Sappo School

5.00 5 1 (5 reviews)
Tel: (631)736-2146
previous
next
  • Our mission at Sappo School is to strategically create an atmosphere that promotes academic excellence through an individualized approach to learning.
  • Full potential is realized by identifying and developing the social, emotional and academic systems of each individual.
  • Sappo School provides the students an academically invigorating environment which allows them to explore learning and embrace challenges with confidence.
  • We believe in shaping the members of our global society into citizens of the world who are able to face the future with strength of character and human purpose.

School Overview

Grades OfferedGrades Kindergarten-12
ADD/ADHD SupportYes
Learning Difference ProgramsYes
Learning Programs SupportedLearning Styles differentiation, Giftedness, Anxiety, Dyslexia or Mild Disabilities
Year Founded1994

Student Body

Total Students82 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
15%
State avg.: 29%
Students by GradeSappo School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers16 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio5:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
90%
Average Class Size10 students
Number of AP Courses8 courses
Classroom Dress CodeCasual
(Uniform Requires: Khaki pants and Polo Shirt with Sappo Logo)

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost$15,000
Tuition Notes*Tuition varies according to grade and program*
Average Financial Aid Grant$3,000
Acceptance Rate
80%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions DirectorMichelle Bowers, Director
Admissions AssociateMonje Moore

Sports

Total Sports Offered4 sports
SportsBadminton, Basketball, Cross Fit, Flag FootballBadmintonBasketball,
Cross FitFlag Football,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.9 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Club or Organization:
Peer Tutoring and Mentorship Committee, Photography Club, SAT Prep: Math & English, Student Government, Yearbook Committee

Arts and Music Programs:
Art Club, Instrument Lessons, Vocal Lessons

Recreational Athletic Programs:
Basketball Intramural

School Notes

  • Sappo School receives public accolades for the ability to raise the level of learning for all students as an innovative Regents school. The faculty is trained through an active research department to address individuality discovered through Learning Style and Personality Type Assessments. Parents form an organization that works closely with the faculty. Our Metholdology includes
  • Academic rigor with individual supports
  • 10/5 Program for Attention Span Improvement
  • 4:1 Commendation-Criticism Ratio for Positive Regard
  • Brain Work research and application
  • Career Assessments
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Saint James
    Grades: 6-12 | 126 students
    6.1 miles
    541 Long Beach Road
    Saint James, NY 11780
    (631)686-1600
    6.16-12
    126
  • Stony Brook
    Grades: 7-12 | 370 students
    8.7 miles
    1 Chapman Parkway
    Stony Brook, NY 11790
    (631)751-1800
    8.77-12
    370
  • West Islip
    Grades: 9-12 | 1706 students
    10.8 miles
    1170 Montauk Highway
    West Islip, NY 11795
    (631)587-8000
    10.89-12
    1706
  • Smithtown
    Grades: NS-8 | 286 students
    3.6 miles
    211 Brooksite Drive
    Smithtown, NY 11787
    (631)265-4177
    3.6NS-8
    286
  • Melville
    St Anthonys High School
    (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: 9-12 | 2522 students
    6.8 miles
    275 Wolf Hill Rd
    Melville, NY 11747
    (631)271-2020
    6.89-12
    2522

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (5 reviews)
5  4/8/2017
My son started this school in 9th grade. He was failing academically in public school, resisted to going to school, and often had somatic complaints to get out of school. We transferred him to Sappo, and his whole persona changed. He thrived at school, was excited to go, became a mentor for other students, and realized he could succeed. It was the best decision we made to move him.
- Posted by
5  3/22/2017
I have the pleasure of writing this review as a member of the faculty at Sappo School. Everyone has a deep understanding of the needs of the students, and the size of the student body affords the teachers the luxury of getting to know just about every child who attends. The director, Mr. Sauer, has never lost sight of the fact that he was once a classroom teacher, which is very important if a school is to run smoothly. I recommend that anyone who thinks he or she has a child who may benefit from this school, come on down! Carole Wilk
- Posted by
5  3/22/2017
I Instruct the Computer Science STEM program at Sappo School. STEM provides students with the ability to explore science, technology, engineering and math by solving real-world problems.It is project-based learning approach designed to engage students in an investigative journey through authentic problems. Sappo School provides both a safe and motivational learning environment that I am proud to be a part of.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
The Sappo School has been a safe haven for my son that has anxiety and ADD. The teachers and all faculty are patient, understanding, and truly wonderful. This school has changed my son's outlook on education and school in general. Sappo School has changed our lives as a family 100 fold. The daily stress of just getting to school is gone and our days are peaceful as a result.
- Posted by
5  8/18/2015
My granddaughter attended Sappo School an graduated from there. Being free from all negative distractions, her grades went right back to where they once were-all A's. She left knowing who she was and how her own learning style could benefit her through Sappo's Brain Work program. I represent my entire family when I say that this advanced school program should set the pattern for other schools to follow. Thank you, Sappo!
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
January 23, 2018
Depending on their family circumstances, our Presidents received a wide range of primary and secondary schooling.
January 23, 2018
A fascinating look at where our first Presidents went to school.
January 23, 2018
Depending on their family circumstances, our Presidents received a wide range of primary and secondary schooling.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Suffolk County, NY is $6,927 for elementary schools and $23,204 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Suffolk County, NY is 82% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).