The Dunham School

5.00 5 1 (6 reviews)
Tel: (225)767-7097
previous
From our youngest learners to our seniors about to embark on their next educational journeyDunham students are equipped with the knowledge, interpersonal skills, and confidence needed for success in college. Guided by our college placement director, students are encouraged to dream big when it comes to their future and consistently gain acceptance to the college of their choice.
next
From our youngest learners to our seniors about to embark on their next educational journeyDunham students are equipped with the knowledge, interpersonal skills, and confidence needed for success in college. Guided by our college placement director, students are encouraged to dream big when it comes to their future and consistently gain acceptance to the college of their choice.
We develop creative, independent thinkers who enjoy learning as they discover truths about themselves and the world around them. Our academic program is the perfect balance of hands-on education in all academic areas combined with technology, innovation, and cross-cultural literacy. Students are encouraged to problem-solve, experiment, take risks, and be creative as they learn and grow.
With a student/teacher ratio of 9:1 and an average class size of 14, students make big connections with each other and their teachers. Signature programs such as Harkness teaching, STEM, Dual Enrollment and AP offerings, and a commitment to individualized education enable students to think critically, communicate effectively, and collaborate with their teachers and peers each day.
Creativity takes center stage at Dunham where students develop artistic skill and discover new talents under the tutelage of accomplished arts professionals. Outstanding theater, dance, visual arts, and vocal and instrumental music offerings inspire creative expression, confidence, and a lifelong appreciation for the arts.
At Dunham, we believe that educating the heart of a champion is as important as building physical strength. Guided by a staff of professional coaches, students hone athletic skill through healthy competition while also learning the value of hard work, discipline, teamwork, and sportsmanship as they strive for victory on and off of the playing field.
The world is our classroom at Dunham thanks to a curriculum that includes iPads, MacBooks, breakout boxes, 3D printers, robotics, coding, and explorations in the Innovation Labs. As a six-time Apple distinguished school, we integrate technology and innovation into every classroom, enabling our students navigate the wonder and challenges of our world through experiences that build creativity, collaboration, and communication.
By design, everything we do at Dunham is grounded in the desire to serve God's kingdom by enabling students to mature in Christian faith and character. Whether it's through chapel services, Bible classes, or service opportunities, our aim is to educate the heart as fully as the mind. Ours is a campus set apart to worship, glorify, and serve God.
From Lower School Sunshine Helpers to Middle School House Captains to Upper School Prefects, Dunham provides students with numerous opportunities to develop their leadership skills. In addition to elected positions and service opportunities, Upper School students may participate in the Institute of Leadership, a formal leadership program designed to train, empower, and send students out to make a difference in the community and the world at large.
  • As the leading private Christian school in Baton Rouge for girls and boys in PK3-12, Dunham prepares students for success in college and in life.
  • Within the framework of Christian instruction and example, students are challenged to think, empowered to lead, inspired to create, motivated to win, and prepared to meet their God-given potential.

Upcoming Events and News

  • Dunham Senior Named National Hispanic Scholar - 10/25/2017 - The Dunham School is pleased to announce that senior Ana Rodriguez has been named  a National Hispanic Scholar by the College Board. 
  • Lady Tigers Volleyball Team Wins 2017 Sportsmanship Award - 10/25/2017 - The Dunham School is proud to announce that our Lady Tigers volleyball team has received the 2017 LHSAA Division V Sportsmanship Award from the Capital City Board of Volleyball Officials (CCBVO).
  • Dunham Seniors Receive National Merit Recognition - 10/25/2017 - The Dunham School is pleased to announce that seniors Ana Luisa Rodriguez and Anna Claire Saffell have been named  National Merit Commended students by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation in recognition of their outstanding academic promise. 
  • Gabby Walker '17 Named National AP Scholar - 10/25/2017 - Gabriella (Gabby) Walker `17 has been named a National Advanced Placement (AP)  Scholar by The College Board.  The National AP Scholar designation is an academic distinction granted to students in the United States who receive an average score of at least 4 on...more

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
State or regional independent school association
Southern Association Of Colleges And Schools (SACS)
AdvancED
Southern Association of Independent Schools
Religious AffiliationChristian
Grades OfferedGrades Prekindergarten-12
ADD/ADHD SupportYes
Learning Difference ProgramsYes
Learning Programs SupportedDyslexia/Language-based or Mild Learning Differences
Year Founded1981
Awards Blue Ribbon School - Selected in 2005

Student Body

Total Students735 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
10%
State avg.: 22%
Students by GradeThe Dunham School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers123 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio6:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
67%
Average Class Size14 students
Number of AP Courses25 courses
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Advanced CoursesAP Biology, AP Calculus AB, AP Calculus BC, AP Chemistry, AP Chinese, AP Computer Science, AP English Language and Composition, AP English Literature and Composition, AP European History, AP French, AP Latin, AP Physics C, AP Physics I, AP Psychology, AP Spanish Language, AP Statistics, AP Studio Art: 2D Design, AP Studio Art: 3D Design, AP US Government and Politics, AP US History,
Average ACT score26
Matriculation DataMatric. DataLink to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress CodeFormal
(Uniforms)

