Liberty Classical Academy

previous
Building Lives that Inspire
next
Building Lives that Inspire
  • Imagine a school where children learn to think broadly, deeply and discerningly, where their minds are trained and their souls nurtured, where education inspires a life of purpose, leadership and service.
  • Welcome to Liberty Classical Academy, northeast Minneapolis/St. Paul's only private, classical Christian school balancing both rigorous academics and a non-denominational Christian worldview.
  • Here a family of students, parents and teachers from diverse backgrounds come together in a spirit of joy, encouragement and dedication to pursue excellence in education. Liberty's program is proving itself with annual testing placing the class averages in the top 13% of the nation for 12th graders and the top 22% for 1st-8th grade! Our graduates are accepted in the colleges of their choice, receiving scholarship offers averaging $31,000 per student.
  • Best of all, these young people are equipped to engage the culture for Christ.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.Association of Classical and Christian Schools (ACCS)
Religious AffiliationChristian
Grades OfferedGrades Prekindergarten-12
Learning Difference ProgramsYes
Learning Programs SupportedReading support
Year Founded2003

Student Body

Total Students262 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
13%
State avg.: 18%
Students by GradeLiberty Classical Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers29 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio9:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
28%
Average Class Size14 students
Number of AP Courses3 courses
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Average SAT score1230
Average ACT score27
Classroom Dress CodeFormal
(Differing uniforms for K-5, 6-8, 9-10)

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost$9,730
Tuition NotesTuition varies between Preschool, Lower School, Middle School and Upper School
% on Financial Aid
35%
Admissions DirectorNghi Anderson

Sports

Total Sports Offered9 sports
SportsBaseball, Basketball, Football, Golf, Nordic Skiing, Soccer, Softball, Track and Field, VolleyballBaseballBasketball,
FootballGolf,
Nordic SkiingSoccer,
SoftballTrack and Field,
Volleyball

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.7 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Chess Club, Drama/Theater, Engineering Club, Jazz Band, Lego League, Science Club, Student Council Chess Club, Drama/Theater, Jazz Band, Lego League, Science Club, Engineering Club,
Student Council,

School Notes

  • Mission: Liberty Classical Academy will equip students of all backgrounds to grow in wisdom, excellence and purpose by offering an education based on the highest academic standards grounded in a strong classical tradition from a distinctively Christian worldview.
  • Private
  • Independent
  • Non-denominational Christian
  • College-preparatory
  • Classical
  • Co-educational
  • Preschool through grade 12
  • Campus in White Bear Lake, Minnesota
  • Student-Teacher Ratio: Not to exceed 20:1
  • Band, choir, fine arts and drama
  • Extracurricular and athletic programs
  • Before and After-school care
  • Founded in 2003
  • Board-directed
  • Member ACCS (Association of Classical Christian Schools)
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Saint Paul
    Grades: PK-8 | 279 students
    5 miles
    2651 Rice Street
    Saint Paul, MN 55113
    (651)797-7900
    5PK-8
    279

