67%
State avg.: 41%
Students by Grade
Bridge Builder Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers
40 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio
1:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
85%
Average Class Size
1 students
Advanced Courses
Art History, Calculus (AB & BC), Calculus AB 1, Calculus AB 2, Computer Science A, English Literature and Composition 1, English Literature and Composition 2, Environmental Science, Latin, Physics B, Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism, Physics C: Mechanics, U.S. Government & Politics, U.S. History 1, U.S. History 2
Average SAT score
1500
(Out of 1600)
Average ACT score
33
(Out of 36)
Classroom Dress Code
Casual

Tuition and Acceptance Rate

Admission Deadline
None / Rolling
Tuition Notes
Because every child has an individualized learning plan the tuition varies depending on the Educational Option (Full Time K-12, Public/Private School Augmentation, Homeschool Assistance, Homework Support, Supplemental & Developmental Enrichment
Summer Program Cost Notes
We do offer Summer programs for students to catch up with where they are in their learning with their peers PLUS we offer additional supplemental learning as well.
% on Financial Aid
10%
Acceptance Rate
65%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director
Andrea Dellepiane
Admissions Associate
Teresa A. Bronsky

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.
8 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.
Club or Organization:
Game Theory Club, NASA HUNCH, Robotics Club, Strategy Game Club

Arts and Music Programs:
Digital, Drawing, Painting, Sculpturing and other forms of Art

School Notes

  • Every student is taught one-on-one with a teacher at their level.
  • Bridge Builder Academy is a Full-Time Private School - We also provide Home School Support, Public School Supplementaryand Tutoring Center all in one.
  • Our students spend only 3 to 6 hours per day in the classroom
  • The average teacher is a CERTIFIED and HIGHLY QUALIFIED. We also have several COLLEGE PROFESSORS who teach our students with us.
  • We teach students that do not fit into traditional and/or private schools for many different reasons.
  • We teach students with learning differences.
  • We teach students who are Gifted and Talented.
  • We teach students that are "professional children" (these are children that are already working a careers, such asactors, actresses, singers, ice skaters, ballet dancer, or a career that simply doesn't permit them to attend traditional style schools for their education.)
  • We offer DUAL CREDIT courses.
Fully Accredited with: - Advanc-Ed - North Central Association Commission on Accreditation and School Improvement - Northwest Accreditation Commission - Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission
Source: Verified school update

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the acceptance rate of Bridge Builder Academy?
The acceptance rate of Bridge Builder Academy is 65%, which is lower than the national average of 84%. Bridge Builder Academy's acceptance rate is ranked among the top private schools in Texas with low acceptance rates.
What is Bridge Builder Academy's ranking?
Bridge Builder Academy ranks among the top 20% of private schools in Texas for: Highest average SAT score, Highest average ACT score, Lowest average acceptance rates and Highest percentage of faculty with advanced degrees.
When is the application deadline for Bridge Builder Academy?
The application deadline for Bridge Builder Academy is rolling (applications are reviewed as they are received year-round).

