St. George Parish School (Closed 2004)

St. George School was opened on September 6, 1927 with an enrollment of 146 pupils and under the pastorship of Reverend George E.
Orr. The original school consisted of 4 classrooms on the second floor of the original Church building.
Three Sisters of Saint Joseph took on the monumental task of educating the Parish Community's youth at the time, and over the years, the Sisters of Saint Joseph continued to be an influential presence in the school.
The first graduation took place on June 22, 1928 with 13 students graduating.
In June 1951, the old parish convent was converted into additional classrooms to accommodate rising enrollment.
As the Parish Community continued to grow, it was decided by the Pastor at the time, Reverend Thomas P.
Fitzgerald, to build a new school. The new school opened in January 1965.
For 78 years, our school expanded and educated thousands of students.
Saint George Parish School graduated future doctors, lawyers, professors, accountants, mothers, fathers, religious sisters and priests.
It had been an integral part of so many lives.
As of the closing of the School in June 2005, the total number of graduates reached 2,761.
The memory of Saint George Parish School will live on in the hearts and lives of all those who were privileged enough to walk its halls and sit within its classrooms.

School Overview

Religious Affiliation
Grades Offered
Grades Kindergarten-8

Student Body

Total Students
210 students
Student Body Type
Co-ed
% Students of Color
7%
State avg.: 26%
Students by Grade
St. George Parish School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers
11 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio
19:1
National avg.: 13:1

Tuition and Acceptance Rate

Admission Deadline
None / Rolling

School Notes

  • St. George School was opened on September 6, 1927 with an enrollment of 146 pupils and under the pastorship of Reverend George E. Orr. The original school consisted of 4 classrooms on the second floor of the original Church building. Three Sisters of Saint Joseph took on the monumental task of educating the Parish Community's youth at the time, and over the years, the Sisters of Saint Joseph continued to be an influential presence in the school. The first graduation took place on June 22, 1928 with 13 students graduating. In June 1951, the old parish convent was converted into additional classrooms to accommodate rising enrollment. As the Parish Community continued to grow, it was decided by the Pastor at the time, Reverend Thomas P. Fitzgerald, to build a new school. The new school opened in January 1965. For 78 years, our school expanded and educated thousands of students. Saint George Parish School graduated future doctors, lawyers, professors, accountants, mothers, fathers, religious sisters and priests. It had been an integral part of so many lives. As of the closing of the School in June 2005, the total number of graduates reached 2,761. The memory of Saint George Parish School will live on in the hearts and lives of all those who were privileged enough to walk its halls and sit within its classrooms.
Source: National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)

Frequently Asked Questions

When is the application deadline for St. George Parish School?
The application deadline for St. George Parish School is rolling (applications are reviewed as they are received year-round).

Recent Articles

Montessori Schools
Montessori Schools
Montessori schools are popular world-wide with parents of children in the primary grades.
How To Find A Summer Program
How To Find A Summer Program
Sending your children to a summer program or camp keeps them active in fun-filled settings. We explore your options.
Leadership, Legacy, and Learning: Pillars of Top Schools
Leadership, Legacy, and Learning: Pillars of Top Schools
We explore the key elements contributing to the success of leading private schools, highlighting the importance of strong leadership, a rich legacy, and a focus on comprehensive learning experiences.