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineJan. 12 / rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost$16,656
Tuition Notes2017-2018 Tuition ranges from $8,350 to $16,565. Merit-based scholarships and tuition assistance awards are available.
% on Financial Aid
17%
Admissions DirectorMichelle Pricer
Admissions AssociateAshley D'Aubin

Sports

Total Sports Offered13 sports
SportsBaseball, Basketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Football, Golf, Soccer, Softball, Swimming, Tennis, Track and Field, Volleyball, WrestlingBaseballBasketball,
CheeringCross Country,
FootballGolf,
SoccerSoftball,
SwimmingTennis,
Track and FieldVolleyball,
Wrestling

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.27 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Band, Beta Club, Board Game Club, Choir, Dance, Dunham International Student Center, Fellowship of Christian Athletes, French Club, Friends of the MAC, Institute of Leadership, Interact Club, Jazz Band, Jr. Robotics, Latin Club, Lower School Chapel Helpers, Lower School Sunshine Helpers, Mathletes, Middle School House System, National Honors Society, National Jr. Honors Society, Peer-Tutoring, Prefect System, Robotics, Spanish Club, Theatre, Visual Arts, Youth Legislature Band, Beta Club, Choir, Dance, French Club, Interact Club, Jazz Band, Jr. Robotics, Latin Club, Mathletes, Peer-Tutoring, Prefect System, Robotics, Spanish Club, Theatre, Visual Arts, Board Game Club,
Dunham International Student Center,
Fellowship of Christian Athletes,
Friends of the MAC,
Institute of Leadership,
Lower School Chapel Helpers,
Lower School Sunshine Helpers,
Middle School House System,
National Honors Society,
National Jr. Honors Society,
Youth Legislature,

School Notes

  • At Dunham, you`ll find intentionally small classes, where a blend of traditional and innovative teaching is combined with the latest technology to ignite creativity and intellectual curiosity. You`ll discover expert teachers who treasure each child as the individual he or she was created to be, and you`ll find challenging academic, athletic, fine arts, and leadership programs that enable our 735 PreK3-12th grade students to meet their God-given potential now and in the future. But it`s not just our college preparatory curriculum, cutting-edge technology, and innovative programs that single us out as the leading independent school in Baton Rouge. It`s how our faculty and students use these resources every day-collaborating, problem solving, mentoring, communicating, learning, and leading-that`s unique. And it`s the Christ-like love modeled and lived out daily that creates a palpable and joyful spirit on our campus-a spirit that makes all the difference in preparing students for college and for life.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Baton Rouge
    Grades: PK-12 | 1274 students
    2.5 miles
    5750 Parkview Church Rd
    Baton Rouge, LA 70816
    (225)291-2500
    2.5PK-12
    1274
  • Baton Rouge
    Grades: PK-12 | 943 students
    4.1 miles
    3200 Woodland Ridge Blvd
    Baton Rouge, LA 70816
    (225)753-3180
    4.1PK-12
    943
  • Baton Rouge
    Hosanna Christian Academy
    (Assembly of God)
    Grades: PK-8 | 566 students
    4.3 miles
    8850 Goodwood Blvd
    Baton Rouge, LA 70806
    (225)926-4885
    4.3PK-8
    566
  • Baton Rouge
    Grades: PK-12 | 623 students
    2.9 miles
    2037 Quail Dr
    Baton Rouge, LA 70808
    (225)769-6760
    2.9PK-12
    623
  • Baton Rouge
    Grades: KG-12 | 214 students
    6.3 miles
    8919 World Ministry Ave
    Baton Rouge, LA 70826
    (225)768-3027
    6.3KG-12
    214

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (6 reviews)
5  5/17/2016
Best school in Baton Rouge! The small class size alone sets the school apart from so many others. With this environment the faculty/teachers provide so much more to each student as well as better academic attention. Dunham is the school for parents who are looking for a Christ centered education for their children as well as developing their character - "educating the mind and heart for Christ". It's present in this school.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
Two of my children have graduated and two still attend Dunham. We visited many schools in Baton Rouge before our final selection of Dunham. Though no school is perfect, Dunham has educated our children with a Christian worldview. They have ramped academics up over the last 5 years with excellent results. My graduates are thriving in college and medical school with the excellent foundation Dunham helped build. The Dunham community of teachers and parents has helped us through some challenging circumstances. THANK YOU to Dunham for all they are giving to my children.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
I have worked in several outstanding private schools prior to Dunham. I find the Dunham culture to be the healthiest I have ever known. People at Dunham work hard to make that culture so pervasive you can "feel" it. I suggest you come experience it personally.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
My 2 daughters have attended Dunham for a few years. The faculty truly care, pray for, and expect excellence from the students. I love the school and would recommend it to anyone!
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
Dunham has been the most challenging, loving and nurturing school we have ever attended. The individualized education and Christian atmosphere is like no other my family has experienced. My children have attended Dunham for a little over 4 years and I can not imagine sending my children any where else.
- Posted by
5  6/9/2013
This is a good quality school....
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
November 12, 2017
A fascinating look at where our first Presidents went to school.
October 24, 2017
There are a lot of misconceptions about private schools. This is probably because private schools are indeed private.
October 24, 2017
When making an important decision that will impact the lives of your children, you need to have all the facts in place. We compiled a list of the most important factors to consider when choosing a final private school for your child.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Baton Rouge, LA is $5,771 for elementary schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Baton Rouge, LA is 89% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).