Center Academy

5.00 5 1 (3 reviews)
341 North Orlando Avenue
Maitland, FL 32751
Tel: (407)772-8727
  • The mission of Center Academy is to provide students with a learning environment that facilitates the development of self-confidence, motivation, and academic skills, and gives students the opportunity to achieve success in life.
  • It is often difficult for a child to maintain self-esteem when his/her learning requirements differ from other students in school.
  • Therefore, we offer a highly structured educational program in an atmosphere that is familiar, understanding, nurturing, and supportive.

School Overview

School Type Special Education School
School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Independent Private Schools Association
Southern Association Of Colleges And Schools (SACS)
Grades Offered Grades 5-12
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported LD, ADHD, Dyslexia, Dysgraphia, Learning Differences, Motivation
Year Founded 1968

Student Body

Total Students 72 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
20%
State avg.: 32%
Students by Grade Center Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 8 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 9:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 16 students
Classroom Dress Code Casual
(collared shirt)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Tuition Notes Tuition varies, with need-based and McKay Scholarships available
% on Financial Aid
70%
Acceptance Rate
90%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Joann Sas, M.S.Ed.

Sports

Total Sports Offered 5 sports
Sports Basketball, Bowling, Flag Football, Soccer, VolleyballBasketballBowling,
Flag FootballSoccer,
Volleyball
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Winter Springs
    Arbor School of Central Florida
    Special Education School
    Grades: K-12 | 81 students
    5.5 miles
    1010 SPRING VILLAS PT
    Winter Springs, FL 32708
    (407)388-1808
    5.5K-12
    81
  • Winter Springs
    Grades: 1-12 | 87 students
    5.9 miles
    894 Gary Hillery Drive
    Winter Springs, FL 32708
    (407)366-1099
    5.91-12
    87
  • Orlando
    Avalon School
    Special Education School
    Grades: 1-12 | 112 students
    2.9 miles
    5002 Andrus Ave
    Orlando, FL 32804
    (407)297-4353
    2.91-12
    112
  • Orlando
    West Oaks Academy
    (Church of God)
    Grades: PK-12 | 259 students
    8.8 miles
    8624 A D Mims Road
    Orlando, FL 32818
    (407)292-8481
    8.8PK-12
    259
  • Orlando
    The Conrad Academy
    Special Education School (Christian)
    Grades: K-12 | 268 students
    10.9 miles
    9580 Curry Ford Rd
    Orlando, FL 32825
    (407)243-2211
    10.9K-12
    268

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (3 reviews)
5  5/17/2016
My son has been attending Center Academy for 3 years. My heart broke when my elementary age son hated going to his previous school, grades were dropping and his overall self-esteem. Just over a few months I saw a HUGE difference in him. He actually wants to be at school 30 minutes early now. He has great friends and makes A's and B's. I can't describe in words how much mental stress this has saved me as a mother. I truly consider this school to be like family.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
I have found Center Academy to be the best school for providing an individual educational plan for students with learning differences. They truly customize a program for each subject based on your child's needs. The principal and teachers are extremely professional, kind and compassionate towards students and parents. My son is treated with respect, held accountable for his progress, works independently while getting all the individual support he needs to succeed. His progress in just two years at C.A. has been amazing. We are very excited about the new Maitland facility next year with its indoor gymnasium and lunch room. The kids are gonna love it!
- Posted by
5  3/14/2013
My daughter has CAPD and Dyslexia. CA not only designed a individualized curriculum for her, but helped her make up a grade level lost in the public school system. With teachers that really care about their students success, one on one guidence, small class sizes, individual cubbies for each student, and an administrative staff dedicated to helping each student reach their full potential... I can think of no other school for my daughter.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
April 25, 2017
What are the attributes which make 21st century military schools so special? We find out in this article.
April 25, 2017
If you are looking for a college preparatory education with a military emphasis, then take a look at military schools.
April 25, 2017
School uniforms are largely found at religious, parochial and military schools. Dress codes have replaced uniforms at most schools.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Orange County, FL is $6,335 for elementary schools and $10,437 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Orange County, FL is 89% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).