Fredericksburg Academy

  • Our mission at Fredericksburg Academy is to inspire and empower our students to discover, to engage, and to imagine the limitless nature of themselves and the world.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Virginia Association of Independent Schools (VAIS)
Religious AffiliationNonsectarian
Grades OfferedGrades Nursery/Preschool-12
ADD/ADHD SupportYes
Year Founded1992

Student Body

Total Studentsn/a
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
31%
State avg.: 26%

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers55 teachers
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
57%
Average Class Size12 students
Number of AP Courses12 courses
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Advanced CoursesAP Biology AP Calculus AB AP English Literature and Composition AP European History AP Government and Politics: U.S. AP Latin: Vergil AP Physics B AP Psychology AP Statistics AP Studio Art: Drawing Portfolio AP U.S. History
Average SAT score1280
Average ACT score26
Matriculation DataMatric. DataLink to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress CodeCasual
(Friday denim days)

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Tuition NotesPlease visit www.fredericksburgacademy.org/admission/affordability for information on Indexed Tuition
% on Financial Aid
38%
Average Financial Aid Grant$5,827
Acceptance Rate
69%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions AssociateMarnie Schattgen

Sports

Total Sports Offered8 sports
SportsBasketball, Cross Country, Field Hockey, Golf, Lacrosse, Soccer, Swimming, TennisBasketballCross Country,
Field HockeyGolf,
LacrosseSoccer,
SwimmingTennis,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.16 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Club or Organization:
Discipline Committee, Global Explorers, Honor Council, International Club, Literary Magazine, Middle School Council, Newspaper, Peer Mediators, Robotics, Service Organization of FA, Student Government, Student Life Committee, Tour Guides, Yearbook

Arts and Music Programs:
Drama Productions/Musicals

Recreational Athletic Programs:
Running Clu

School Notes

  • Fredericksburg Academy is the only independent, college-preparatory, prekindergarten-12th grade school in a 50-mile radius. Our students come from the Fredericksburg area and from counties as far away as Westmoreland, Hanover, and Prince William to experience the opportunities provided by an FA education. Defining aspects of the Fredericksburg Academy experience are:
  • Lower School: differentiated math instruction, Responsive Classroom social curriculum, foreign language beginning in prekindergarten, musical performances in each grade, technology program including iPads and blogging
  • Middle School: 1:1 laptop program, peer mediation program, foreign language, overnight field trips, Global Explorers, no-cut athletics, advisory program, opportunities in the visual and performing arts, Chesapeake Bay ecology study
  • Upper School: 1:1 laptop program, Honor System, collegiate schedule, individualized college counseling, student leadership, Senior Exhibit (graduation requirement that includes internship/learning experience, application, and panel presentation), participation-oriented athletics, and opportunities in the visual and performing arts
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Fredericksburg
    Grades: PK-12 | 850 students
    4.7 miles
    9400 Thornton Rolling Road
    Fredericksburg, VA 22408
    (540)373-5355
    4.7PK-12
    850
  • Fredericksburg
    Grades: PK-8 | 46 students
    5.1 miles
    Po Box 5568
    Fredericksburg, VA 22403
    (540)374-1311
    5.1PK-8
    46
  • Fredericksburg
    Lighthouse Academy Of Fredericksburg
    Montessori School (Christian)
    Grades: NS-12 | 79 students
    3.7 miles
    10713 Tidewater Trl
    Fredericksburg, VA 22408
    (540)372-9699
    3.7NS-12
    79
  • Fredericksburg
    Grades: PK-12 | 337 students
    3.3 miles
    4105 Plank Rd
    Fredericksburg, VA 22407
    (540)786-4953
    3.3PK-12
    337
  • Fredericksburg
    St Patrick School
    (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: PK-8 | 210 students
    9.5 miles
    9151 Elys Ford Rd
    Fredericksburg, VA 22407
    (540)786-2277
    9.5PK-8
    210

