The Stanley Clark School

5.00 5 1 (6 reviews)
Tel: (574)291-4200
previous
next
  • Students at The Stanley Clark School are inspired toward excellence in academics, arts, athletics and character.
  • We take critical thinking and creativity to the next level in an environment that nurtures accountability to self and others.
  • Students discover thier unique strengths and passions, are encouraged to develop those gifts and leave ready to inspire others.
  • Discover how The Stanley Clark School has been inspiring excellence for more than 50 years.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
State or regional independent school association
Religious AffiliationNonsectarian
Grades OfferedGrades Prekindergarten-8
Year Founded1958
Summer School OfferedYes

Student Body

Total Students323 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
9%
State avg.: 17%
Students by GradeThe Stanley Clark School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers40 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio8:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size14 students

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Admissions DirectorMichelle Kuehn

Sports

Total Sports Offered10 sports
SportsBasketball, Bowling, Cross Country, Dance, Fencing, Golf, Ice Hockey, Soccer, Tennis, VolleyballBasketballBowling,
Cross CountryDance,
FencingGolf,
Ice HockeySoccer,
TennisVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.5 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Club or Organization:
MathCounts, Science Olympiad, Speech Team

Arts and Music Programs:
Band and Orchestra, Chorus
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • South Bend
    Grades: PK-12 | 193 students
    2 miles
    5715 Miami St
    South Bend, IN 46614
    (574)291-3620
    2 PK-12
    193
  • Mishawaka
    Grades: KG-8 | 317 students
    2.9 miles
    230 S Spring St
    Mishawaka, IN 46544
    (574)255-5554
    2.9 KG-8
    317
  • South Bend
    Grades: PK-8 | 378 students
    0.9 miles
    1015 E Dayton St
    South Bend, IN 46613
    (574)289-4535
    0.9 PK-8
    378
  • Elkhart
    Grades: PK-12 | 505 students
    14 miles
    25943 County Road 22
    Elkhart, IN 46517
    (574)293-1609
    14 PK-12
    505
  • Granger
    Grades: PK-3 | 30 students
    6.3 miles
    53494 Fir Rd
    Granger, IN 46530
    (574)273-9987
    6.3 PK-3
    30

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (6 reviews)
5  5/6/2018
The small class sizes at Stanley Clark benefit our children immensely, year by year, and we have profound respect for the arts program lately, watching our oldest child experience the pleasures and opportunities for growth in drama and chorus. Stanley Clark has most certainly received us as family. The school enriches the lives of our children and our family on a daily basis!
- Posted by
5  3/10/2018
We are so happy that we chose Stanley Clark for our children. The staff provide exceptional attention and care for each student, with small class sizes and an enriching environment where students are able to grow, learn and thrive. The emphasis on character and leadership development, along with a focus on sciences, art, music, and foreign languages are just a few of the qualities that make SCS stand out. We're confident that our children are in the right place and look forward to growing with the SCS community.
- Posted by
5  3/9/2018
We have been so happy with our experience at Stanley Clark. I am an alumna as well as a parent, so my husband and I knew that Clark offers the finest preschool/elementary education in the area, but I was floored at how far the school has come over the years. Our preschool and kindergarten-aged daughters are being taught by well educated specialists in art, music, movement/gym and so much more. I feel confident when I drop them off in the morning that they are loved as they are at home, and it's clear that they feel Clark spirit and pride. One of the best things about Clark is that you send your kids to school with children whose parents are also focused on quality character and academic education. This is a place where it is "cool" to be smart and kind, as it should be!
- Posted by
5  12/15/2017
If you're looking for a great quality education for your child along with the availability of music, art, sports, foreign languages, clubs, before/after school care, then Stanley Clark School should be #1 on your list. The teachers, staff and the facilities are great. Small class sizes, friendly staff, caring teachers, great learning experience for years to come. Stanley Clark School is a great foundation academically/athletically for any child.
- Posted by
5  12/15/2017
When jobs at Notre Dame brought us to South Bend a few years ago, we found a preschool place at Stanley Clark for our son, who felt at home there right away. He's really shy, so Clark, where all the students (and staff, too) make an effort to know and use everyone's name, has been a great fit from day one. The academic programs, support, and attention to each child's talents and challenges, are brilliant, and the teachers, both "homeroom" teachers, but also the art, music, movement, PE, and language teachers, all really engage with the kids (and I love that from preschool the kids have specialist art teachers, language teachers, music teachers, etc., as the level of education is really high). We've been at schools where the teachers are overstretched and not given the time, resources or support to think about the best class activities and lesson plans, or bigger projects that respond to the children's talents and new interests, but at Clark the teachers are energized and have time to be engaged with each student, and this pays off. I've also been really pleased that without pushing a specific religious agenda, at Clark, both students and teachers, model and teach integrity, respect, and what it is to be a good human being. It's a great community and an amazing school. So pleased with it.
- Posted by
5  12/15/2017
We are so happy with Stanley Clark. It has made our move back to the midwest so much easier to know that our children are in a great place. Small class sizes, state of the art facilities, and a phenomenal teaching staff that is both steeped in the fundamentals and adaptable depending upon the kid/situation. Growth mindset is everywhere at SCS and the approach spans all of the many offerings, including: art, music, coding, athletics, and much more.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
August 14, 2018
We take a detailed look at the three popular early childhood methods to help you determine which one best suits your needs and requirements.
August 14, 2018
Your religion matters to you. You want your child to attend a school which will combine academics and religious education. Here is an overview of what is available together with some links to denominational web sites.
July 24, 2018
We identify changes in The Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017 which impact not-for-profit private schools.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Indiana is $4,889 for elementary schools and $10,014 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Indiana is 89% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).