Grace Christian Academy

5.00 5 1 (19 reviews)
Tel: (865)691-3427
previous
next
  • Grace Christian Academy is a Christ-centered college prep school serving grades Kindergarten-12.
  • GCA exists to LEAD students to a saving knowledge of Jesus Christ, to BUILD them up to their full potential in him and to EQUIP them to serve Him.
  • We are dedicated to being a distinctively Christian academy that provides an educational experience which develops students who are committed to changing the world for Christ.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI)
Southern Baptist Association of Christian Schools (SBACS)
Southern Association Of Colleges And Schools (SACS)
Religious AffiliationBaptist
Grades OfferedGrades Kindergarten-12
Learning Difference ProgramsYes
Learning Programs SupportedMild Learning Challenges after review and meeting with parents
Year Founded1997

Student Body

Total Students847 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
Students by GradeGrace Christian Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers74 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio11:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
45%
Average Class Size18 students
Number of AP Courses11 courses
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Advanced CoursesAP Biology, AP Calculus, AP English (11&12), AP European History, AP German III & IV, AP Spanish III & IV, AP Studio Art, AP U.S. History, Dual Enrollment Biology, Dual Enrollment Chemistry, Dual Enrollment English
Average ACT score24
Matriculation DataMatric. DataLink to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress CodeCasual
(Uniform required)

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost$7,700
Tuition NotesTuition rates are different for elementary, middle and high school. ($7,700 - $8,700)
% on Financial Aid
10%
Acceptance Rate
95%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions DirectorElizabeth Kose

Sports

Total Sports Offered14 sports
SportsBaseball, Basketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Football, Golf, Soccer, Softball, Swimming, Tennis, Track and Field, Volleyball, Weightlifting, WrestlingBaseballBasketball,
CheeringCross Country,
FootballGolf,
SoccerSoftball,
SwimmingTennis,
Track and FieldVolleyball,
WeightliftingWrestling,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.10 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Club or Organization:
Bible Study, Chess Club, Gardening Club, National Bible Honor Society, National German Honor Society, National Honor Society, National Spanish Honor Society, Piecemakers Club, Robotics Club, Student Council

School Notes

  • New Upper School facilities opened August 2006
  • Fully equipped science and computer labs
  • Internship opportunities for upper school students
  • Honors and AP courses
  • Lower School technology, library, music, art, and P.E. classes
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Knoxville
    Grades: PK-12 | 923 students
    4.6 miles
    529 Academy Way
    Knoxville, TN 37923
    (865)813-4225
    4.6 PK-12
    923
  • Knoxville
    Grades: PK-12 | 384 students
    10.5 miles
    2329 Prosser Rd
    Knoxville, TN 37914
    (865)521-6054
    10.5 PK-12
    384
  • Knoxville
    Grades: PK-12 | 80 students
    10 miles
    2434 E 5th Ave
    Knoxville, TN 37917
    (865)524-3211
    10 PK-12
    80
  • Knoxville
    Grades: PK-12 | 362 students
    8.9 miles
    Po Box 31733
    Knoxville, TN 37930
    (865)201-1192
    8.9 PK-12
    362
  • Knoxville
    West End Academy
    (Christian)
    Grades: NS-12 | 49 students
    2.7 miles
    5311 Mckamey Rd
    Knoxville, TN 37921
    (865)690-1720
    2.7 NS-12
    49

