The Banff School

5.00 5 1 (3 reviews)
Tel: (281)444-9326
previous
next
  • The Banff School is a non-denominational, cross-cultural Pre-K through 12th Grade private school located in Champions, Northwest Houston, Tx.
  • At Banff, we equip our students with a college-preparatory, academic education, in a personalized and stimulating environment, which enables them to become independent, creative thinkers.
  • Low student-teacher ratios, combined with dedicated, experienced teaching staff, allow us to focus on individual needs and abilities helping our students to realize their full potential.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.AdvancED
Grades OfferedGrades Prekindergarten-12
Year Founded1969

Student Body

Total Students152 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
15%
State avg.: 35%
Students by GradeThe Banff School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers16 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio10:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size15 students
Number of AP Courses6 courses
Advanced CoursesCalculus, Economics, English IV, Government, Physics, Spanish IV,
Classroom Dress CodeFormal
(Navy pants/skirt and white shirt)

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Admissions DirectorAnita Elliott

Sports

Total Sports Offered4 sports
SportsBasketball, Cheering, Dance, VolleyballBasketballCheering,
DanceVolleyball,
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Houston
    Grades: NS-8 | 250 students
    2.2 miles
    4820 Strack Road
    Houston, TX 77069
    (281)440-1106
    2.2NS-8
    250
  • Houston
    Grades: 9-12 | 70 students
    17.4 miles
    10255 Richmond Ave #100
    Houston, TX 77042
    (713)266-0920
    17.49-12
    70
  • Houston
    Grades: PK-12 | 1750 students
    16.6 miles
    13077 Westella Dr
    Houston, TX 77077
    (281)496-7900
    16.6PK-12
    1750
  • Houston
    Grades: PK-12 | 1206 students
    14.1 miles
    7455 Awty School Ln
    Houston, TX 77055
    (713)684-4850
    14.1PK-12
    1206
  • Houston
    Grades: K-12 | 2221 students
    17.6 miles
    2401 Claremont Ln
    Houston, TX 77019
    (713)850-0222
    17.6K-12
    2221

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (3 reviews)
5  7/19/2016
My son has attended this school for over two academic years. This was the best decision I made as a parent in advancing my child's social and academic development. The school's administrators and teachers are highly engaged and invested in your child's education. The founder, principal and teachers are all very present and have an open door policy when it comes to discussing concerns or suggestions. Most importantly, everyone at this school cares and deeply understands the purpose and patience it takes to educate children as a whole. They know each and every child personally and I am very grateful for this place.
- Posted by
5  7/19/2016
My son who is in 12th was previously attending public school and had lost his love for learning. He dreaded going to school each day and complained of bullying. To make matters worse, his district would not make accommodations for his ADHD. I put him in Banff at the beginning of his 11th grade year. I saw a huge and quick turnaround. I no longer had to wake him up for school; he woke up early. He became excited about his classes and the course work. When I asked him who his favorite teacher was, he named several of his teachers. He excitedly shared information on things he was learning in class. To my amazement, he made all A's last year, and with no ADHD accommodations. The small class size, engaging curriculum, and teachers who know how to teach to a variety of learning styles was all he needed. I could kick myself for not putting him in Banff earlier. I think his earlier school years would have been much more enjoyable and rewarding.
- Posted by
5  5/14/2013
Enrolled my daughter in this school in 2.5 years ago, considered several other schools before we decided on this school. 2.5 years later, we are still very pleased with this school. It has a open door policy so we can talk to teachers and the school management anytime we have concerns. The teachers are caring and always willing to give extra attention to students.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
October 18, 2017
The Seattle area is home to many fine private schools as well as to major companies such as Microsoft, Boeing and Starbucks.
September 30, 2017
Scandals in private school are bound to raise questions for those of us thinking about sending our children to private school. Regardless of how sensational these scandals may appear, they are actually few and far between.
September 29, 2017
Parents have many reasons for deciding to take their children out of public school and enrolling them in private school. This circumstance is something which can happen at any stage of your child's education.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Houston, TX is $9,218 for elementary schools and $15,695 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Houston, TX is 85% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).