Landon School

previous
next
Landon School Photo #1 - We believe requiring a boy to engage in an array of experiences introduces him to passions and abilities he didn`t know he had, which is essential to his emotional, social, physical, and intellectual growth.
Landon School Photo #2 - Relationships drive our education. Our teacher-coach-mentors get to know your son in the classroom, on the playing field and on stage, meaning they understand how to challenge and support your son in multiple areas.
Landon School Photo #3 - With only 14 students in the average class, your son will be able to focus on college-prep academics and receive close, individualized attention from expert faculty.
Landon School Photo #4 - Every boy participates in athletics because it instills teamwork skills and healthy living habits. Boys choose from 22 sports.
Landon School Photo #5 - Every Landon boy participates in studio arts until 11th grade, and many continue through graduation.
Landon School Photo #6 - From our renowned handbells program to symphonic band, theater arts, and chorus, Landon`s 22 arts programs offer every boy the chance to develop his talents.
Landon School Photo #7 - Nestled in Bethesda, Maryland, just outside our nation's capital, Landon's beautiful 75-acre campus resembles that of a small college.
Landon School Photo #8 - Our diversity, equity, and inclusion programs include partnerships with A Call to Men and Connect DMV.
Landon School Photo #9 - Landon has an academic technology program that will soon feature 1-to-1 Microsoft Surface computers with developmentally appropriate use.
Landon School Photo #10 - Our emphasis on character education anchors our entire approach-from our comprehensive ethics, service, and leadership program to collaborations with Holton-Arms School.
Landon School is a private, non-religious, and college preparatory all-boys school for students in grades 3-12.
We are located on 75 acres in Bethesda, MD, outside of Washington, D.C.
We have six bus routes that serve MD, DC, and VA.
Our class size average is 14 students.  40% of our students are students of color.
70%of our full-time faculty have advanced degrees.  53% of Class of 2020 graduates attending Top 50 universities or colleges on U.S. News & World Report lists.
28% of our students receive financial aid.  We offer 22 arts and 22 athletics options.

Quick Stats (2021)

  • Top Ranked MD School
  • Grades: 3-12
  • Students: 670 students
  • Average class size: 14 students
  • Application Deadline: Jan. 10

School News

  • Staying active with athletics - 09/30/2020
    Our athletics program during distance learning is on campus, socially distanced, and in small groups following safety guidelines.
  • Week in Review #3 - 09/30/2020
    From music to athletics to academics and encouraging messages, our Bears had another week filled with creativity!
  • Students receive academic honors - 09/01/2020
    Seven Landon Upper School students received academic honors in September 2020. Kyle Radimer `21 has been named a National Merit Scholar semifinalist as a part of the 66th annual National ...moreMerit Scholarship Program. Kyle is one of 16-thousand semifinalists from around the country.The National Merit Scholarship program honors students who display the potential for excellence in their college studies. To be chosen as a Merit Scholar, Kyle will be evaluated on standardized test scores, academic work, extracurricular activities, a letter of recommendation, and a personal essay.Additionally, USA Water Polo has announced that varsity water polo student-athletes Charlie Alberino `22, Spencer Durbin `22, Logan Kalish `21, Jordan Rose `21, Pierce Ryan `22 and Christian Thomas `21 have been named as Academic All-Americans award winners for the 2019-20 school year. In individual emails notifying the students, USA Water Polo wrote, "We are proud to acknowledge your hard work and dedication in the pool and in the classroom." hide
  • Week in Review #2 - 09/01/2020
    In our latest week in review, the senior class learned about their legacy as leaders of the student body, students focused on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, and chemistry students designed ...morevirtual lockers to introduce themselves to classmates. hide
  • Nine tips to wear and handle masks properly - 09/01/2020
    This blog post is part of a series of #WellnessWednesday tips. This week, the Landon wellness team shares tips on how to wear, clean, and maintain a mask. Masks are ...morean important part of the fight against COVID-19. According to medical experts, the main way the virus spreads is through large respiratory droplets that enter into your airway. This is done by either breathing it in or through contaminated hands that touch your eyes, nose, or mouth. In addition to practicing social distancing and frequent handwashing, masks are an essential tool to help block the transmission of the coronavirus. hide
  • Week in Review #1 - 09/01/2020
    Landon Bears started this week with virtual Convocation and on Wednesday small groups of students spent time on campus getting to know their peers, learning about college counseling, and talking ...moreabout growth mindset in Advisory. hide
  • Orientation Week 2020 - 08/26/2020
    During our week of small group on campus orientation, Landon Bears went on socially distant tours of campus, learned about the Landon Code of Character, and safely played games to ...moreget to know their peers.
    Click here to view our video to get an inside look at Orientation Week 2020.
    hide
  • Neighbors say "thank you" to Dr. Fauci - 08/07/2020
    he Washington Post reported on the efforts of the Bergstrom family to recognize their neighbor, Dr. Anthony Fauci, the Director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases.Landon parent ...moreIda Bergstrom came up with the idea to sell "Thank you Dr. Fauci" yard signs after a neighbor asked about the one she had created and placed in her yard. Every other day, her sons (both Landon students) collect a list of addresses from their mother, fill their backpacks with signs, and crisscross the neighborhood to fulfill orders. They install the signs in the ground themselves, placing them near other lawn signs or strategically positioning them to face an intersection where drivers are likely to see them.The Bergstroms have sold nearly 200 signs. The initiative also has spread far beyond the neighborhood. Ida Bergstrom says, thanks to this endeavor, they have donated around $2,500 to Life Pieces to Masterpieces, an organization that, though art, helps African-American boys transform their lives and communities.You can find the full article here. hide
  • ...read more

