The Wellington School

5.00 5 1 (7 reviews)
Tel: (614)457-7883
  • Founded in 1982 by a group of entrepreneurs, The Wellington School was the first coeducational, independent school in Columbus, Ohio. Today, students in preschool through grade 12 benefit from small classes as they have the extraordinary opportunity to dive deeply into their pursuit of knowledge and discover the joy of lifelong learning.
  • Wellington's inclusive environment fosters educational excellence, prioritizes individual inquiry, ignites curiosity and creativity, promotes social responsibility, and prepares students to lead in an evolving global community.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Independent Schools Association of the Central States
Grades OfferedGrades Nursery/Preschool-12
Year Founded1982

Student Body

Total Students651 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
State avg.: 21%
Students by GradeThe Wellington School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers94 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio7:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Advanced CoursesBiology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, English Language, European History, French Language, French Literature, Latin Literature, Latin Vergil, Music Theory, Physics, Spanish Language, Spanish Literature, Studio Art, United States History,
Matriculation DataMatric. DataLink to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress CodeFormal
(MacEwan plaid, red/white/navy polo shirts, khakis)

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Tuition Notes
Admissions DirectorMaryline Michel Kulewicz
Admissions AssociateSally Saeger Stratton


Total Sports Offered10 sports
SportsBaseball, Basketball, Cheering, Diving, Golf, Lacrosse, Soccer, Softball, Swimming, TennisBaseballBasketball,

School Notes

  • Wellington develops courageous young minds inspired and prepared to positively impact the world.
  • While standardization and larger class sizes have brought traditional education to a grinding halt, Wellington students thrive in a multicultural and inclusive environment that fosters their innate intellectual curiosity.
  • Wellington's forward-thinking curriculum pushes students to take ownership of their learning and move beyond textbooks and classroom walls, where devoted, world-class faculty guide them through a bold, new approach to achieving academic excellence. 
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Columbus
    Grades: PK-12 | 1087 students
    9.6 miles
    4300 Cherry Bottom Road
    Columbus, OH 43230
  • Columbus
    Grades: PK-12 | 567 students
    8 miles
    65 S. Drexel. Ave.
    Columbus, OH 43209
  • Columbus
    Grades: PK-8 | 117 students
    3.6 miles
    3916 Indianola Avenue
    Columbus, OH 43214
  • Columbus
     St Joseph Montessori School
    Montessori School (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: PK-8 | 240 students
    4.9 miles
    933 Hamlet St
    Columbus, OH 43201
  • Columbus
    Grades: NS-12 | 530 students
    4 miles
    935 Northridge Road
    Columbus, OH 43224

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (7 reviews)
5  11/24/2017
By far the best private school in Columbus. Excellent out of classroom enrichment and academics. They are masterful at addressing and nurturing the whole child and incorporating trendsetting ideas and philosophies into the curriculum. Where else do students learn and apply Dweck's Mindset or learn about the science/art of happiness?
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
From preschool to high school, our children have thrived at Wellington. They are challenged, supported, and engaged. I am amazed at the opportunities for learning and growing.
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
We cannot imagine any other place for our family. We love all that Wellington has to offer its students!
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
Our three children have thrived over the years at Wellington. They are challenged, engaged, and curious. The community feels like family and the teachers are truly innovative.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
Our son loves Wellington: his classroom and summer options experiences have been wonderful. We initially choose The Wellington school for its promise of an innovative, individualized learning environment. Not only have they lived up to this promise, but we have joined a true community focused on our children's learning. He has been challenged intellectually and creatively by a staff of caring teachers. At four, he talked of being at Wellington until he goes to college. We cannot imagine any other place for him to grow and learn.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
All three of my children attended Wellington K-12, and we could not have had a better experience. The innovative curriculum truly prepared my children for TODAYS world, where the demands are not about what you memorize, but how you learn, communicate and collaborate. Wellington provided my children with the confidence to be their best selves, to be curious about the world, with a grounding of solid midwest values. All three have had/are having successful college experiences. All three play/ed college athletics (including Division 1). All three are out in the world engaged in meaningful, global experiences. For the better part of our time at Wellington, I was a single mom. The environment was so incredibly supportive, truly partnering with me to help me raise my kids. I am forever grateful. I am an entrepreneur/business owner for over 30 years; I have worked with many Fortune 500 leaders in my life, and I can honestly say the leadership of this school is top notch. The school continues to get better and better. I hope someday I''ll have grandchildren who will have the chance to go to Wellington.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
We have been at Wellington for 4 years. Our son is in the Lower School. The teachers, including the specials teachers (art, music, PE, French, library, guidance, technology, Science), are caring, talented and dedicated professionals. They are passionate about teaching and get to know each student individually. The school is committed to challenging students, offering outside-the-classroom experiences (gardening, skiing, swimming, park and museum visits, etc.), and integrating learning across disciplines. The school community is very warm and welcoming, and there are many opportunities for families to be involved, whether through volunteering, reading or sharing with classes, or attending school events (breakfasts, lunch bunch, holiday sing, speakers, book discussions, etc.). We are very happy with Wellington and would highly recommend visiting and speaking with current families to learn more about whether the school would be a good fit for your family.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
March 01, 2018
Shootings, terrorist attacks, tornadoes, floods, earthquakes, fire, and more are sadly commonplace happenings in the 21st-century. How prepared for the unthinkable is your school?
February 21, 2018
Raising children involves constant attention to their development and progress. Identifying learning disabilities must be part of your plan.
February 19, 2018
Think of the school search process as a series of checkpoints, each of which has a due date. We show you when to do the various items in the search process.
Request Information
I am a:      
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Applying for financial aid?:
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Columbus, OH is $5,643 for elementary schools and $13,518 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Columbus, OH is 78% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).