The Island School

  • At The Island School, every child matters.  Our mission is to educate each of our children; we nourish their innate curiosity, inspire a lifelong enthusiasm for learning, and foster respect and appreciation for themselves and others.
  • We provide a place where it is safe for children to risk, to learn, and to dream.
  • Our wish for the children who come to work with us is that they take away a quiet confidence in themselves and what they can accomplish.
  • A developmentally appropriate curriculum in all subject areas provides the most flexible framework for encouraging our students to develop lifelong skills as critical thinkers, self-motivated learners and independent decision makers.
  • While building a solid academic foundation, we seek creative approaches to educating our young students and search for innovative responses to meet the varied needs of our students.

School News

  • Family tradition at The Island School - 12/23/2015 - Three members of The Island School`s original 1977 Board of Trustees have grandchildren now enrolled in The Island School.
  • The Island School artists paint gift for wildlife shelter - 06/24/2016 - The Island School Art Club created an animal cutout photo board as a gift for the West Sound Wildlife Shelter. Visitors to the shelter's events can pose as animals from our forests. The school`s grounds are a National Wildlife Federation Certified Wildlife Hab...more
  • Showing love for the Earth: Earth Day at The Island School - 04/28/2015 - During a special two-day Earth Day event, The Island School students celebrated the importance of protecting the environment. On April 21, students added native plants to the grounds at the school, including Nootka Rose, American Cranberry, Maidenhair ferns an...more
  • Kitsap County announces Earth Day Award winners - 04/13/2015 - The 2015 Partner in Environmental Education award is given to 5th Grade Teacher Mike Derzon, The Island School. The Island School has successfully completed Washington Green Schools certification in five categories. In 2014, the Island School became the first ...more

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.State or regional independent school association
Grades OfferedGrades Kindergarten-5
Year Founded1977

Student Body

Total Students88 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
27%
State avg.: 27%
Students by GradeThe Island School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers12 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio7:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size15 students
Classroom Dress CodeCasual

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
% on Financial Aid
30%
Admissions DirectorJoan Henderson

School Notes

  • The Island School is an independent school for students in kindergarten through fifth grade. Our mission is to educate each of our children; we nourish their innate curiosity, inspire a lifelong enthusiasm for learning, and foster respect and appreciation for themselves and others.
  • Spanish, art, music, dance and physical education are core parts of our educational program.
  • A developmentally appropriate curriculum in all subject areas encourages our students to develop lifelong skills as critical thinkers, self-motivated learners and independent decision makers. While building a solid academic foundation, we seek creative approaches to educating our young students and search for innovative responses to meet the varied needs of our students.
  • Each grade has a classroom teacher and an assistant to support learning, except in fifth grade, which has two team-teachers. Our faculty is comprised of seven classroom teachers, seven specialists, seven teaching assistants, and an administrative and support staff of five.
  • At The Island School, students and families are welcomed and embraced as part of our diverse community. Thoughtful, interesting people are drawn to our school because they value the important role a caring community plays in the lives of children and families. At The Island School, every child matters.
  • Our school is nestled among the trees on Bainbridge Island. The campus is designed for teaching children of this age, and includes spacious light-filled classrooms, an art studio, a library full of books, an indoor courtyard, a kitchen, a theater, a gym, and a playfield with surrounding woods. Our campus is a certified Backyard Wildlife Sanctuary.
  • Students, parents and teachers are committed to reducing our environmental and carbon footprint. Together we have earned a Platinum certification (highest) from Washington Green Schools.
  • The Island School students come from Bainbridge Island and the greater North Kitsap area. Nearly 25% of our students come from the Kitsap Peninsula.
  • Over $2,500,000 has been awarded in financial aid to an average of 22% of our families over the course of our history.
  • Breakfast Club and Extended Day provide affordable supervision of children beginning at 7:30 a.m. before school and until 6:00 p.m. after school.
  • The Island School is the only elementary school on Bainbridge Island and in all of Kitsap County accredited by the Northwest Association of Independent Schools.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Bainbridge Island
    Grades: PK-8 | 92 students
    3.1 miles
    1310 Madison Avenue N
    Bainbridge Island, WA 98110
    (206)842-2017
    3.1PK-8
    92
  • Bainbridge Island
    Montessori Country School
    Montessori School
    Grades: NS-6 | 144 students
    2.1 miles
    10994 Arrow Point Drive Ne
    Bainbridge Island, WA 98110
    (206)842-4966
    2.1NS-6
    144
  • Bainbridge Island
    Grades: K-8 | 37 students
    3.8 miles
    6974 Island Center Road NE PO Box 10160
    Bainbridge Island, WA 98110
    (206)842-6510
    3.8K-8
    37
  • Port Orchard
    Bethany Lutheran School
    (Other Lutheran)
    Grades: NS-8 | 116 students
    11.8 miles
    151 Tremont St
    Port Orchard, WA 98366
    (360)876-1300
    11.8NS-8
    116
  • Bremerton
    Grades: K-9 | 183 students
    9.1 miles
    1516 5th St
    Bremerton, WA 98337
    (360)373-5162
    9.1K-9
    183

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (3 reviews)
5  7/19/2017
The Island School is a true gem with exceptional teachers and staff. Each student is treated as an individual, invested in, and taken care of - academically and socially/emotionally. The Island School is the elementary school I wish I went to and can't wait to send our little toddler there when his time comes!
- Posted by
5  6/23/2017
I am a current parent and also an alumni of The Island School. As a student I remember caring, attentive teachers in a welcoming environment where curiosity and fun while learning was the norm. Nearly 30 years later I see my own child blossoming in this same amazing environment. When I hear "Mom, I love school; it feels like my second home", it made me so grateful for this phenomenal little school.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
The Island School is a remarkable private school. We have two children currently enrolled and a preschooler that can't wait for her turn. The teachers know and love our kids and challenge them in meaningful ways every day. Our kids are mad when they are sick and can't go to school! It is a magical place.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
October 18, 2017
The Seattle area is home to many fine private schools as well as to major companies such as Microsoft, Boeing and Starbucks.
September 30, 2017
Scandals in private school are bound to raise questions for those of us thinking about sending our children to private school. Regardless of how sensational these scandals may appear, they are actually few and far between.
September 29, 2017
Parents have many reasons for deciding to take their children out of public school and enrolling them in private school. This circumstance is something which can happen at any stage of your child's education.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Kitsap County, WA is $5,264 for elementary schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Kitsap County, WA is 91% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).
Related School Videos