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (9 reviews)
5  12/26/2017
We graduated two children from FA, both of which attended since Kindergarten. We couldn't have made a better investment in our children's futures. While attending they were supported academically and given many opportunities to try different sports, arts, and leadership roles. The left with the skills they needed to be successful in college and beyond. This is the best school in the area.
- Posted by
5  11/9/2017
I am proud to have been a part of Fredericksburg Academy since it opened in 1992, first as a parent and for the past 23 years, as an Upper School French teacher. The academics are stellar, the faculty is well prepared and encourages the students to stretch their imaginations and strive to reach their goals. Being a part of this school is like having an extended famliy. Every student has a personal relationship with his or her teachers. I am so glad my daughters had the opportunity to go to a private college preparatory school like FA, which prepared them to do well in their college years at UVa and in graduate school.
- Posted by
5  9/10/2017
Fredericksburg Academy has transformed my daughter! She is comfortable in her learning environment, confident in her abilities, and challenged in the classroom. We are so grateful to the incredible teachers whose partnership extends beyond education.
- Posted by
5  9/10/2017
FA has been part of our vocabulary since 2005. Our daughter is a rising Senior and will graduate as a citizen of the world. BEST decision we ever made!
- Posted by
5  9/10/2017
What an amazing environment in which to teach, learn, and grow! Fredericksburg Academy is a true community of students, faculty, families, and supporters that helps nurture the strengths of each and every student and staff member. The size of FA is key to this amazing community. As a teacher, I love the small class sizes and a population of students that is just the right size so that everyone in the student body and the faculty can know each other and support each other. Students and faculty are given the freedom and flexibility they need to succeed because FA recognizes that everyone is truly unique and needs different things in order to succeed.
- Posted by
5  2/26/2016
We have a 9th grader who just started at FA this school year. We chose FA because we were looking for a school that would engage our teenager on both an academic and social level, while providing him with a challenging academic experience. We were concerned that he would get lost in the shuffle at a large public school. He has been very happy there this year and we have been very impressed. The teachers are dedicated and very interested in the kids, are accessible and give detailed and helpful feedback, which is only possible when class sizes are small and intimate, as they are at FA. The student/teacher interaction and feedback that we have received have far exceeded our expectations, especially compared to what we used to receive in public school. Our main concern was that FA was too small, and that it would be hard for him to break into social groups since most of the students have known each other for quite a long time. He felt accepted from early on and is making friends. In addition, he is thriving in his classwork and is benefitting by being around a group of kids who are academically motivated to do well. We have been very happy with our decision.
- Posted by
5  1/1/2016
FA is an outstanding school for a variety of reasons. I'm impressed with the attention to detail, the small class size, the ability to teach outside the box and not to a standardized test, teacher to student ratio, the ability to provide in depth updates on your children at any given point, and the type of students FA seems to produce. FA is providing tools to each student so they can be citizens of the world. I would HIGHLY recommend FA to anybody looking for a quality education for their children or grandchildren.
- Posted by
5  1/1/2016
Our child has been at FA since preK and is now a sophomore. In addition to giving our kids a high quality education, every teacher at FA knows and cares about every student. Over the years, FA has implemented several security measures to help ensure the students' safety. The sports teams, theater productions and clubs have all been well managed and wonderful experiences for our child. FA provides many leadership opportunities, and the college counselor on staff has been extremely helpful as we gear up for college applications. And at FA, the parents have a voice. The head of school and all faculty and staff are accessible and responsive. FA has been the best possible school for our child in Fredericksburg.
- Posted by
5  2/28/2012
The quality of the educational environment and student - teacher interactions are exceptional. The teachers at all levels enjoy teaching and it shows in the students excitement about the school. Our daughter has been enrolled since Kintergarten and is now a sophmore. The positive environment and coaching show in the young lady she is becoming. We are proud of her and thank the faculty at Fredericksburg Academy.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
January 08, 2018
Changes to the Tax Code in late 2017 included the addition of saving for K-12 private school education to 529 plans. We take a look at what this means for families thinking about private school for their children.
January 07, 2018
From time to time we all wonder how things might have turned out if circumstances and situations had been different. We apply that questioning to private schools.
December 27, 2017
Hundreds of private schools, and for that matter, public schools, outside the United States will be happy to have you as a teacher for a few years.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average acceptance rate in Fredericksburg, VA is 87% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).