Glen Urquhart School

5.00 5 1 (4 reviews)
Tel: (978)927-1064
previous
next
  • At Glen Urquhart School, we encourage children to: Explore their intellects and develop their imaginations;
  • Pose questions as often as they devise solutions;  Speak individually, yet work collaboratively;
  • Discover the best within themselves;  Respect all people and value their differences; and
  • Act responsibly in our community and in the world.

Upcoming Events and News

  • GUS Students Practice Sustainability with Bees - 06/11/2017 - This year, Glen Urquhart School made the conscious decision to make its campus pesticide and herbicide free. With nature trails winding through its 23-acre campus, Glen Urquhart has always focused on the natural world.
  • GUS Students Engage in Week of Community Service - 05/14/2017 - As part of their service learning curriculum, eighth graders at Beverly`s Glen Urquhart School engage in a week of community service, globally, nationally or locally. A commitment to service has been part of the GUS program since its founding in 1977.
  • GUS's Ray Novack is Beverly's Music Man - 01/27/2017 - Music is my passion, and I love to share it with my students," claims Ray Novack, who has been a musical instructor and band director for as long as Glen Urquhart, founded in 1977, has been a school. Prior to becoming the band director at GUS, Novack was the c...more

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
State or regional independent school association
Grades OfferedGrades Kindergarten-8
Year Founded1977

Student Body

Total Students181 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
15%
State avg.: 23%
Students by GradeGlen Urquhart School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers30 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio6:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size15 students
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Matriculation DataMatric. DataLink to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress CodeCasual

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineJan. 31
Tuition NotesKindergarten: $19,900; first grade: $25,125 second and third grade: $25,500; fourth and fifth grade: $26,000; sixth and seventh grade: $29,600; and eighth grade: $32,600
Admissions DirectorKristie Gonzalez
Admissions AssociateEmily Rabinowitz-Buchanan

Sports

Total Sports Offered5 sports
SportsBasketball, Cross Country, Lacrosse, Soccer, Track and FieldBasketballCross Country,
LacrosseSoccer,
Track and Field

School Notes

  • Glen Urquhart School is an independent, co-educational day school for students in kindergarten through grade eight located on a 23-acre campus in Beverly Farms, Massachusetts.
  • The GUS program is built on posing questions, making meaning, and solving problems creatively. How does one discipline inform another? Where do literature, science, mathematics, language, music, art, and history intersect? This integration is the very essence of our interdisciplinary curriculum.
  • Each grade at GUS is focused on a different theme. The themes, which have been carefully chosen to correlate with age-related social, emotional, and intellectual development, tie together every subject a child is studying and provide context for exploration. At GUS, students do not learn in silos. Rather, they encounter subjects through essential questions presented by the year's theme.In addition to learning how subjects relate to each other, children discover how they, as students, relate to learning. No classroom project is complete until our students have reflected on what they learned, where they struggled, and how they soared. Understanding how they learn propels GUS students to develop their own thinking and articulate what they know about both the curriculum and themselves.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Beverly
    Grades: PK-9 | 434 students
    3.7 miles
    545 Cabot Street
    Beverly, MA 01915
    (978)927-1700
    3.7PK-9
    434
  • Beverly
    Grades: 6-12 | 164 students
    1.6 miles
    35 Standley Street
    Beverly, MA 01915
    (978)927-8793
    1.66-12
    164
  • Manchester
    Grades: PK-8 | 374 students
    1.1 miles
    One Brookwood Road
    Manchester, MA 01944
    (978)526-4500
    1.1PK-8
    374
  • Beverly
    Grades: K-6 | 64 students
    4.1 miles
    35 Conant St
    Beverly, MA 01915
    (978)921-2888
    4.1K-6
    64
  • Beverly
    HARBORLIGHT MONTESSORI
    Montessori School
    Grades: NS-8 | 296 students
    2.5 miles
    243 Essex Street
    Beverly, MA 01915
    (978)922-1008
    2.5NS-8
    296

