Pinewoods Montessori School

  • Conveniently located between Hillsborough and Chapel Hill, NC, Pinewoods Montessori School emphasizes peace, respect, creative thinking and problem solving that gives children a lifetime love of learning. For 100 years, Montessori has offered a brain-based, developmental educational method that allows children to make creative choices in discovering the people, places, and knowledge of the world.
  • It emphasizes hands-on learning, self expression, and collaborative play in a beautifully-crafted environment of respect, peace, and joy.

School Overview

School TypeMontessori School
School Membership(s)School Assoc.American Montessori Society (AMS)
Grades OfferedGrades Prekindergarten-6
Year Founded1992

Student Body

Total Students103 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
17%
State avg.: 18%
Students by GradePinewoods Montessori School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers12 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio9:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
25%
Average Class Size20 students
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Classroom Dress CodeCasual

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Tuition NotesTuition is variable based upon age of child.

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.2 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.After School Care, Summer Camps Summer Camps, After School Care,

School Notes

Maria Montessori felt that  children are the hope of the world and that, given the right environment and opportunities to develop their full potential, they grow up into happy, responsible citizens -- not only of their native lands, but of the world. 

With that in mind, Pinewoods Montessori offers the following:

  • A respectful environment
  • A peaceful setting
  • Problem solving skills
  • Creative thinking skills
  • An authentic, traditional Montessori
  • High scoring academics
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Chapel Hill
    Grades: PK-12 | 329 students
    4.5 miles
    6211 New Jericho Rd
    Chapel Hill, NC 27516
    (919)967-1858
    4.5PK-12
    329
  • Chapel Hill
    Montessori Day School
    Montessori School
    Grades: NS-6 | 64 students
    9.1 miles
    1702 Legion Rd
    Chapel Hill, NC 27517
    (919)929-3339
    9.1NS-6
    64
  • Raleigh
    Grades: NS-9 | 372 students
    27.4 miles
    7005 Lead Mine Road
    Raleigh, NC 27615
    (919)848-1545
    27.4NS-9
    372
  • Durham
    Grades: PK-6 | 103 students
    10.5 miles
    3001 Academy Rd Ste 300
    Durham, NC 27707
    (919)401-4343
    10.5PK-6
    103
  • Cary
    Grades: NS-9 | 158 students
    25.9 miles
    112 Byrum St.
    Cary, NC 27511
    (919)465-2113
    25.9NS-9
    158

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (12 reviews)
5  12/17/2016
My son is two and in the Toddler class. He started coming to Pinewoods in August 2016 and he couldn't be more happy here. His teachers are so kind and most importantly, they really care about my child and helping him reach his full early learning potential. The classrooms are beautiful, organized, and all of the teachers here are passionate about the Montessori Method. I wanted my child to have an authentic Montessori learning experience, and Pinewoods Montessori has exceeded my expectations. When I first observed how different a Montessori class operates, I was impressed by how each child was highly respected and always allowed the opportunity to be independent and have their freedom of choice among the lessons. At the same time, it was far from chaotic. It is a peaceful environment and materials remain organized throughout the day (as the children are taught to respect their environment and put things back where they belong). I highly recommend bringing your child(ren) to observe a classroom at Pinewoods.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
Our daughter is now 6 yrs old, and has been at Pinewoods for 4 yrs. She loves it, and is flourishing in the caring and close knit environment. Both my wife and I are very happy with my daughters progress and can't say enough about the teachers. Thank you Pinewoods Montessori.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
I have been a parent of two Pinewoods students. My children have very different personalities, and I have found that Pinewoods has catered to each child's interests. As the child stays in the same class over several years, the child develops very strong relationships with his/her peer, while continuing to grow and learn. The school's most important asset is its very caring staff. My daughter loves her teachers and absolutely loves going to school every day. I would highly recommend this school.
- Posted by
5  4/15/2016
I am so happy that my boys are attending Pinewoods Montessori. They love Miss Joy/Miss Gabby and Miss Charlotte/Miss Chrissy. They have both learned so much. I highly recommend this school to any parent who is seeking a safe, enriching and nurturing environment for their children .
- Posted by
5  2/26/2016
Pinewoods Montessori School is the best kept secret in Orange County. Our oldest son started at Pinewood's Montessori Extended Day program at 5 years old. We have chosen to continue his education at Pinewoods because of the access to education, knowledge, and learning every day tools to help him regulate his emotions and encourage his desire to learn. Our son has had some struggles in a learning environment and the Pinewoods Teachers and staff have all given time, care, and flexibility to work with finding approaches and tools that help him learn better and help him become more adapted to social situations. I feel very lucky to have found Pinewoods and wish we had earlier.
- Posted by
5  2/26/2016
My son is in the toddler class and he absolutely loves it! I am so proud to have this school in my community.
- Posted by
5  2/26/2016
The moment we visited the classroom for the first time my (very) active 2.5 year old became calm. The teacher asked his name and invited him to join the lesson. The level of respect for each student continues to amaze me. Please make time to visit, you won't regret it.
- Posted by
5  5/21/2015
We didn't really know much about the Montessori philosophy when our child started at Pinewoods as a preschooler. But we have since come to learn more, and appreciate how it teaches independence and cultivates curiosity. Pinewoods is a really special place. It's not fancy, but the teachers are incredibly dedicated and its a great group of families.
- Posted by
5  5/1/2012
Our two children have absolutely thrived in this environment; it fosters a love of learning and self-confidence that I wish I might have had as a foundation for learning. The teachers are wonderful and the school is a tremendous value. We''re thankful every day to have found it.
- Posted by
5  5/1/2012
This school provides an engaging and enriching array of curriculum for our students to explore and learn, to engage and challenge. Everyday when my child comes home, she recounts her learning with eagerness and enthusiasm. As a teacher of public schools, I am well aware of the caliber of education my daughter receives at Pinewoods Montessori!
- Posted by
5  4/9/2012
The more I learn about Montessori, the happier I am about keeping my child there after preschool. She is learning critical thinking and problem solving and a true passion for exploring the world.
- Posted by
5  3/16/2012
I have had my daughters at this school for four years- one is currently in primary and the other in elementary. I cannot speak highly enough about the quality of education that they are receiving. The teachers are truly top notch! The enviroment is caring, intimate, and warm, and we have a wonderful community of families. They are receiving an authentic Montessori education, and we couldn't be happier.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
September 05, 2017
If you live outside the United States, choosing an American private school can be a confusing process. Here is an overview of the process.
September 05, 2017
Never lose sight of why you are planning to send your child to private school. This list of ten considerations will help you focus on the things which matter.
September 04, 2017
Use this hub to keep track of the steps in the private schools' admission process.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in North Carolina is $7,664 for elementary schools and $9,369 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in North Carolina is 87% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).