Gateway Academy

5.00 5 1 (8 reviews)
Tel: (850)547-9011
  • Gateway Academy is a private, 15-month, faith-based program for male teens, ages 12-17, who are struggling with addictions and/or experiencing out-of-control behaviors.
  • Gateway Academy provides a structured, military-like format accompanied by a recreational wilderness component,which adds stability and discipline for our students.
  • Our Biblical counselors provide guidance and support to our students on an individual basis where students receive character education alongside a comprehensive computer-based curriculum for their academics.

School Overview

School TypeAlternative School
School Membership(s)School Assoc.Accelerated Christian Education (ACE) or (School of Tomorrow)
Religious AffiliationPentecostal
Grades OfferedGrades 6-12
Year Founded1998

Student Body

Total Students53 students
Student Body TypeAll-boys
% Students of Color
6%
State avg.: 32%
Students by GradeGateway Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers3 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio18:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
18%
Average Class Size17 students
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Average ACT score19
Classroom Dress CodeFormal
(Students wear military uniforms special ordered by the center)

Finances and Admission

% on Financial Aid
4%
Average Financial Aid Grant$4,011
Admissions DirectorBarbara Rutledge

Sports

Total Sports Offered3 sports
SportsBaseball, Basketball, Cross CountryBaseballBasketball,
Cross Country

School Notes

  • Gateway Academy is a private, 15-month, faith-based program for male teens, ages 12-17, who are struggling with addictions and/or experiencing out-of-control behaviors.  Gateway Academy provides a structured, military-like format accompanied by a recreational wilderness component,which adds stability and discipline for our students.  Our Biblical counselors provide guidance and support to our students on an individual basis where students receive character education alongside a comprehensive computer-based curriculum for their academics.

Profile last updated: 03/02/2016

Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Live Oak
    Grades: 6-12 | 49 students
    167.8 miles
    Po Box 2000
    Live Oak, FL 32064
    (386)842-5555
    167.86-12
    49
  • Port Saint Lucie
    Grace Christian Academy
    Special Education School (Christian)
    Grades: PK-12 | 120 students
    406.7 miles
    590 Nw Peacock Blvd # 4
    Port Saint Lucie, FL 34986
    (772)905-8096
    406.7PK-12
    120

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (8 reviews)
5  5/17/2016
Our son needed the high structure Gateway provides students. They are different in that students work on only 2 to 3 classes at a time. It isn't as overwhelming and they see their progress faster. He's required to meet weekly goals and has consistent consequences if he doesn't. He's progressed from a boy who simply refused to do any school work to regularly being celebrated for his achievements at the monthly recognition. He always had the ability. Now he has the behavior that gets good grades.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
Our son would do just about anything to get attention from friends, even if said attention was negative. He was spiraling out of control before he went to Gateway Military Academy. Since he's been there he's learned a lot about how his choices have consequences, be it good or bad. He's doing a lot better now and I can't thank Gateway enough for the work they''ve done with him and our family.
- Posted by
5  5/12/2016
We considered several types of programs for our son, but when we found Gateway we knew we had found the right place. It matched our family's values. We felt comfortable on the campus. We could see how well our son would be provided for and how many wonderful things were happening with the other students on campus. Most of all, we felt sincerely loved, and we knew he would be loved too. Gateway is among the finest programs of its kind. We highly recommend it.
- Posted by
5  8/14/2014
The other kids at Gateway Military Academy had done or were dealing with the same things that were causing me so much trouble. I could share honestly what I felt and was always accepted for it. As I grew through the program, I got to help a couple of younger guys who had just started. I learned as much from them as I did from the guy who showed me around when I first came. It felt great to be a leader, to have someone look up to me for all the right reasons. I want to be a man of integrity so that someday my own kids can look up to me like that.
- Posted by
5  5/9/2013
As a long term volunteer and part time staff at Gateway Academy, my husband and I are very impressed with the quality of education provided to students, the disciplines taught, and the structure provided to young men who need these elements in their lives. Hurting young men and their parents are provided with training and support in a loving but structured environment.
- Posted by
5  2/21/2013
What a wonderful school! My son attended and love it!
- Posted by
5  10/27/2012
I am a single mom. I have stretched and sacrificed and given all I could to raise my son well. When I saw the crowd he was hanging around with and the choices he was making, I realized there was something missing. Gateway Military Academy stepped in to give him what I was not able to do myself: godly male role models, structure and consistency, and the best in educational opportunities. I count it a blessing that they helped me with the huge responsibility of parenting, and I know my son is the better for it
- Posted by
5  10/6/2012
I was so frustrated with my son, I was ready to kick him to a boot camp to straighten him out once and for all. Praise God, I found Gateway Military Academy first. The unconditional love mixed with the structure and responsibility were exactly what he needed to turn his life around. I even learned about boundaries and how to parent with consistency. We are both much better people because of his time at Gateway Military Academy.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
October 18, 2017
The Seattle area is home to many fine private schools as well as to major companies such as Microsoft, Boeing and Starbucks.
September 30, 2017
Scandals in private school are bound to raise questions for those of us thinking about sending our children to private school. Regardless of how sensational these scandals may appear, they are actually few and far between.
September 29, 2017
Parents have many reasons for deciding to take their children out of public school and enrolling them in private school. This circumstance is something which can happen at any stage of your child's education.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Florida is $7,069 for elementary schools and $8,866 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Florida is 87% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).