Top Placements

Landon School places among the top 20% of private schools in Maryland for:

School Overview

Grades Offered
Grades 3-12
Learning Difference Programs
Yes
Year Founded
1929
Summer School Offered
Yes
Summer Program Details

Student Body

Total Students
670 students
Student Body Type
% Students of Color
40%
State avg.: 37%

Academics and Faculty

% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
70%
Average Class Size
14 students
List of Courses Offered
Advanced Courses
Biology, Calculus AB and BC, Chemistry, Computer Science, Computer Science Principles, Economics (Micro & Macro), Environmental Science, Music Theory, Physics 1 and C, Psychology, Psychology (AP), Statistics, Studio Arts, U.S. History
Average SAT score
1320
Average ACT score
29
Matriculation DataMatric. Data
Classroom Dress Code
Formal
(Jacket and Tie)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline
Jan. 10
Tuition Notes
Grades 3-5 $41,290 Grades 6-12 $44,960
% on Financial Aid
28%
Average Financial Aid Grant
$23,458
Admissions Director
Sarah Powers
Admissions Associate
Kareena Mims

Sports

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.
27 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.
Club or Organization:
Ally Council, Bad Movie Club, Black Student Union, Community Service Club, Debate Team, Honor Council, Investments Club, Model UN, Sports Analytics Club, STEM, Student Council

Arts and Music Programs:
Ceramics, Choral Groups, Drawing, Instrumental Music, Jazz Ensemble, Mixed Media Art, Painting, Photography, Sculpture, Studio Arts, Theater Arts, Vocal Ensemble

Recreational Athletic Programs:
Fencing, Rugby, Street Hockey, Ultimate Frisbee
Profile last updated:

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (2 reviews)
5  
As a family, we love Landon's Teacher/Coach/Mentor model. The education, teachers, and campus are all an excellent choice for our son. We are completely thrilled with the variety of educational and extracurricular opportunities for our son!
- Posted by
5  
Incredible experience. The community is second to none and it is an all round great place to send your boys.
- Posted by

Endorse Landon School. Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards
Endorse this school:

Recent Articles

What A Teacher Does
What A Teacher Does
A teacher wears many hats. Here's a look at her duties and responsibilities.
How Diverse Are Private Schools?
How Diverse Are Private Schools?
Decades ago private schools could have been accused of being elitist. You had to have money to attend. The student populations were fairly homogeneous. Fortunately that has changed.
Private School Job Searching 101
Private School Job Searching 101
Here is a guide for teachers and administrators seeking employment in private schools. Think of it as a roadmap for the job search process.

Quick Stats (2021)

  • Top Ranked MD School
  • Grades: 3-12
  • Students: 670 students
  • Average class size: 14 students
  • Application Deadline: Jan. 10

Request Information

Did You Know?

The average private school tuition in Bethesda, MD is $26,898 for elementary schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).

Related School Videos

Quick Links