The John Crosland School

5.00 5 1 (10 reviews)
5146 Parkway Plaza Boulevard
Charlotte, NC 28217
Tel: (704)365-5490
  • There are places in the world that are special and beyond description.
  • The John Crosland School happens to be just such a place.
  • We are a community of teachers, learners and creators that have bound together to craft an educational experience for children with learning disabilities and Attention Deficit Disorder that transcends "school". The mission of The John Crosland School is to provide students in grades K-Post-Graduate, who have specific attention and learning differences, the individualized education to achieve their highest potential.
  • The school creates an environment that nurtures and protects what we value most in our children: their curiosity, talents, character, humanity, and dreams. Our vision is that we be an innovative pioneer in the attention and learning disabilities fields.
  • Crosland is now one of the leading independent schools in the U.S. for creating academic success, and has helped more than 3000 students achieve their full potential.

School Overview

School TypeSpecial Education School
School Membership(s)School Assoc.National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Southern Association Of Colleges And Schools (SACS)
Grades OfferedGrades Kindergarten-12
ADD/ADHD SupportYes
Learning Difference ProgramsYes
Learning Programs SupportedLD, ADHD, Dyslexia, Processing Disorders, Reading, Math and/or Written Expression Disorders, etc.
Year Founded1978
Summer School OfferedYes

Student Body

Total Students90 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
27%
State avg.: 19%
Students by GradeThe John Crosland School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers20 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio5:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size10 students
Advanced CoursesAP Calculus AB
Classroom Dress CodeCasual
(Solid colored collard shirts, no graphics, all Crosland t-shirts and sweatshirts,solid bottoms)

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Tuition NotesTuition is on website.
% on Financial Aid
26%
Average Financial Aid Grant$9,400
Admissions DirectorPortia York

Sports

Total Sports Offered5 sports
SportsBasketball, Cross Country, Flag Football, Golf, TennisBasketballCross Country,
Flag FootballGolf,
Tennis

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.5 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Chess Club, Please visit our website for more information on extracurriculars, Service Project Club

Club or Organization:
After School Enrichment Activities (i.e. karate, crafts, etc.), Girls Groups

School Notes

  • The first school in the Charlotte region dedicated to helping children with learning disabilities and ADHD
  • K-12 college preparatory school
  • Dually accredited by SACS and SAIS
  • Post-Graduate Year Program
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Charlotte
    The Fletcher School
    Special Education School
    Grades: K-12 | 267 students
    9.1 miles
    8500 Sardis Rd
    Charlotte, NC 28270
    (704)365-4658
    9.1K-12
    267
  • Nashville
     BENTON HALL ACADEMY
    Special Education School
    Grades: 3-12 | 56 students
    335.6 miles
    5555 Franklin Pike
    Nashville, TN 37220
    (615)791-6467
    335.63-12
    56
  • Raleigh
    The Fletcher Academy
    Special Education School
    Grades: 3-12 | 115 students
    136.1 miles
    400 Cedarview Court
    Raleigh, NC 27609
    (919)782-5082
    136.13-12
    115
  • Hope Mills
    Flaming Sword Campus
    Special Education School (Christian)
    Grades: NS-12 | 133 students
    113 miles
    3230 Legion Rd Hope Mills NC 28348
    Hope Mills, NC 28348
    (910)764-3500
    113NS-12
    133
  • Charlotte
    Grades: K-12 | 974 students
    10.5 miles
    6050 Hickory Grove Road
    Charlotte, NC 28215
    (704)531-3589
    10.5K-12
    974

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (10 reviews)
5  5/9/2018
After just 6 months my sons self-efficacy in his ability to learn was fully recovered. He feels he belongs and actually looks forward to going to school. We have found the teachers and staff to be nurturing and responsive.
- Posted by
5  5/6/2018
This is my daughters first year of high school and she was so nervous about starting a new school. The support of the teachers has been absolutely outstanding. They are willing to try new things to help my child grow and learn at her own pace. They also value and respect my input as a parent. Her communication skills have steadily increased making her such a well rounded student. Definetly come to the open house events and you will get a small look into this amazing school.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
JCS (formerly Dore Academy) has been a god send for us and our son. He has been with this schooll since fourth grade and now a senior. They have been able to teach him in ways he can learn. He once couldn't do homewrok and thes tress was incredible. He lives much more stress free and is doing great. The secret to JCS is it's wonderful teachers. We are in a beautiful new builing in a great location.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
Our dzaughter has learning deficiencies in math and reading. She was struggling in the public school system to the point that we knew we had to make a change. The John Crosland School has been an absolute blessing. She's in her 6th year at Crosland, now in high school and loves it. More importantly, she's excelling academically! The teachers and staff are amazing and truly dedicated to educating these great kids. Great School - highly recommended!
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
The John Crosland school has turned around my daughter's academic life. She went from struggling in school and getting C's and D's to becoming a straight A student. The smaller classroom sizes, the knowledge of the teachers on how to redirect her wandering mind, the ability to teach in the way that she learns - all have been contributing factors to her success. The school is a beautiful example of what is meant by the phrase "its takes a village to raise a child". Teachers, staff, and other parents all band together to ensure that every child sees their way to academic success. School events are of high quality, the athletic program is amazing, music and art program are outstanding, and the facilities are exactly what is needed to provide a well rounded program. Visit The John Crosland school, feel the love and hear about the program. Its a community unlike any other I''ve experienced.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
The John Crosland School has allowed our daughter the ability to soar educationally by offering smaller classroom sizes with a low teacher to student ratio. The teachers are all deeply committed to the success of their students by offering tutoring and openly communicating educational success plans with parents. I also appreciate the collaborative nature in which the parent council collaborates with the parents as they are committed to building a John Crosland parent Community. The John Crosland School has allowed our daughter to focus on strategic thinking skills through emphasis on athletics and the arts. I could not be happier with our experience at the John Crosland School.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
My wife and I are delighted to have found this school for our son. This is his third year and he is thriving educationally and emotionally. The teachers are excellent educators who are nurturing but challenging. Indeed, since becoming a Crosland student, his aptitude in math and science has shot up exponentially. There also a number of extracurricular activities that are available. He enjoys karate. Overall, just a great school!
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
JCS is a wonderful place to work with some truly terrific kids. The teachers are compassionate, friendly, and patient. The PTO is super involved and helps to create and maintain a collaborative environment that enables the students to succeed.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
My son is learning disabled and is in his sixth year at The John Crosland School. Simply put, I could not imagine him attending any other school. The faculty and administrative staff are highly qualified, caring and attentive. It has been a wonderful experience, and my son has benefitted enormously. I highly recommend Crosland!
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
No review yet, but would like to visit the school and meet the faculty.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
May 10, 2018
Sending your child to a single-sex school is one of several options you have when it comes to private schools.
May 10, 2018
Sending your children to a summer program or camp keeps them active in fun-filled settings. We explore your options.
April 19, 2018
We take a detailed look at the three popular early childhood methods to help you determine which one best suits your needs and requirements.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Charlotte, NC is $13,929 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Charlotte, NC is 74% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).