Silverwood School

5.00 5 1 (13 reviews)
14000 Central Valley Rd NW
Poulsbo, WA 98370
Tel: (360)697-7526
  • "Where learning and imagination are fostered; where children are challenged and cherished." The community of Silverwood School believes in the potential and curiosity of every child.
  • Rooted in the relationships of teachers to students and the school to its families, Silverwood strives for a balance of structure and spontaneity, responsibility and opportunity, and discipline and discovery.

School Overview

School Type Alternative School
School Membership(s)School Assoc. Northwest Association of Accredited Schools
Grades Offered Grades Kindergarten-6
Year Founded 1984

Student Body

Total Students 51 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
10%
State avg.: 27%
Students by Grade Silverwood School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 8 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 6:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
50%
Average Class Size 10 students

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $9,624
Tuition Notes Listed tuition is for 2015-2016
% on Financial Aid
29%
Average Financial Aid Grant $4,500
Acceptance Rate
80%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Jon Torgerson
Admissions Associate Sara Adams

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 3 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Kids Care Club- Giving back to the community, Running Club, Yearbook Club Running Club, Yearbook Club, Kids Care Club- Giving back to the community,

School Notes

  • individual attention.
  • hands-on, active learning.
  • loving teachers.
  • 18 acre campus with 5 buildings, mini-field, playground, pond, meadow & stream.
  • Curriculum includes Art, music, science, physcial education
  • 1 computer for every 2 students - fully networked
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Bainbridge Island
    Montessori Country School
    Montessori School
    Grades: NS-6 | 144 students
    3.9 miles
    10994 Arrow Point Drive Ne
    Bainbridge Island, WA 98110
    (206)842-4966
    3.9NS-6
    144
  • Bremerton
    Grades: K-12 | 301 students
    6.8 miles
    4012 Chico Way NW
    Bremerton, WA 98312
    (360)377-7700
    6.8K-12
    301
  • Port Orchard
    Discovery Montessori
    Montessori School
    Grades: PK-8 | 99 students
    10.8 miles
    1026 Sidney Avenue # 160
    Port Orchard, WA 98366
    (360)337-5745
    10.8PK-8
    99
  • Bremerton
    Grades: K-8 | 18 students
    7.8 miles
    5088 NW Taylor Rd
    Bremerton, WA 98312
    (360)377-4542
    7.8K-8
    18
  • Bainbridge Island
    Grades: K-8 | 37 students
    6.2 miles
    6974 Island Center Road NE PO Box 10160
    Bainbridge Island, WA 98110
    (206)842-6510
    6.2K-8
    37

