Oakcrest is an independent school for girls grades 6-12 guided by the teachings of the Catholic Church.
For over 45 years, we have provided an exceptional liberal arts education to girls of all faiths in Northern VA, MD, and DC. Oakcrest's permanent campus is located on 23 acres in Vienna, VA. Bus Service provided.
Our Admissions team is here to assist you in staying connected to Oakcrest. For more information on admissions events, click here.

Quick Stats (2022-23)

  • Top Ranked VA School
  • Grades: 6-12
  • Enrollment: 297 students
  • Average class size: 15 students
  • Application Deadline: Dec. 16 / Jan. 18
  • Source: Verified school update

School News

  • Oakcrest Basketball Team Accomplishes Firsts - 03/21/2022
    By accomplishing a couple of program firsts in having a career 1,000-point scorer and winning a state-tournament game, the 2021-22 girls high-school basketball season was one of the best in ...morehistory for the Oakcrest School Chargers. hide
  • Oakies Serve Up Creative Entries at Annual Middle School Cake Competition - 03/11/2022
    Students, faculty and staff recently gathered in Walsh Hall for a beloved Oakcrest tradition-the Annual Middle School Cake Competition.The competition, which is in its 8th year, is a way ...morefor Oakies of all grades to share their baking skills and creativity with the community while raising money for Oakcrest`s school charity. hide
  • Oakcrest Varsity Basketball Team Celebrates Historic Season - 03/08/2022
    As the winter sports season comes to a close, Oakcrest School`s Varsity Basketball team is celebrating a historic season. From playing in the Virginia Independent Schools Athletic Association (VISAA) Division ...moreII State Championships to racking up impressive individual athletic accomplishments, the Chargers made this a year to remember. hide
  • Science Olympiad Team Advances to States for Fourth Year in a Row - 03/04/2022
    Oakcrest School`s Science Olympiad team is once again advancing to the Virginia State Science Olympiad Tournament after competing in the Lake Braddock regional tournament on Saturday, February 26.
  • Oakcrest School Receives Extraordinary Gift To Name Future Athletic Center - 10/29/2021
    On September 14, 2021 Oakcrest School received an extraordinary pledge from Mr. and Mrs. Brian McGowan of McLean, Virginia to support the completion of the construction of its beautiful new ...moreathletic facility. The new center will be named the McGowan Family Athletic Center. hide

Top Rankings

Oakcrest School ranks among the top 20% of private schools in Virginia for:

Category
Attribute
Sports offered

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.
Religious Affiliation
Grades Offered
Grades 6-12
Year Founded
1976

Student Body

Total Students
297 students
Student Body Type
% Students of Color
22%
State avg.: 30%
Students by Grade
Oakcrest School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers
46 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio
6:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
75%
Average Class Size
15 students
Number of AP Courses
16 courses
List of Courses Offered
Advanced Courses
AP Art History, AP Biology, AP Calculus AB, AP Calculus BC, AP Chemistry, AP English Language and Composition, AP English Literature, AP European History, AP Latin, AP Music Theory, AP Physics, AP Spanish Language, AP Statistics, AP Studio Art, AP U.S. Government & Politics, AP U.S. History
Matriculation DataMatric. Data
Classroom Dress Code
Formal
Uniform

Tuition and Acceptance Rate

Admission Deadline
Dec. 16 / Jan. 18
Tuition Notes
Middle School: $28,335 Upper School: $30,855
% on Financial Aid
50%
Average Financial Aid Grant
$11,500
Admissions Director
Cynthia Bertolini
Admissions Associate
Janet Monroe

Sports

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.
17 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.
Club or Organization:
6th Grade Club, Debate Team, English Honor Society, Junior Classical League, Literary Magazine, Math Honor Society/Virginia Math League, National Honor Society, Newspaper Club, Respect Life Club, Science Olympiad, Spanish Honor Society, Student Ambassadors, Student Council

Arts and Music Programs:
Harp Circle, Middle School Liturgical Choir, Theatre, Upper School Liturgical Choir

School Notes

  • As an independent school guided by the teachings of the Catholic Church, Oakcrest School has the freedom to nurture, challenge, and inspire young women. Our rich liberal arts curriculum allows girls to discover their passions and become confident leaders with a deep sense of purpose and service to others. Each day at Oakcrest is filled with an enthusiastic, vibrant spirit of love and learning. As a result, our girls thrive and grow in wisdom and virtue. 
Source: Verified school update

Frequently Asked Questions

What sports does Oakcrest School offer?

