St. James School

5.00 5 1 (9 reviews)
Tel: (860)643-5088
  • Saint James School prides itself on following the Catholic tradition in education excellence.
  • Based in a Christian atmosphere, your child will experience positive growth academically, spiritually, morally, and socially.
  • Religion is a fundamental component of their education, but being Catholic is not a prerequisite.
  • Our prerequisites are to have both a willingness to learn and a positive attitude.
  • Students of many different religious denominations make Saint James their school, and their exposure to the Catholic faith adds to their life experiences.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.National Catholic Educational Association (NCEA)
New England Association of Schools and Colleges
Religious AffiliationRoman Catholic
Grades OfferedGrades Prekindergarten-8
Year Founded1921
Awards Blue Ribbon School - Selected in 2010

Student Body

Total Students390 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
7%
State avg.: 21%
Students by GradeSt. James School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers26 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio15:1
National avg.: 13:1

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Tuition NotesPlease visit our website at www.saintjamesschool.net for the current tuition rates.

Sports

Total Sports Offered4 sports
SportsBasketball, Cross Country, Nordic Skiing, SoccerBasketballCross Country,
Nordic SkiingSoccer,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.6 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Chess Club, Drama Club, Instrumental Music Program, Middle School Dances, Robotics Club, Student Council
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Manchester
    Grades: PK-12
    1.1 miles
    236 Main Street
    Manchester, CT 06042
    (860)643-0792
    1.1PK-12
    n/a
  • Bolton
    Grades: 5-12 | 72 students
    4.2 miles
    Po Box 9175 104 Notch Road
    Bolton, CT 06043
    (860)645-6466
    4.25-12
    72
  • East Hartford
    St. Christopher School
    (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: PK-8 | 266 students
    4.4 miles
    570 Brewer Street
    East Hartford, CT 06118
    (860)568-4100
    4.4PK-8
    266
  • Manchester
    St. Bridget School
    (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: K-9 | 202 students
    1.5 miles
    74 Main St
    Manchester, CT 06042
    (860)649-7731
    1.5K-9
    202
  • Mansfield Center
    Grades: PK-6 | 72 students
    15.3 miles
    132 Pleasant Valley Road
    Mansfield Center, CT 06250
    (860)456-1031
    15.3PK-6
    72

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (9 reviews)
5  11/9/2017
When it came time to enter my two children into Pre-K and beyond, I didn`t even have to think twice about it. Having graduated from Saint James myself, I knew that I wanted my children to experience the same high quality education- academically, morally & socially, that Saint James has to offer. The environment is warm, welcoming and diverse and knowing that my children are in a community such as this one is a blessing. The teachers are easy to communicate with, the parents all have high expectations of their children and the students are well-behaved, social, bright and polite. Even when I realized that one of my children was going to need a little extra help in some subject areas, the teacher listened to my concerns and put into place a plan of action that would help my child succeed. My kids love going to school every day and I am at ease as I send them off for the school day. Saint James is truly a uniquely awesome school!
- Posted by
5  10/17/2017
When it came time to find a school for my children, Saint James was our first and only choice. As a graduate of Saint James School, I know that Saint James offers a rigorous and well-defined curriculum. My children, having been at Saint James since Pre-K, now in 3rd & 4th grade, are clearly academically, socially & morally surpassing their peers in neighborhood schools. I have found that Saint James not only excels in teaching the students core subject matter, but focuses on their social/emotional well-being, teaching the importance of values and morals, requiring the children to hold themselves to a higher social standard. In addition, when my daughter needed extra help in reading, her teacher was fully appreciative of her needs and helped develop a specific plan so that she would succeed. As a result, my daughter is now excelling beyond my expectations. The teachers, the administration, the parents and the students are all always welcoming and willing to lend a hand in an effort to constinuosuly uphold the high standards of Saint James School. Working together, this community has somehow created a school-atmosphere that is second to none! I would highly recommend Saint James for its academic rigor, its warm and inviting atmosphere and the knowledge that my kids go to school happy, safe and excited to learn!
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
This is our first year at St James and I cannot begin to tell you what an amazing experience this has been! It's not just a school, it's a community - my kids'' (grades 2 & 3) classmates welcomed them with open arms and helped ease their transition to a new school. We transferred from a smaller parochial school in town and we are blown away with the level of education St James offers. This was what I always expected from a parochial or private school. My 2nd grader is learning techniques for test prep through highlighting and testing! Wow! My 3rd grader is taking Spanish (in addition to our family's native language outside of school) - the instructor has high expectations, but we expect nothing else. The other parents have welcomed us into the community and we can see where the children have learned their compassion. Mrs. Kanute, the principal, greets every child by name in the morning and makes sure they make it safely to the playground. It's wonderful to see her so involved on a personal level. We are happy to see what more is in store for us! :)
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
I transferred all three of my children from public school and have not regretted it. It took the first school year at SJS for my oldest to catch up academically, but now she is on the honor roll. The teachers make keeping up to date on your child's learning by sending class work home daily, posting homework on their web pages, and having the students write their upcoming tests and homework assignments in their yearly planners. All the teachers provide excellent structure and discipline. The best way to learn more, and see the difference, is to have your child shadow for the day. If you are concerned about cost, financial aid is available, and they have a used uniform closet to help defray costs. It is worth the sacrifice to your pocketbook to give your kids a great start.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
SJS is an outstanding institution... caring faculty, supportive, nurturing environment, & top notch academics. We LOVE this school!
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
my mother and her six siblings all atteded saint james school in the 1920s'' and 30s''. i graduated from saint james in 1956. the wonderful teachers and priests at saint james continue to this day as an inflience and guide in my life. Thank You ! Saint james. Sincerly! Raymond v. Adamson
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
Quality education with a focus on family, church and society. We could not be happier that we found Saint James. We were only planning on sending our child to the school for one year while our family transitioned to a new town. We now have both children enrolled in the school and a few of our friends have also transitioned their children from the public schools. It is a magnificent school that provides a tremendous value. It is a K-8 school but it feels so much smaller. Very close community with tremendous families that help create a foundation for our children.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
I currently have two children attending St. James, grades 5 and 2. My children are very happy at the school and strive for success everyday. While I truly believe you can achieve an excellent education in the public school system, the difference at St. James is that there is a strong sense of community. My children are taught to be good moral individuals and to respect everyone. This is evident when my children participate in sports within the town and I observe public school children not demonstrating respect or compassion to their teammates. Bullying and disrespect are not tolerated at St. James. For me, it is equally important to raise my children to be respectful as well as provide an excellent academic foundation. St. James provides both.
- Posted by
5  7/3/2013
We switched out of the public school system a few years back and have been extremely happy at Saint James School. The academics really are outstanding and the teachers/staff are compassionate yet provide a perfect balance of structure in their classrooms. I really love that they still place a high importance on some of the traditional learning that other schools are abandoning. I also love that my children are getting faith integrated into their daily lessons. I know wherever we choose to send them for high school and beyond, we have given them the best foundation.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
January 16, 2018
Part of the private school selection process is financial aid. We point out five issues about which you should be aware.
January 16, 2018
We look at why tuition costs vary so widely from school to school.
January 08, 2018
Changes to the Tax Code in late 2017 included the addition of saving for K-12 private school education to 529 plans. We take a look at what this means for families thinking about private school for their children.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Hartford County, CT is $11,661 for elementary schools and $29,342 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Hartford County, CT is 64% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).