Veritas Academy

5.00 5 1 (9 reviews)
Tel: (717)556-0690
previous
next
  • Veritas Academy is a classical Christian school founded in 1996 to serve the community of Lancaster county, Pennsylvania.
  • The academy offers students in Preschool through Twelfth Grade an engaging curriculum that includes a thorough commitment to the first three of the seven liberal arts-grammar, logic and rhetoric.
  • These three liberal arts are known as the Trivium.
  • Veritas Academy is equipping the next generation to lead and transform culture for Christ by providing a world class, distinctively classical and Christian education, resulting in joyful young people who love truth, beauty and goodness.
  • Veritas Academy is committed to their mission of cultivating loving, serving, thinking students through classical Christian education.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.Association of Classical and Christian Schools (ACCS)
Religious AffiliationChristian
Grades OfferedGrades Prekindergarten-12
ADD/ADHD SupportYes
Year Founded1996

Student Body

Total Students280 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
9%
State avg.: 22%
Students by GradeVeritas Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers40 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio7:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
45%
Average Class Size18 students
Number of AP Courses1 courses
Advanced CoursesAdvanced Placement Physics
Average SAT score1203
Classroom Dress CodeFormal
(Uniform)

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost$9,725
Tuition NotesKindergarten (1/2 day) tuition is $6625 Kindergarten (Full Day) tuition is $9125 Grades 1-6 tuition is $9350 Grades 7-12 tution is $9600
% on Financial Aid
50%
Acceptance Rate
95%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions DirectorJill Trimbath

Sports

Total Sports Offered3 sports
SportsBasketball, Cross Country, VolleyballBasketballCross Country,
Volleyball

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.12 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Ensemble, Grammar School Choir, Madrigal Feast, New York City Field Trip, Secondary School Choir, Student Servathon, Washington DC Field Trip, Winter Colonial Ball

Club or Organization:
Chess Club, International Club

Recreational Athletic Programs:
Grammar School Basketball Team, Grammar School Cross Country Team
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Mountville
    Grades: PK-12 | 258 students
    8 miles
    120 College Avenue
    Mountville, PA 17554
    (717)285-2000
    8PK-12
    258
  • Lititz
    Linden Hall
    All-girls
    Grades: 5-12 | 226 students
    7.9 miles
    212 E Main St
    Lititz, PA 17543
    (717)626-8512
    7.95-12
    226
  • Lititz
    Grades: NS-12 | 332 students
    9 miles
    501 W Lincoln Ave
    Lititz, PA 17543
    (717)626-9518
    9NS-12
    332
  • Manheim
    Grades: PK-8 | 203 students
    13.2 miles
    686 Lebanon Rd
    Manheim, PA 17545
    (717)665-4300
    13.2PK-8
    203

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (9 reviews)
5  11/9/2017
Veritas Academy in Leola has been an incredible blessing to our children and family. The school welcomes the entire family into their community, and we have been as blessed by our interactions with other parents and teachers as our children have by their peers and classes! We highly recommend the school .
- Posted by
5  11/9/2017
My children have attended Veritas for several years now and I cannot say how much the investment that their teachers make in their lives means to me. As each year goes by, I see the markings of Godliness left on their lives from their teachers. I can't imagine their education without Veritas and I cannot recommend it enough.
- Posted by
5  11/9/2017
Our daughter has been attending Veritas for four years now, and she is thriving there. I have a master's degree in education and have gotten a good sense of schools in Lancaster county, and I believe Veritas to be the best of them. Particularly, I think the school uses students' time very well; they work hard all day learning valuable content, and no homework is issued in the elementary school years. The teachers are warm and loving, the staff is professional and kind, and the families who attend are thoughtful, generous people with strong investment in their children's lives. Virtue and character are promoted here in their truest sense, not by the teaching of generic monthly character traits, but by careful study of the Bible, the reading of excellent books, and real-life interactions amongst students and their teachers.
- Posted by
5  11/9/2017
We have been so happy to send our kids to Veritas. The teachers are outstanding and challenge the students - Latin is taught in second grade! It's an impressive curriculum and well-done. We're glad to be a part of this community.
- Posted by
5  11/9/2017
We have been homeschooling our girls for the last 6 years and when we knew it was time for them to attend a school, Veritas became the clear leader in our search. From the moment we made contact with Veritas Academy, the school's professional administrators and staff were beyond helpful in detailing the school`s educational program. We were looking for a school that would first reflect the heart of Jesus Christ and a reverence for the word of God. Veritas Academy teaches the method we were looking for in a school, the method of grammar, logic, and rhetoric that will develop our children to be effective thinkers and communicators.
- Posted by
5  11/9/2017
I came to PA from NY to surprise my granddaughters for a quick visit. During my visit, I visited them at their school, Veritas Academy who has a welcoming open door policy. When I was in one of my granddaughters classes, I was impressed with the curriculum. A teaching method used to learn events in history is done through singing and hand motions. The children in the class were so well behaved and attentive. Being in the teaching field myself, I quickly realized Veritas Academy is a great school.
- Posted by
5  4/7/2017
In the months leading up to our Big School Decision I heard a podcast that addressed the "Great School Debate" and weighed the options facing parents today. The podcast described their experience with a small Christian school as "a warm hug." As the mom of a six year old introvert with a strong desire to be with his parents all hours of the day, the idea of school being a "warm hug" was intriguing to me.From the moment I first observed the Veritas kindergarteners singing "Holy, Holy, Holy" on my first tour of the school, I knew this was the environment I wanted for my son. The structure, the excellent education, the emphasis on manners, and the solid Biblical worldview had me at hello. Knowing the teachers are not only the emotional version of a warm hug, but a spiritual one, too, helps me to rest a little easier. I can walk down the hall after kindergarten drop-off with confidence knowing my child is seen, cared for, prayed over, and loved. And when he needs it, hugged.
- Posted by
5  4/7/2017
We have had a wonderful experience at Veritas! The classical model makes Veritas a very unique school in Lancaster County. As parents we are impressed by the amount of information our kids are able to learn and retain. More importantly, we appreciate the way teachers and administrators come alongside us to carry out the goals we have for our children. Building their character and preparing them to know and share Christ in this world.
- Posted by
5  4/7/2017
Veritas Academy is a friendly, warm and welcoming school. Three of my children are thriving at Veritas. The teachers are especially knowledgeable and skilled, and beyond that, they care deeply for my children and help them work through life with Christ as their Helper. I love the quality education my kids are receiving in every subject, including broad History and Science in addition to the "3 Rs." Adding Bible, Latin, Music, and Art, Veritas does a great job as a Classical Christian school.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
January 16, 2018
Part of the private school selection process is financial aid. We point out five issues about which you should be aware.
January 16, 2018
We look at why tuition costs vary so widely from school to school.
January 08, 2018
Changes to the Tax Code in late 2017 included the addition of saving for K-12 private school education to 529 plans. We take a look at what this means for families thinking about private school for their children.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Lancaster County, PA is $5,771 for elementary schools and $12,163 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Lancaster County, PA is 92% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).