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (19 reviews)
5  5/31/2018
Our family loves Grace Christian Academy! We just finished our 8th year at Grace and our overall experience has been nothing but positive. The faculty, staff and administration are very personable and are there because they are called to be there and see it as their mission field. They build their students up to be the person God created them to be. They encourage the students to pursue their God-given talents. Biblical truth is infused into every class, not just Bible class. If there is a problem that needs to be addressed, there is an open door for communication.
- Posted by
5  5/31/2018
We have had all 3 of our kids attend Grace Christian Academy, and it has been such a blessing. The classes are academically challenging and excellent preparation for future college plans- we have already had two graduate from GCA. We especially appreciate the strong emphasis of Biblical teaching and how it applies in all aspects of life. The teachers and staff are wonderful and show a focused interest in each of the student's lives and their success.
- Posted by
5  5/31/2018
My son graduated from Grace Christian Academy in 2012 as a "lifer" (attended kindergarten through graduation). Leading, Building, and Equipping students isn't just a motto for the school--it is truly how the faculty and administration operate on a daily basis to prepare the students for living lives of excellence. After graduation, my son continued his education in a Christian environment and is now a pastor for a local church. When our daughter who is 15 years younger than her brother was born, there was no question what school she would attend. We love this school and all of the opportunities it provides in academics, athletics, and arts--all with an incredible spiritual emphasis. GCA is the only school for our family!
- Posted by
5  5/9/2018
We have 3 children at Grace. We have been very pleased with the teachers and support we get from the staff. The teachers really love our kids and work very hard to not only educate them, but also to shepherd them. They have had an eternal impact on our kids development and faith. We understand that we only have one chance to raise our children and choosing the right school is such a huge part of that. Our kids are in a safe environment which gives us tremendous piece of mind. Having heard some of the heartbreaking stories from family and friends about what their kids are being exposed to at a very early age in their schools, we are so glad to be at Grace. The Lord has blessed our family through GCA.
- Posted by
5  5/6/2018
I currently have a second grader at GCA and in the fall will have a child in kindergarten. My husband and I chose GCA because of the loving community and Christ centered atmosphere! We continue to be impressed by the education, and love that our child receives each day. We also appreciate the level of communication that the school and teachers involve us in as parents.
- Posted by
5  5/6/2018
GCA is such a special place. When you enter the doors of the school, you can feel it. The "it" I'm speaking of is the joy that radiates through the hallways. Jesus is so evident at GCA in the students, parents, faculty, and staff! We couldn't be more pleased with our decision to send our daughter to GCA. We believe God has great big plans for her and we feel so fortunate to be able to send her to a place where those around her encourage her, pray for her, and work along side of us to help her understand and be what God wants her to be! She has grown not only physically, but spiritually, emotionally, and mentally this in her 3 years at GCA! She absolutely loves going to school each day! We feel so blessed to be a part of the GCA family!
- Posted by
5  5/6/2018
Grace Christian Academy is a home away from home for my three children! I love the fact that they are academically challenged in a loving, Biblical environment. The relationships they have formed with their teachers and friends are priceless! GCA is one of the best decisions our family has made!
- Posted by
5  5/6/2018
Grace Christian Academy is much more than a school, it is a second family. From the teachers, to the administrators, to the other parents, the whole GCA body really is "distinctly different". You will be loved on, and supported all the way! My kids are on their 3rd and 4th year at Grace, and I couldn`t be more pleased. They are getting a high quality education, and the values/beliefs that are important to our family are being implemented everyday. I would definitely recommend checking them out!
- Posted by
5  5/6/2018
We have been so pleased with our experience at GCA. The staff and faculty are amazing! Our student has had an academic and life changing experience since we made the switch to GCA from public education.
- Posted by
5  5/2/2018
Grace Christian Academy is a hidden gem. We researched, visited, and contemplated the right decision for our children. Grace truly is a caring, comforting, loving environment. The atmosphere is welcoming and inviting to all.
- Posted by
5  5/2/2018
We have two children enrolled at Grace and we are beyond blessed by this school. Grace not only has awesome academics, athletics, and teachers but also provides a loving Christian environment for my children to learn in. We are so happy with Grace and would recommend this school to everyone!!
- Posted by
5  5/2/2018
My son has been In public school all his life so his 7th grade year we moved him to Grace Christian Academy Knoxville he is now a 10 grader . GCA is much more than just a school for him GCA has been an inspiration for growth and character for what students need today . With the support from staff and encouragement my son enjoys going to school and loves getting involved with his love of athletics and spritual growth while developing relationships that will last a lifetime. The teachers go far beyond what they are asked to do in their daily tasks. They take the time to meet with students personally to allow them to excel and achieve their maximum potentials. Perhaps the pinnacle of the academic realm of Grace Christian are their wonderful Headmaster, Dean of students and Guaidance staff Not only do they aid students in their college application affairs, but they take the time to guide students in social, academic, and even athletic affairs. Grace Christian Academy is a special place; they craft future leaders in our society by identifying and driving students` talents through the "joyful pursuit of excellence".BEST DECISION WE MADE
- Posted by
5  5/1/2018
We have almost completed our first year after transitioning our two teenage boys from public school to GCA. The decision to make the change was hard, but very thankful we did it. It has been very reassuring to know each day the lessons are prepared with an underlining biblical basis emphasizing Christian values. I truly feel like my children are being prepared to be the best they can be. Looking forward to the coming years at GCA.
- Posted by
5  4/23/2018
GCA has not only met but exceeded our expectations for our son. They hold exceptionally high academic standards and give one on one attention to each child. The faculty treat each child and parents like family and you know you are truly cared for. GCA truly lives out their motto to lead, build, and equip, not just academically but also spiritually. I couldn't ask for a better school for my family!
- Posted by
5  4/23/2018
Grace Christian Academy has surpassed all of my wife and I's expectations. From the care provided by the staff, to the loving Christian environment they learn in and most importantly how they are growing in their love of Christ everyday.
- Posted by
5  4/23/2018
What a blessing Grace has been to our family! This is our 2nd year at GCA. Transitioning from public school to Grace was very easy due to all the support we received from the teachers and other families. The teachers kept an eye on our kids to make sure they were plugging in and making friends. In the afternoon at pickup, my kids wanted to stay at school longer! I have also been able to substitute at Grace in all areas of the school from Kindergarten to Seniors in Upper School. The environment is so refreshing. I feel like my children are building a strong foundation in their faith as well as receiving a great academic education. The teachers are great and care so much about my children. We love our GCA Family!
- Posted by
5  4/10/2017
I have 2 children at Grace who were previously in the public school system. For us, Grace was a much better fit. The staff is great and really do care about each child.
- Posted by
5  5/30/2015
I have three kids that currently attend this school and I am constantly amazed at the quality of education that they each receive. It's a great environment for learning, and the entire staff seems to work in harmony to create a great atmosphere. If your looking for a great school, I would recommend a tour of GCA.
- Posted by
5  6/24/2014
This is a great school with a great mission in honoring the Lord in all things. I would love to enroll my boys at your school. Very impressed with athletics, academics and everything I have viewed. God bless your school
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
June 22, 2018
If your school has placed boarding students with families, you might want to consider out-sourcing your boarding program. It is one way of adding value to your day school's offerings.
June 20, 2018
You would think it would be easier to get your child into an elementary or primary school than into a prep school. But in fact it is almost as complicated.
May 10, 2018
Sending your child to a single-sex school is one of several options you have when it comes to private schools.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Knoxville, TN is $7,872 for elementary schools and $6,980 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Knoxville, TN is 88% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).