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (9 reviews)
5  11/3/2016
In my opinion Liberty is the only Pre-K through 12th program in the Twin Cities that effectively offers classical education, a Christian worldview and high academics. Their teachers are knowledgeable in the methods associated with the classical tradition, using songs and chants and discussions and debates throughout the day to make learning enjoyable. They incorporate Biblical principles into student interactions, and they do an excellent job of teaching the students that they can learn about God in every subject area (even math!). Lastly, Liberty challenges its students academically but not to the point of exhausting them. The students genuinely love to learn. If you are looking for a program that will teach your child how to think, will grow their faith in God, and will push them to new limits, Liberty may be the place for you!
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
Our two children graduated from Liberty Classical Academy, and both of them would say they were exceedingly well-prepared for college and life. They know how to research, write and speak, and best of all, they can think deeply about subjects and come up with insightful opinions or ideas. That's what sets them apart as leaders. All of these skills were acquired and honed at Liberty, where class sizes were small, teachers could be mentors, and the curricula was challenging. My husband and I couldn't be more grateful for this unique and God-centered program!
- Posted by
5  5/4/2016
Our son is a graduate of Liberty Classical Academy and currently attends Creighton University. He is thriving in college thanks to the classical education and leadership skills he received at Liberty. The focus of this education is teach students to analyze information and form their own opinion and no just repeat on a test what a textbook says. I love that Liberty Classical Academy is teaching students to be moral, independent thinkers!!!
- Posted by
5  1/19/2016
Wonderful Blessing!!! This school has changed our families lives. They offer a balance of education, love, support, biblical influence, compassion, dedication, and structure. They are teaching my kids to think for themselves and to believe in what they say. The level of confidence in my son is unmeasurable. Our lives are truly better for bringing our kids to Liberty.
- Posted by
5  11/20/2014
We have two children who attend Liberty and have been so impressed with the quality of education that they are receiving. Children at the elementary school level learn how to stand before a large audience and deliver a speech; they learn not just how to read but the grammar and phonics rules that support reading; they learn about all major eras in history, from ancient times to medieval and Renaissance to the modern era--and they do all of this with God at the center of their learning. The God of scripture is in every class--from Art to Math to English to Phy Ed.--the faith element is incorporated into every subject! We are excited to have our kids at Liberty and look forward to them moving through the whole program and someday graduating from here. We could not imagine sending our kids anywhere else!
- Posted by
5  8/2/2013
This will be our 4th year at Liberty. We feel beyond blessed that our children are able to attend this school. We feel at peace sending them off everyday to a school that reinforces our values and provides an outstanding education. My children have been taught and cared for by wonderful teachers who are truly concerned with building their character. Due to the small class sizes, my kids get the attention they need and have developed lasting friendships with their peers. We would highly recommend this school!
- Posted by
5  8/2/2013
Having my children attend school at Liberty Classical Academy has been a huge benefit to our whole family. We are so impressed with the depth of learning that our kids are immersed in. They are learning to think openly and critically - skills that will benefit them for a lifetime. They enjoy the challenges the teachers set before them. Having had students in the lower school, the middle school and the upper school, I have been so happy to see how much interest their teachers take in them individually at every level. As we are beginning to think about college choices, I am sure this will be a great foundation for them to build on in higher education.
- Posted by
5  3/24/2013
I have a daughter in kindergarten and a son in second grade. Liberty offers challenging academics coupled with a wonderful learning environment, including small class sizes and warm and caring teachers who get to know the students and families very well and care deeply about their progress. The curriculum also promotes the development of character traits and leadership qualities as well as critical thinking skills. Oral presentations and public speaking are strongly emphasized throughout the school year; my 8 year old is not nervous at all getting up in front of a large group of people are reciting a poem or presenting the findings from a science project. On top of this, they also learn about God and develop a moral, ethical and theological framework from which to build their worldview. It is reflected in all aspects of their teaching and woven throughout the curriculum--not just "Classical Learning plus Bible." This is what sets Liberty apart from other private, Christian, or charter schools available in MN. It is a truly integrated approach. My children are thriving, they absolutely love Liberty and look forward to school every day.
- Posted by
5  10/27/2012
Great academics, faith based learning,and loving teachers. One on one attention from teachers. Classes include art, music, phy ed, and logic.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
October 18, 2017
The Seattle area is home to many fine private schools as well as to major companies such as Microsoft, Boeing and Starbucks.
September 30, 2017
Scandals in private school are bound to raise questions for those of us thinking about sending our children to private school. Regardless of how sensational these scandals may appear, they are actually few and far between.
September 29, 2017
Parents have many reasons for deciding to take their children out of public school and enrolling them in private school. This circumstance is something which can happen at any stage of your child's education.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Saint Paul, MN is $5,176 for elementary schools and $13,657 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Saint Paul, MN is 89% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).