McNicholas High School

previous
McNicholas High School Photo #1
next
McNicholas High School Photo #1
McNicholas High School is the premier choice for a coed, Catholic high school education in the Cincinnati area. It is the place to discover your unique, God-given brilliance and put it into action. Every student contributes at McNick in an experiential environment of doing - not watching. Customized learning and leadership programs help students make a difference in this close-knit, faith-based community and beyond. At McNicholas, students have more opportunities to get involved and make their presence felt. We offer 26 GCL competitive sports teams, over 40 clubs and extracurriculars, service opportunities, mission trips, award-winning visual and performing arts programs, partnerships with professionals, and a broad array of opportunities for students of every interest and talent.Through an adaptable curriculum that includes Advanced Placement and college credit classes as well as the SAIL program for identified learners, students of all abilities are challenged to reach their academic best.

Quick Stats (2024)

  • Top Ranked OH School
  • Grades: 9-12
  • Enrollment: 625 students
  • Yearly Tuition: $12,800
  • Average class size: 12 students
  • Application Deadline: None / Rolling
  • Source: Verified school update

School News

  • Boys Volleyball reaches first-ever OHSAA State Final Four - 05/29/2023
    The Boys Volleyball Team made history by advancing to the inaugural OHSAA Boys Volleyball Final Four.
  • McNicholas showcases interactive learning and care for creation with Love the Earth Day celebration - 04/26/2023
    Rockets in Environmental Science classes sponsored a Love the Earth Day event to bring McNicholas and the community together in celebration of the beauty of the earth and to inspire ...morecare for God`s creation. Students collaborated with classmates and other departments to create interactive exhibits displaying research about conservation, recycling, and sustainability. hide
  • Rockets develop writing and speaking skills through competitions and experiential learning excursions - 03/28/2023
    McNicholas students are showcasing their brilliant speaking and writing skills inside and outside of the classroom and are receiving city and state-wide accolades and attention!
  • Junior places third in state poetry competition - 03/15/2023
    Junior Amanda Braig placed third in the Ohio state finals of the Poetry Out Loud competition. "Amanda was a clear standout at the State competition; her poise, confidence, and clear ...morearticulation were outstanding!" Poetry Out Loud coach and English teacher Mrs. Laura Rupp said. hide
  • Rockets engineer fun & accessibility for adaptive baseball team - 01/25/2023
    McNicholas engineering students stepped up to the plate, helping Little League baseball players who use walkers and wheelchairs to field ground balls. The grabbers they designed, tested, and manufactured were ...moredelivered to the Mason Challenger Baseball team in December. hide
  • Culinary chemistry offers a tasty new take on science - 12/14/2022
    Rockets made delicious discoveries when they combined fundamentals of science and cooking in the inaugural semester of the Culinary Chemistry class. The goal of the class is to give students ...morea different perspective on science and an appreciation for chemistry in our everyday lives. Trading beakers for mixing bowls and Bunsen burners for convection ovens, students participated in hands-on cooking labs where they used principles of chemistry to assist them in creating a variety of tasty treats. hide
  • Sports Performance Director helps student-athletes excel - 12/07/2022
    Coach Pete Collopy is building champions - on and off the playing field. Coach Pete brings diverse experience and talent to McNicholas as the school`s first Sports Performance Director.
  • Hands Across Campus honored by IJPC for promoting diversity - 10/11/2022
    McNicholas student organization Hands Across Campus (HAC) was honored for their compassionate leadership by the Intercommunity Justice and Peace Center (IJPC). At their annual gathering, IJPC awarded the first ...moreYouth Justice Award to HAC for their work to promote justice, diversity, and inclusion at McNicholas and in the community. hide
  • McNicholas introduces Leadership McNick - 09/06/2022
    McNicholas is excited to unveil Leadership McNick, its newest initiative in the development of compassionate leaders. Leadership McNick is a four-year, intentional growth experience that combines high-quality leadership training with ...moresmall-group relationship building, retreat programming, vocation and career exploration, and formal and informal mentoring. hide
  • Rocket Learning Community opens inaugural year with service project - 08/31/2022
    Partnering with Lutheran Church of the Resurrection, members of the RLC collected and packed hygiene kits to send to Manna from Heaven Outreach, a group working to support the people ...moreof Eastern Kentucky who were devastated by the recent flooding. With a focus on Community, Curiosity, and Creativity, the RLC provides students with the opportunity to learn through community engagement. hide
  • Junior earns superior rating and STEM scholarship at State Science Fair - 08/24/2022
    Junior Remington Holder earned a superior rating for his project "Low Level vs High Level Programming Languages" at the State Science Fair this summer. He was awarded a $3000 STEM ...morescholarship for 4 years at Ohio Northern University for this accomplishment. hide
  • McNicholas teachers featured as 'Role Models of Faith' in Catholic Telegraph - 08/09/2022
    McNicholas is proud of and grateful for theology teachers Mrs. Mary Beth Sandmann and Mr. Jeff Hutchinson-Smyth who were featured in the August issue of The Catholic Telegraph as "Role ...moreModels of Faith." hide
  • Coach Orlando honored by Cincinnati Bengals - 07/25/2022
    Congratulations to Head Football Coach Mike Orlando who won the Paul Brown Excellence in Coaching Award from the Cincinnati Bengals. The award includes a $10,000 Bengals donation to the McNicholas ...moreAthletic Department. hide
  • Three-sport athlete wins State Wrestling Title - 03/17/2022
    Congratulations to senior wrestler Pierce Taylor who captured the Division 3 State wrestling title at 144 pounds. Pierce is a stand-out on the mat, earning back-to-back GCL Coed Championships, Sectional ...moreChampionships, and District Championships, as well as GCL Coed Wrestler of the Year titles. hide
  • ...read more