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (4 reviews)
5  5/13/2017
Five reasons why this school is outstanding and why we send our child to GUS.1. Student to teacher ratio is amazingly low due to the co-teacher model. In addition, there are five other special subject teachers and the children attend these classes biweekly. I have observed extensive one-on-one teaching and each child is given individual mentoring and coaching. In addition there is time to attend to the all the students, encompassing their own unique developmental needs. 2. The schools policies are top notch - including safety, honesty, and respect for each individual. A super important and wonderful policy surrounds the use of technology. It is not relied upon to fill in due to lack of school resources, nor are cell phones allowed to be powered on by students within the school grounds.3. A focus of the curriculum is on teaching kids to communicate and understand one another using honesty and empathy. The children have certain times of the week they focus on social and emotional growth and development. When situations arise that require attention, a great deal of effort is made to help children work out their own solutions with support.4. Children learn to advocate for others and for themselves. The curriculum integrates time for learning to speak up for and stand up for those who need additional support.5. A really special highlight is that our children learn to speak and perform individually and collectively in front of groups - ranging from their peers in small groups to assemblies in front of the entire school.We are fortunate to have discovered GUS and that we are able to send our child to GUS!
- Posted by
5  3/22/2017
We were trying to decide between the tailored, child-centered focus and academic rigor of a private school, and the diversity, community and openness of a public school. We found both, and even more at Glen Urquhart. From the first moment of our visit, we were struck by the creativity and goodness that permeate every nook and cranny of this magical campus. 3 years later, our daughter is thriving in every way we could have hoped for: academically, creatively and socially. If you are seeking a place where the educators genuinely care about each child, and work to bring out the best in them, look no further. GUS is your place.
- Posted by
5  3/22/2017
I have two girls who are getting two very different experiences at GUS. One wanted to leave her previous school in order to be challenged more academically. The other was a child who could easily have floated through school undetected just as she would have liked. In such a small school the teachers make an effort to give extra challenges and more importantly there is time to study concepts in BREADTH with time for students to ask questions and explore within each concept. The curriculum based around social emotional growth is pivotal for both girls as the middle schooler feels her way through all the things that go along with that age and my younger daughter is learning to feel comfortable enough with herself and her peers to be daring academically. She is learning how to fail and feel comfortable/want to learn how to do it better the next time. The close connection between the teachers and every single student brings the commitment to academics to a much higher level for both the students and the teachers. It is a school that has a family/camp feel and everyone is just that much more invested in the experience. Beyond that, I have been incredibly impressed with the unique way they introduce math at all levels including first the concept then working on the process of crunching the numbers so that math first becomes an understandable concept to the children before they even more to the numbers. I like how there is emphasis on a diverse range of specials including dance, music, computer science, library, PE, art, Spanish, Latin, and maker space. The population of families at GUS makes me feel very grounded and I think the families that send their children are more focused on sending them there for the quality of the experience and education rather than the image of the school. The group of staff at GUS seem highly committed to not only the students but also to their own growth within the school so that they can provide the best learning experience possible for the students.
- Posted by
5  3/22/2017
I made the decision to move my third grader from public school to GUS because I was looking for a more enriching environment for him. I was first impressed with the variety of experiences, from learning a language to the opportunities for practical learning through field trips. Once we made the transition I was even more impressed with the warmth of the community. In just a few months we have experienced such a strong sense of belonging. GUS is the whole package - strong, varied education and a true community experience.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
September 05, 2017
If you live outside the United States, choosing an American private school can be a confusing process. Here is an overview of the process.
September 05, 2017
Never lose sight of why you are planning to send your child to private school. This list of ten considerations will help you focus on the things which matter.
September 04, 2017
Use this hub to keep track of the steps in the private schools' admission process.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Essex County, MA is $13,196 for elementary schools and $34,672 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Essex County, MA is 71% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).
Related School Videos