The Putney School

5.00 5 1 (1 review)
Tel: (802)387-6232
  • The Putney School is an independent, coeducational, boarding and day school for grades 9-12.
  • At The Putney School, you will learn to think independently and communicate with clarity and conviction.
  • You will read, reflect, reason, and write a great deal.
  • In time, you will begin to see the world as a realm of infinite lessons to be understood and valued.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.Other special emphasis association(s)
National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
State or regional independent school association
Grades OfferedGrades 9-12
Year Founded1935

Student Body

Total Students226 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
34%
State avg.: 8%
Students by GradeThe Putney School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers30 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio8:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
70%
Average Class Size15 students

Finances and Admission

Yearly Tuition Cost$38,600
Tuition NotesDay students: $25,100
% on Financial Aid
43%
Admissions DirectorRick Cowan
Admissions AssociateLois Barber
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Ashburnham
    Grades: 9-12 | 400 students
    36.3 miles
    PO Box 8000, 39 School Street
    Ashburnham, MA 01430
    (978)827-7300
    36.39-12
    400
  • Tilton
    Grades: 9-12 | 257 students
    58.1 miles
    30 School Street
    Tilton, NH 03276
    (603)286-1733
    58.19-12
    257
  • Saxtons River
    Grades: 9-12 | 246 students
    10.6 miles
    P.O. Box 500
    Saxtons River, VT 05154
    (802)869-6229
    10.69-12
    246
  • Meriden
    Grades: 9-12 | 340 students
    41.4 miles
    7 Campus Center Drive
    Meriden, NH 03770
    (603)469-2100
    41.49-12
    340
  • Manchester
    Grades: 6-12 | 390 students
    55.6 miles
    2108 River Road
    Manchester, NH 03104
    (603)669-4524
    55.66-12
    390

School Reviews

5  12/7/2015
Putney is a wonderful and nurturing school with a fantastic arts program. It's been more than 10 years since I graduated and every passing year increases my understanding of what a special place Putney is and how blessed I was to attend. I received so much personal, academic, and creative support. I was given space and fantastic resources to discover myself as a person and an artist. I met lifelong friends and mentors. I was taught the value of hard work and time management. They met the superficial 'prep school' goal of helping me get into a top college. Going to Putney altered the course of my life in a wonderful way. I am forever in their debt.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
October 18, 2017
The Seattle area is home to many fine private schools as well as to major companies such as Microsoft, Boeing and Starbucks.
September 30, 2017
Scandals in private school are bound to raise questions for those of us thinking about sending our children to private school. Regardless of how sensational these scandals may appear, they are actually few and far between.
September 29, 2017
Parents have many reasons for deciding to take their children out of public school and enrolling them in private school. This circumstance is something which can happen at any stage of your child's education.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Windham County, VT is $47,916 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Windham County, VT is 74% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).