Sappo School

5.00 5 1 (5 reviews)
Tel: (631)736-2146
previous
next
  • Our mission at Sappo School is to strategically create an atmosphere that promotes academic excellence through an individualized approach to learning.
  • Full potential is realized by identifying and developing the social, emotional and academic systems of each individual.
  • Sappo School provides the students an academically invigorating environment which allows them to explore learning and embrace challenges with confidence.
  • We believe in shaping the members of our global society into citizens of the world who are able to face the future with strength of character and human purpose. SHAPE Strategies support the Educative Holism philosophy that is based on our Brain Work Program.

School Overview

Grades Offered Grades Kindergarten-12
ADD/ADHD Support Yes
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported Learning Styles differentiation, Giftedness, Anxiety, Dyslexia or Mild Disabilities
Year Founded 1994

Student Body

Total Students 82 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
5%
State avg.: 30%
Students by Grade Sappo School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 16 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 5:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
90%
Average Class Size 10 students
Classroom Dress Code Casual
(Uniform Requires: Khaki pants and Polo Shirt with Sappo Logo)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $15,000
Tuition Notes *Tuition varies according to grade and program*
Average Financial Aid Grant $3,000
Acceptance Rate
80%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Michael Sauer, Director
Admissions Associate Rebecca Gehrkin

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 9 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Art Club, Basketball Intramural, Instrument Lessons, Peer Tutoring and Mentorship Committee, Photography Club, SAT Prep: Math & English, Student Government, Vocal Lessons, Yearbook Committee Art Club, Vocal Lessons, Basketball Intramural,
Instrument Lessons,
Peer Tutoring and Mentorship Committee,
Photography Club,
SAT Prep: Math & English,
Student Government,
Yearbook Committee,

School Notes

  • Sappo School receives public accolades for the ability to raise the level of learning for all students as an innovative Regents school. The faculty is trained through an active research department to address individuality discovered through Learning Style and Personality Type Assessments. Parents form an organization that works closely with the faculty. Our Metholdology includes
  • Academic rigor with individual supports
  • 10/5 Program for Attention Span Improvement
  • 4:1 Commendation-Criticism Ratio for Positive Regard
  • Brain Work research and application
  • Career Assessments
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Saint James
    Grades: 6-12 | 126 students
    6.1 miles
    541 Long Beach Road
    Saint James, NY 11780
    (631)686-1600
    6.16-12
    126
  • Stony Brook
    Grades: 7-12 | 370 students
    8.7 miles
    1 Chapman Parkway
    Stony Brook, NY 11790
    (631)751-1800
    8.77-12
    370
  • Hicksville
    Grades: 9-12 | 950 students
    15.5 miles
    98 Cherry Ln
    Hicksville, NY 11801
    (516)433-2900
    15.59-12
    950
  • West Islip
    Grades: 9-12 | 1706 students
    10.8 miles
    1170 Montauk Highway
    West Islip, NY 11795
    (631)587-8000
    10.89-12
    1706
  • Smithtown
    Grades: PK-6 | 358 students
    3.6 miles
    211 Brooksite Drive
    Smithtown, NY 11787
    (631)265-4177
    3.6PK-6
    358

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (5 reviews)
5  4/8/2017
My son started this school in 9th grade. He was failing academically in public school, resisted to going to school, and often had somatic complaints to get out of school. We transferred him to Sappo, and his whole persona changed. He thrived at school, was excited to go, became a mentor for other students, and realized he could succeed. It was the best decision we made to move him.
- Posted by
5  3/22/2017
I have the pleasure of writing this review as a member of the faculty at Sappo School. Everyone has a deep understanding of the needs of the students, and the size of the student body affords the teachers the luxury of getting to know just about every child who attends. The director, Mr. Sauer, has never lost sight of the fact that he was once a classroom teacher, which is very important if a school is to run smoothly. I recommend that anyone who thinks he or she has a child who may benefit from this school, come on down! Carole Wilk
- Posted by
5  3/22/2017
I Instruct the Computer Science STEM program at Sappo School. STEM provides students with the ability to explore science, technology, engineering and math by solving real-world problems.It is project-based learning approach designed to engage students in an investigative journey through authentic problems. Sappo School provides both a safe and motivational learning environment that I am proud to be a part of.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
The Sappo School has been a safe haven for my son that has anxiety and ADD. The teachers and all faculty are patient, understanding, and truly wonderful. This school has changed my son's outlook on education and school in general. Sappo School has changed our lives as a family 100 fold. The daily stress of just getting to school is gone and our days are peaceful as a result.
- Posted by
5  8/18/2015
My granddaughter attended Sappo School an graduated from there. Being free from all negative distractions, her grades went right back to where they once were-all A's. She left knowing who she was and how her own learning style could benefit her through Sappo's Brain Work program. I represent my entire family when I say that this advanced school program should set the pattern for other schools to follow. Thank you, Sappo!
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
April 21, 2017
Making your job application easy to read will help your application make the first cut.
April 20, 2017
Private high schools offer strong college counseling programs which are ongoing and fully integrated into the daily activities.
April 19, 2017
As you narrow the field in your private school search process, you will develop a short list of three to five schools which you will evaluate in detail. Visiting each school is an essential part of your due diligence.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Suffolk County, NY is $7,036 for elementary schools and $22,158 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Suffolk County, NY is 81% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).