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (13 reviews)
5  5/17/2016
I can't imagine my son getting a better elementary school experience, anywhere. He has excelled at everything, and his growth in math is outstanding. The guidence from his teachers has been very affirming for him. He wouldn't be the young man he is today without the experience of attending Silverwood.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
Our son started at Silverwood in 1st grade and is now in 5th. The teachers are excellent and he is flourishing. His teachers have been able to encourage him to push beyond just "getting it done" and make him want to do exceptional work. He goes beyond his class projects and continues to learn even after the project at school is over. He is encouraged to shine, and I know that he's getting a foundation that will last him a lifetime. Private school is a sacrifice, but Silverwood is well worth the short term sacrifice for the long term results.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
Silverwood School is changing my daughter's life. My daughter was lost in a sea of students and standardized testing. She was being labled as just below average but good enough to pass. She got the message loud and clear. She started acting the part. Now that she is at Silverwood she is learning to love learning again. She is finding her own pace and her own path. She is feeling her individuality and embracing what makes her special. This place is a valuable choice in our community.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
Silverwood School's motto is "Challenge and Cherish", and I have found that to be true every day for my son. He has attended Silverwood since 1st grade and is now in 6th grade, his final year. Every one of the outstanding teachers knows him as an individual and helps him to achieve his best work, in everything from math and science to art and reading. He is light-years beyond where he would be in a public school at this point in his life, and I know that the foundation Silverwood has helped him build will give him a strong base for success in his future education and life.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
Silverwood's motto to "Challenge and Cherish" is manifested each and every day in the way the staff and faculty interact with their students. Students are challenged in every subject at a level that keeps them on a “comfortable edge” – pushing them to succeed beyond their expectations and inspiring them to discover new interests and pursue their individual passions. Students learn to investigate the world around them while building skills that allow them to truly excel in the world beyond the walls of Silverwood. Students are cherished at Silverwood because they are viewed as an individual – a child with his or her own distinct set of skills, talents, and opportunities to grow. The staff works together to support every family throughout their time at Silverwood and nurture personal relationships that result in a collaborative community for each and every student. In short, Silverwood is the village it takes to raise a child.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
Silverwood School has continually challenged my daughter academically. The teachers are amazing in accommodating her individual level and truly caring about her growth. She comes home with an exciting story everyday whether it is an adventure in the woods or exploring "Noun Town" in the classroom.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
My daughter has attended Silverwood School since first grade and is now in sixth grade. She has really thrived at this school. She is able to excel at the subjects she is naturally good at and has gotten help in subjects when help was needed. The teacher are in tune with what the kids need.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
My son and I think Silverwood is the best school in Kitsap County, without a doubt. My son is in his 3rd year. “Playing in the woods is the best part of the school”, says my video-game addict who rather goes outside when at home. Teachers who truly care and challenge my son, are the reasons that causes us to forego other things so he can attend. I strongly recommend any parent interested in getting the best education for their child, to contact Silverwood School.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
Silverwood is, by far, the best place to get the kind of education that encourages continued lifelong learning, self-actualization, creativity, and resilience. I feel incredibly lucky to have the opportunity to challenge and cherish every child who enters the classroom and to work collaboratively with families through very open and consistent communication. Our close-knit community lends an atmosphere of risk-taking, empathy, and critical thinking/problem-solving in all academic subjects and character development. Our 18-acre wooded campus offers a unique environment for kids to get up close and personal with nature and find their true individual path. Silverwood is truly where creativity takes root! This is where kids learn to grow with grace and confidence!
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
I wish we could put into words what Silverwood School really means to us. Our child had such anxiety about going to school when he was in public school that he shut down completely. Now he is happy and thriving! His academics are great & the teachers know him as an individual. They know what stresses him, they know how to help him work through that...they know when to push him & when to give him a break. They believe in him and in his ability to become his best self. And when he has an "off day", they separate the child from the behavior...something that is difficult to do & rare to find. These teachers really do love the children & the whole school works diligently to build a beautiful sense of community. They are always happy to talk about the needs of each child & help us figure out how to give them the best educational experience they can have. When they say Silverwood is a place where children are "Challenged and Cherished" they mean it. I cannot say enough good about them. If you want your child to have a warm, challenging, creative school experience that will teach them to be independent & confident learners... this is the place for you!
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
Silverwood School is a treasure in the woods. The 18-acre campus allows students to take their learning outside and apply their lessons to the world around them. Silverwood is a school that creates independent, confident individuals, with a sense of who they are and the difference they can make in the world around them. As a teacher, this is a place where I can meet the specific needs of each student and get to know them as individuals. Silverwood makes learning engaging and exciting by honoring student creativity and allowing for personal interests to be incorporated into the many project-based assessments. Silverwood is a place where students know they can always come back be welcomed with open arms.
- Posted by
5  6/25/2013
My unobtrusive, bright son who was ignored at previous schools because "he was no problem" is flushing and really coming into his own at Silverwood. In addition the outstanding academics, the kids gain a sense of self and maturity which one rarely sees in kids this young. The tuition and 50 miles a day in driving well worth it!
- Posted by
5  3/16/2012
Silverwood is a wonderful school where my son has thrived by leaps and bounds socially, educationally and emotionally. The teachers give him the one on one time he needs and we are so happy that we have found such a great place for him to be!
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
July 12, 2017
Here are five facts about Montessori schools to bear in mind when exploring preschools and primary schools for your child.
July 12, 2017
What are the advantages and/or disadvantages of a for profit versus a not for profit school? Is one kind of school better than the other?
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average acceptance rate in Poulsbo, WA is 90% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).