The Bear Creek School

5.00 5 1 (7 reviews)
Tel: (425)898-1720
  • The Bear Creek School is invested in students and intentional in outcome.
  • By teaching students how to think, instead of what to think, Bear Creek equips students for success beyond the classroom. Providing a classical education with a rigorous curriculum taught from a Christian worldview, Bear Creek`s college preparatory academics include honors and Advanced Placement classes.
  • Students are encouraged to develop into the individual God intends.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI)
Association of Classical and Christian Schools (ACCS)
National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Religious AffiliationChristian
Grades OfferedGrades Nursery/Preschool-12
Year Founded1988
Awards Blue Ribbon School - Selected in 2014

Student Body

Total Students794 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
28%
State avg.: 27%
Students by GradeThe Bear Creek School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers74 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio11:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
69%
Average Class Size16 students
Number of AP Courses12 courses
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Advanced CoursesBiology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, English Language and Composition, European History, Latin: Vergil, Music Theory, Physics B, Spanish, Statistics, United States History,
Average SAT score1283
Classroom Dress CodeFormal
(Uniforms)

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineJan. 16 / rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost$19,695
Tuition NotesTuition for K-6 listed. Please see website for Preschool, Middle School, and Upper School rates.
% on Financial Aid
24%
Average Financial Aid Grant$8,617
Acceptance Rate
56%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions DirectorChristie Hazeltine
Admissions AssociateRachael Urban

Sports

Total Sports Offered11 sports
SportsBaseball, Basketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Golf, Lacrosse, Soccer, Softball, Tennis, Track and Field, VolleyballBaseballBasketball,
CheeringCross Country,
GolfLacrosse,
SoccerSoftball,
TennisTrack and Field,
Volleyball

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.15 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Girl Scouts, International Club, Math Team, National Honor Society, String Orchestra, Student Government

Club or Organization:
Boy Scouts, Chess Club, Forensics Team, Mandarin Chinese, Robotics

Arts and Music Programs:
Art, Choir, Drama, Jazz Band

School Notes

  • Challenging curricululm for highly capable students.
  • Classical Christian education.
  • Small classes. Many enrichment opportunities as part of the curriculum.
  • Honors courses in biology, chemistry, European literature, European history, world history, Western civilization, world literature, etc.
  • World Languages include: Spanish, French, Latin
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Redmond
    Grades: 5-12 | 527 students
    1 miles
    20301 NE 108th Street
    Redmond, WA 98053
    (425)868-1000
    15-12
    527
  • Bellevue
    Grades: PK-9 | 643 students
    5 miles
    14640 Ne 24th St
    Bellevue, WA 98007
    (425)649-0791
    5PK-9
    643
  • Bellevue
    Eton School
    Montessori School
    Grades: NS-8 | 296 students
    4.5 miles
    2701 Bellevue-Redmond Rd
    Bellevue, WA 98008
    (425)881-4230
    4.5NS-8
    296
  • Sammamish
    Eastside Catholic School
    (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: 6-12
    5.1 miles
    232 228th Avenue SE
    Sammamish, WA 98074
    (425)295-3000
    5.16-12
    n/a
  • Redmond
    Faith Lutheran School
    Daycare / Preschool
    Grades: NS-PK | 56 students
    2.6 miles
    9041 166th Ave NE
    Redmond, WA 98052
    (425)885-1810
    2.6NS-PK
    56

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (7 reviews)
5  4/7/2017
Our son is attending the preschool program and it is amazing. The teachers work with the students to meet them where they are at to help them grow. We have been impressed with the way the school is able to bring both academics and a Christian world view together to help teach the whole child.
- Posted by
5  4/7/2017
We couldn't be more impressed with the Bear Creek Lower School. For children in grades K-4, I couldn't imagine a better environment for learning and growing. Each student is known and cared about. The teachers, classroom aids, staff, and administration care about each student, taking the time to get to know each student and each family. Lesson plans are crafted with individual levels in mind and each student goes at their own pace. The children are encouraged to grow and learn at the pace that makes them feel successful. Our children are strong in different areas and this is the perfect school for both of them. Teachers and administrators are 100% available for speaking with parents any time about any topic that parents wish to discuss. And the community of parents and families is phenomenal, parent and family social events are abundance, as well as sport and other teams and activities. The families at The Bear Creek School truly believe in community. Each time our children pass to a new grade, we continue to be impressed.
- Posted by
5  4/7/2017
The Bear Creek School has had an incredible impact on our family. Not only are our kids thriving academically, socially, and spiritually, but as parents we have greatly benefited from the resources, tools and close community the school provides. It is well worth the investment! Faculty and staff are available, engaged and welcome feedback. They view the educational experience as a partnership. So grateful for our school!
- Posted by
5  3/22/2017
Our kids came to Bear Creek from public school. We are blown away by how invested the teachers are in the students and how passionate they are about their subject matter. At Bear Creek, it is cool to be smart and work hard. Yet they balance the work load and encourage every student to participate in activities, sports, & leadership. My kids have tried and excelled at new sports and loved the coaching emphasis on character and sportsmanship along with the skills. The college advising program is outstanding. The college advisor organizes career panels, mock interviews, college visits and meets 1:1 to help students find their best fit university.
- Posted by
5  3/19/2015
We have been impressed with the Preschool and Lower School. The curriculum is individually-paced so each child feels both successful and challenged every day. The teachers genuinely care for each child and celebrate their unique gifts as they gently guide them to develop a love of learning. Our children have flourished here academically, spiritually and socially and we are so glad we chose The Bear Creek School.
- Posted by
5  1/31/2013
In looking for a selective Christian school, I was amazed at the amount of positive recommendations and accolades from other parents. After attending the school a little less then a year now, I can clearly say this is the most organized and well run organization I''ve been involved with. The staff from teachers to admin run a tight ship on curriculum, agenda, goals, and accountability. They support the education and learning at each grade level combined with the K thru 12 program. We''re blessed to have found this school this early on and the teachers really strive to develop the best students possible. I would give the highest recommendation to others when considering The Bear Creek School.
- Posted by
5  2/28/2012
My children are receiving an excellent education at Bear Creek. They have been attending since kindergarten and 1st grade and now are in 6th and 10th grade. The classical approach in a Christian environment is giving them an excellent foundation. The teachers truly care about the students and the overall sense of community is great.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
January 19, 2018
Depending on their family circumstances, our Presidents received a wide range of primary and secondary schooling.
January 19, 2018
A fascinating look at where our first Presidents went to school.
January 18, 2018
From time to time we all wonder how things might have turned out if circumstances and situations had been different. We apply that questioning to private schools.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average acceptance rate in Redmond, WA is 66% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).