Top Rankings

McNicholas High School ranks among the top 20% of private schools in Ohio for:

Category
Attribute
Sports offered

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.
Religious Affiliation
Grades Offered
Grades 9-12
ADD/ADHD Support
Yes
Learning Difference Programs
Yes

Student Body

Total Students
625 students
Student Body Type
Co-ed
% Students of Color
8%
State avg.: 24%
Students by Grade
McNicholas High School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers
52 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio
12:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
72%
Average Class Size
12 students
Number of AP Courses
21 courses
List of Courses Offered
Classroom Dress Code
Casual

Tuition and Acceptance Rate

Admission Deadline
None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost
% on Financial Aid
70%
Average Financial Aid Grant
$3,100
Admissions Director
Laurie Carigan

Sports

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.
34 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.
Club or Organization:
Academic Team, Anime Club, Art & Craft Club, Chess Club, Cooking Club, Crew Leadership Team, Ecology Club, Gamers Unplugged, Hands Across Campus, Hope Squad, Improv Troupe, International Thespian Society Honor Society, International Thespian Troupe, Latin Honor Society, Launch Pad, Maker's Club, McNick Boutique, McNick Broadcasting, Mock Trial, Mu Alpha Theta – Mathematics Honor Society, National Art Honor Society, Octavio Paz Chapter National Spanish Honor Society, Peer Mentors, Photo Club, Robotics, Rockets For Life, Saint Vincent De Paul Youth Conference, Science National Honor Society, Ski Club, Société Honoraire de Français, Spanish Club, The National Honor Society, Theology & Philosophy Club, Tri-M Music Honor Society

