The Tenney School

5.00 5 1 (4 reviews)
3500 South Gessner Road
Houston, TX 77063
Tel: (713)783-6990
previous
next
  • The Tenney School promotes individualized learning and the acquisition of positive attitudes, advanced knowledge, and skills for success.
  • The program approach delivers individual student attention, customized instructional approaches, to maximized academic achievement for each student.

School Overview

School TypeSchool with Special Program Emphasis
School Membership(s)School Assoc.AdvancED
Religious AffiliationNonsectarian
Grades OfferedGrades 6-12
Learning Difference ProgramsYes
Learning Programs SupportedIndividualized Student Attention
Year Founded1973

Student Body

Total Students64 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
5%
State avg.: 35%
Students by GradeThe Tenney School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers30 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio2:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
50%
Average Class Size1 students
Number of AP Courses5 courses
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Advanced CoursesCalculus AB, Calculus BC, English III, English IV, Environmental Science, US History,
Matriculation DataMatric. DataLink to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress CodeCasual

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost$27,400
Acceptance Rate
74%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions DirectorMichael Tenney

School Notes

  • The Tenney School creates an enviornment in which students develop their academic skills and work ethic, leading to better performance in school and life. High school students pursue a regular or advanced diploma while the one student : one teacher approach allows individual learning needs and styles to be addressed. Small group classes provide peer interaction and group learning experiences. Beyond state mandated courses in english, mathematics, history and science, The Tenney School offers various electives such as Spanish, art, computer and SAT preparation, advanced placement classes in English are available to qualified students, flexibility in class scheduling can accommodate students with special circumstances.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Houston
    Grades: 9-12 | 70 students
    0.8 miles
    10255 Richmond Ave #100
    Houston, TX 77042
    (713)266-0920
    0.89-12
    70
  • Houston
    River Oaks Academy
    Special Education School
    Grades: 1-12 | 35 students
    1.3 miles
    10600 Richmond Ave
    Houston, TX 77042
    (713)783-7200
    1.31-12
    35
  • Houston
    Grades: PK-12 | 152 students
    17.5 miles
    13726 Cutten Rd
    Houston, TX 77069
    (281)444-9326
    17.5PK-12
    152
  • Houston
    St. Agnes Academy
    All-girls (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: 9-12 | 917 students
    1.4 miles
    9000 Bellaire Blvd
    Houston, TX 77036
    (713)219-5400
    1.49-12
    917
  • Houston
    Grades: PK-12 | 1750 students
    4.9 miles
    13077 Westella Dr
    Houston, TX 77077
    (281)496-7900
    4.9PK-12
    1750

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (4 reviews)
5  11/9/2017
This school was more than we could have ever hoped for. My son, a quiet child who keeps to himself, was getting lost in public school. We then tried a private Catholic school where his differing beliefs left him alienated by some students and teachers. He began to hate school. We found the Tenney school and were initially worrier about the higher tuition, but we went for an interview. This school makes learning so individualized that there is no way for a child to fall through the cracks. One on one teaching is absolutely amazing and the level of what my son is taking in and remembering is astounding. My son went from making all D's and F's to ALL A's almost immediately. He comes home excited about school and the things he's learned. He's taken up debate and is almost giddy when it's his time to speak. My shy child. The tuition is worth it and so much more. My only regret is that we did not come sooner.
- Posted by
5  11/9/2017
This is our first year at the Tenney School and we feel very pleased with the structure that the school offers.We are so thankful to the Tenney School for the opportunity they gave my son to be part of them .The school offers the creative environment where children are able to flourish in all areas of their lives. They are supported by masterful teachers and staff to help them face any challenges the kids have .
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
Our son recently began the sixth grade and we are very pleased with the difference and happiness we have witnessed after three weeks at Tenney. We believe our son is engaging in school and working on homework during proscribed school time. He seems happier and more relaxed about homework as well as preparing for tests and about going to school. We have found homework and home study time to be manageable allowing us to have more time to relax at home and enjoy being a family. In prior years, he has made A's in school with a lot of homework and parental assistance for test preparation. I believe we are beginning to see that the teachers at Tenney are effectively working with him resulting in his taking more ownership of his schoolwork and generally being happier.We are very pleased with Tenney.
- Posted by
5  12/7/2016
The Tenney School faculty do not only provide students with a quality education, they strive to create a healthy and inclusive learning environment for all. The one to one setup allows students to thrive and develop a curiosity for each respective subject. Truly a great school with an amazing community of people.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
January 17, 2018
Depending on their family circumstances, our Presidents received a wide range of primary and secondary schooling.
January 16, 2018
Part of the private school selection process is financial aid. We point out five issues about which you should be aware.
January 16, 2018
We look at why tuition costs vary so widely from school to school.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Houston, TX is $9,272 for elementary schools and $15,880 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Houston, TX is 84% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).
Related School Videos