Greenville Classical Academy

previous
Students, Faculty and Staff September 2016
next
Students, Faculty and Staff September 2016
  • K4-12th grade clasical Christian School  Greenville Classical Academy's mission is to glorify God (Deum Glorificare) through the provision of a rigorous classical education that transforms its students into discerning followers of Jesus Christ.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI)
Association of Classical and Christian Schools (ACCS)
Christian Schools International (CSI)
Religious AffiliationChristian
Grades OfferedGrades Prekindergarten-12
Year Founded2004

Student Body

Total Students204 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
10%
State avg.: 14%
Students by GradeGreenville Classical Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers32 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio6:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
50%
Average Class Size14 students
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Average SAT score1355
Average ACT score31
Classroom Dress CodeCasual
(Khaki or Navy bottoms and white, navy or burgandy tops)

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Tuition NotesK4 $165.67/month for 12 months K5 $406.67/month for 12 months 1st-6th $608.34/month for 12 months 7th-12th $660 per class annually
% on Financial Aid
17%
Average Financial Aid Grant$3,000
Acceptance Rate
95%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions DirectorNancy Blough
Admissions AssociateEric Woernle

Sports

Total Sports Offered4 sports
SportsBasketball, Cross Country, Soccer, VolleyballBasketballCross Country,
SoccerVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.2 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.SALT (Service Activity Leadership Team), Yearbook Yearbook, SALT (Service Activity Leadership Team),

School Notes

  • We are Greenville Classical Academy. We are classical, educating our students using a three-stage liberal arts curriculum compelling our students to develop a well-trained mind.We are Christian, educating our students to glorify God by integrating their faith with education.We are committed, educating our students to maximize their God-given abilities and talents equipping them for life.Greenville Classical Academy offers a Christ-centered education for grades K4-12 that exists to assist Christian parents in the Greenville, SC area in their duty to train their children by providing academic instruction for their children that is distinctly Christ-centered, classical, and biblical. The Upper School is a University-Model School in which students in 7th - 12th grades may enroll full-time using a college-style schedule or take individual courses as a homeschooled student.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Greenville
    Grades: PK-12 | 776 students
    2.8 miles
    829 Garlington Road
    Greenville, SC 29615
    (864)678-5107
    2.8PK-12
    776
  • Simpsonville
    Grades: PK-12 | 1045 students
    1.1 miles
    2211 Woodruff Rd
    Simpsonville, SC 29681
    (864)234-7575
    1.1PK-12
    1045
  • Simpsonville
    Five Oaks Academy
    Montessori School
    Grades: NS-8 | 231 students
    3.4 miles
    1101 Jonesville rd
    Simpsonville, SC 29681
    (864)228-1881
    3.4NS-8
    231
  • Greenville
    Grades: K-12 | 1099 students
    6.3 miles
    245 Cavalier Drive
    Greenville, SC 29607
    (864)299-1522
    6.3K-12
    1099
  • Greenville
    Grades: PK-12 | 417 students
    10.6 miles
    875 State Park Road
    Greenville, SC 29609
    (864)233-0556
    10.6PK-12
    417

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (4 reviews)
5  5/17/2016
I have attended GCA for nearly 11 years now, and it's truly a part of me. Now in tenth grade, I joined GCA in its first year, and have been able to watch it grow and expand as I grow in stature in knowledge. Proverbs 22:6 says, "Train up a child in the way he should go; even when he is old he will not depart from it." At the heart of it, this is what I feel to be the true goal of GCA--to prepare their students for college, the workforce, and, most importantly, life everlasting. Greenville Classical has taught me many things over the years, through both the people and material. They have taught me to think critically, be diligent, and serve my Lord, with plenty of inside jokes, fun events, and memorable experiences along the way. I thank God (and I''m sure my parents do as well) for placing me at Greenville Classical Academy. I will never forget the times I had there, the lessons learned, or the friends I made along the way.
- Posted by
5  4/9/2012
Love GCA! Besides giving my children the learning tools needed to succeed in life, GCA integrates the subject matter beyond the classroom walls. Putting their knowledge into action with the tools learned creates confidence when introduced to a new situation. I am so thankful for GCA teaching not only knowledge, but also teaching application within a Christian environment. If you are seeking a school that treats each child as their own, then you have found your school, Greenville Classical Academy!
- Posted by
5  2/28/2012
GCA provides a wonderful classical education with God in the center of all subjects! My children have attended this school for 3 years now and we LOVE it. The teachers are more like family and give children the personal attention they need to succeed. The principal and the other staff are also wonderful. It really is a hidden gem in the Greenville area. I would encourage any one who is interested in a classical, Christian education for your K4-12th grader to attend one of our many open houses. You may find the dates for those at www.greenvilleclassical.com.
- Posted by
5  1/28/2012
We are in our 8th year at GCA, and both of our children love their school and their teachers. We drive about 30 minutes each way to take our children to GCA, because we love this school so much!
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
September 30, 2017
Scandals in private school are bound to raise questions for those of us thinking about sending our children to private school. Regardless of how sensational these scandals may appear, they are actually few and far between.
September 29, 2017
Parents have many reasons for deciding to take their children out of public school and enrolling them in private school. This circumstance is something which can happen at any stage of your child's education.
September 29, 2017
Here are a dozen or so girls' schools' public thoughts about themselves and their missions.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Greenville County, SC is $6,708 for elementary schools and $6,486 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Greenville County, SC is 90% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).