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (6 reviews)
5  
I am a Texas Certified Math Teacher and have been teaching math in the North Dallas Area since 2001. I have taught in Private Schools to Public Charter Schools. I have taught small classes to up to 30+-40 students. I have taught at 6 different schools and all grade levels from 4th Grade to 12th Grade (Precalculus, Statistics, Math Reasoning, Math Models with Applications). I started teaching at Bridge Builder Academy (BBA) in Richardson, Texas in January 2022. BBA is uniquely different in that students are taught one on one with their teachers. They get 100% of their teacher,s time, and focus during each one-hour lesson. Students are constantly working because there is no time to be distracted by other students, goofing off on their phones, tablets, laptops, etc. They can't just "hide" in a large classroom and get lost in the material, or be afraid to ask for help, etc. Most schools would have forced me to use a set of curricula but each individual's curriculum is designed according to what is best for the student to become successful based on their unique individual learning needs, styles, etc. I was approached by parents of students I taught at BBA's Graduation last May 2022 and they were thanking me for putting in the time to know their students, working with them, and helping them to do better in math. One student hated math, but the parents told me that in my 5 short months that they learned to appreciate it and like it. Another parent thanked me for her getting her son more than well-prepared for the upcoming school year. BBA offers parents and students a chance to have teachers work directly with their students in an individual one on one relationship. I had the freedom to be able to adjust individual learning. Yes, our tuition might be higher than other Private Schools. Make sure when you compare schools you look at how big the classes are. Are your teachers certified? Will your student get one-on-one support? Will the curriculum be developed for your child's unique skills or learning styles to be successful in life?BBA was recently awarded a GOLD MEDAL in the Dallas Morning New People's Choice Awards for the BEST PRIVATE SCHOOL in the DFW Area! Some schools talk about STEM, but have your students ever participated in a NASA Sponsored Contest? During the 2021-2022 school year, students from Bridge Builder Academy participated in the NASA Hunch program. Led by Mr. Michael Hays (BBA Teacher of the Year 21-22) students designed a prototype moon shoe "Lunar Loafers". They presented their original design during an event in November 2021 where NASA scientists evaluated their ideas and presentation. At this event, it was suggested that they pursue a patent for their product. Our students were selected to participate in the "Innovation Day" event in April 2022 at the Johnson Space Center. At this final event for the school year, they were awarded 3rd place in addition to winning a National Award for Design and Prototype.BBA has recently been selected by the National Association of Special Education Teachers (NASET) to be a 2022-2023 School of Excellence! BBA was the only school in Richardson and Plano, one of four in the DFW area, one of seven in the state of Texas, and one of 123 in the entire United States we are honored to receive this recognition! In 2019, Teresa A. Bronsky, Head of the School, was named a Member of the Continuing Advisory Committee for Special Education. With this appointment, she was able to help formulate the direction that Special Education would take in the state of Texas for the foreseeable future.
- Posted by
5  
Bridge Builder is a wonderful school with a terrific legacy of helping students just like my 2 kids. I will forever be thankful for their help. Both my kids graduated from college (the University of Missouri and the University of Texas in Austin) because of the effects of the staff and teachers at Bridge Builder Academy.
- Posted by
5  
This school changed my daughter's life. Before Bridge Builder Academy my daughter's future looked grim. My daughter is a 2e (twice exceptional) student and most schools have no clue how to teach a student that is both highly gifted and yet has learning struggles. The teachers and staff at Bridge Builder Academy helped and supported me as a parent while preparing my daughter for her future in a compassionate and understanding way that we had never experienced in any other school, private or public. I highly recommend them and I believe they can help you and your child just like they helped us and our daughter.
- Posted by
5  
I highly recommend Bridge Builder Academy. Our son enjoyed the school environment, all of the teachers, and the encouragement he received daily from everyone at the school. This was the best choice we could have made for my son's education. We are so proud that he has graduated and can continue his education at the next level.
- Posted by
5  
The shining proof for us that this was the perfect school for our son was the change in his behavior at school. He was in Special Education from pre-k to 7th grade in GISD. We had countless ARDs, Evaluations, meetings, and behavior plans. He would still lose his temper and have outbursts that would cause damage to school property. At Bridge Builder Academy, he NEVER had a single outburst. This is the single most substantial proof to us that BBA cares deeply about every one of their students and will tailor make a curriculum for your student! Our son just finished his school career at BBA and we will miss seeing them as we felt like it was a family-type relationship!
- Posted by
5  
I might be biased, but Bridge Builder Academy helped me so much. I hated school before I came here, but this staff changed it for me. Everything was customized to my needs, so even when I had medical issues, I didn't fall behind. I graduated in 2021 and already miss my teachers so much, but I am doing well at college due to this school.
- Posted by

Endorse Bridge Builder Academy. Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards
Endorse this school:

Recent Articles

Why Do Private Schools Get a Bad Rap?
Why Do Private Schools Get a Bad Rap?
The article encourages readers to look beyond stereotypes and consider the unique qualities each private school offers.
Unlocking the Future: The Power of STEAM Education
Unlocking the Future: The Power of STEAM Education
In this article we look at the benefits of a STEAM education, highlighting its interdisciplinary approach, the subjects involved, and the value it brings to students.
6 Schools and Their Beginnings
June 11, 2024
6 Schools and Their Beginnings
This article explores the rich histories of several prestigious schools in the United States, including the Allen-Stevenson School, Lycée Français de New York, Catherine Cook School, Shattuck-St. Mary's School, and The Spence School. It explores their origins, founders, growth, philosophies, and enduring legacies, highlighting their commitment to academic excellence and progressive education principles.

Quick Stats (2024)

  • Top Ranked TX School
  • School Type: Alternative School
  • Grades: Kindergarten-12
  • Enrollment: 43 students
  • Acceptance rate: 65%
  • Average class size: 1 students
  • Application Deadline: None / Rolling
  • Source: Verified school update

Request Information

Did You Know?

The average private school tuition in Dallas County, TX is $13,345 for elementary schools and $16,249 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Dallas County, TX is 78% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).

Related School Videos

Quick Links