School Notes

Join a welcoming community that looks out for each other, equips you for the real world in a comfortable, yet authentic coed environment, and teaches you timeless values and compassionate leadership. Visit www.mcnhs.org to learn more.
  • McNick teachers know their students well--we have a 12:1 student to teacher ratio.
  • Our students live in 30 area zip codes and attend 42 different grade/middle schools.
  • Our students volunteer over 15,000 hours of Christian service each year.
  • 90% of our students participate in our 40 clubs and 26 GCL athletic programs.
  • We have received the Governor`s Award for Excellence in STEM Education for over 30 consecutive years.
  • 72% of our faculty holds advanced degrees.
  • Our students are challenged with 22 on-campus Advanced Placement courses.
  • Our students recently achieved a 100% pass rate on the Calculus & English Literature AP Tests.
  • Over 45 Appalachia retreats and over 125 of Kairos retreats have empowered thousands of Rockets for lives of active discipleship.
  • We have had over 25 OHSAA State Tournament championship appearances.
  • Over 50of our students have earned National Merit Awards in the past 10 years.
  • We partnerwith 5universities for College Credit Plus programs.
  • 70% of our students receive financial assistance.
  • We have over 30visual and performing arts electives.
  • 98% of our students attend college after graduation.
  • With an enrollment of just over 600, we are the ideal size. Small enough that our students receive individualized attention, large enough to offer them numerous opportunities.
  • 85% of our students are Catholic.
  • 100% of our students participate in over 8 offered retreat experiences.
  • Over 175 AP Tests & Portfolios are submitted each year.
  • We set students up for success with 5 levels of math classes and a full-time math tutor on staff.
  • We offer 35 courses for college credit.
  • .We have a highly-recognized theatre program and over 30 visual & performing arts offerings.
  • Our students learn speaking and presentation skills and have earned top honors in the Poetry Out Loud recitation contest & the Rotary Club speech contest.
  • Our World Languages Department challenges students to earn the State Seal of Biliteracy.
  • Our visual and performing arts students consistently earn Scholastic Gold Keys & OMEA superior ratings.
  • Our students` achievement is recognized annually with induction into the National Honor Society and 8 other subject-specific honor societies: Science Math, Art, Spanish, Latin, French, Music, & Thespian.
  • 79% of our students participate in athletics.
  • 46% of our athletes are multisport athletes.
  • Families have trusted us for generations. Over 40% of our current students have alumni parents and relatives.
  • Our over 12,000 alumni create a network of support that spans the globe.
Source: Verified school update

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does McNicholas High School cost?
McNicholas High School's tuition is approximately $12,800 for private students.
What sports does McNicholas High School offer?
McNicholas High School offers 18 interscholastic sports: Baseball, Basketball, Bowling, Cheering, Cross Country, Dance, Diving, Football, Golf, Lacrosse, Soccer, Softball, Swimming, Tennis, Track and Field, Volleyball, Winter Track and Wrestling. McNicholas High School is ranked as one of the top 20% of private schools in Ohio for most sports offered.
What is McNicholas High School's ranking?
McNicholas High School ranks among the top 20% of private schools in Ohio for: Largest student body, Most AP courses offered, Most sports offered and Most extracurriculars offered.
When is the application deadline for McNicholas High School?
The application deadline for McNicholas High School is rolling (applications are reviewed as they are received year-round).

School Reviews

5  
Just be aware they grade on a 7 point scale vs a 10 point scale other area comparable high schools use. Given this impacts GPA tremendously (92 at other schools is an A, vs a B here), it's something to consider for college applications.
- Posted by

Endorse McNicholas High School. Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards
Endorse this school:

Recent Articles

Making Social Media Work for Your School
Making Social Media Work for Your School
An introduction to using Facebook, YouTube and Pinterest to promote your school.
SEO for Private Schools - Part 3: Using Social Media
SEO for Private Schools - Part 3: Using Social Media
Social media for private K-12 schools is a bit different from social media for businesses. Some tips and strategies here.
The Pros and Cons of Teaching Overseas
The Pros and Cons of Teaching Overseas
Hundreds of private schools, and for that matter, public schools, outside the United States will be happy to have you as a teacher for a few years.

Quick Stats (2024)

  • Top Ranked OH School
  • Grades: 9-12
  • Enrollment: 625 students
  • Yearly Tuition: $12,800
  • Average class size: 12 students
  • Application Deadline: None / Rolling
  • Source: Verified school update

Request Information

Did You Know?

The average private school tuition in Cincinnati, OH is $9,005 for elementary schools and $14,580 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Cincinnati, OH is 88% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).

Quick Links