Oakcrest School offers 11 interscholastic sports: Basketball, Cross Country, Field Hockey, Golf, Lacrosse, Soccer, Softball, Swimming, Tennis, Track and Field and Volleyball. Oakcrest School is ranked as one of the top 20% of private schools in Virginia for most sports offered.

What is Oakcrest School's ranking?

Oakcrest School ranks among the top 20% of private schools in Virginia for: Largest student body, Most sports offered and Most extracurriculars offered.

When is the application deadline for Oakcrest School?

The application deadline for Oakcrest School is Dec. 16 / Jan. 18.

School Calendar

View the Oakcrest School yearly calendar below. Note key dates such as:

Event
Date
Martin Luther King Jr. Day - School Closed
January 16, 2023 (Monday)
50th March for Life - School Closed
January 20, 2023 (Friday)
Presidents Day - School Closed
February 20, 2023 (Monday)
Last Day for Seniors
May 17, 2023 (Wednesday)
Memorial Day - School Closed
May 29, 2023 (Monday)

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (7 reviews)
5  
Our daughter started Oakcrest as a 6th grader. We are so glad we made the leap of faith to have her attend Oakcrest. Her academic education has been outstanding. Oakcrest emphasizes meaningful work outside the classroom so her homework load has been very manageable despite the most demanding class schedule allowed at Oakcrest. Her class sizes are small and her teachers are very involved with each class so she really uses her time in school to deeply understand what is taught. Her math teachers have held weekly review sessions for interested students as needed in different years. Her AP science class had less than 10 students in it and her teacher has a PhD in a hard science. This same teacher started the Science Olympiad club and built a team that qualified for the state tournament 2 years in a row within 5 years. Her quality of life at school has been excellent. She has played a varsity sport since 7th grade. She has been involved with music, theater, clubs, student government, and so much more. Our daughter has close friendships with other students and teachers and other adults at school who know her heart and care about her beyond the classroom. When it came time to apply to college, Oakcrest's college counseling program provides an incredible amount of support. At Oakcrest, college counseling services begin in 9th grade. This is a service that we came to value beyond measure. Our daughter was accepted at her first choice school and we are delighted to be paying in state tuition in Virginia! We will miss having a student at Oakcrest, but are very thankful that our daughter had 7 years there.
- Posted by
5  
My daughter is a rising senior at Oakcrest who has been there since 9th grade. She has grown into a positive, confident, caring young woman. She is challenged academically and socially and has grown in her faith. The school itself is beautiful and very welcoming.
- Posted by
5  
We have had three daughters graduate from Oakcrest (2013, 2015 & 2018). Each one's personality is unique and yet all three loved their Oakcrest experience. We believe it's because the school is so good at valuing the individual and helping her to grow holistically - not only academically - but personally and spiritually. It doesn't matter if your child is an extrovert or introvert, boisterous or painfully shy all personality types are welcome and cherished by the school's community. We were very interested in Oakcrest's approach to education. While we had limited experience with "single-sex" education we were convinced after talking with more seasoned parents that the school offered an academically challenging course loan in a supportive and collegian environment. Sealing the deal for us was the number of times we witnessed how happy the girls are at Oakcrest and the easy exchange between students of different grade levels. We appreciated the all-female faculty and coaching staff and its impact on the girl's education in and outside of the classroom.Our girls enjoyed the small class sizes, the leadership opportunities in various extracurricular activities (all three had the opportunity to be captain of a sports team during their high school career), and the opportunity to attend daily Mass or track down a priest for Confession. As parents, we appreciated the community service requirements, the college prep assistance, the inspirational guest speakers and the school's commitment to The Arts with middle and high school plays, band and chorus competitions. The school's stated philosophy is to challenge "girls in grades 6-12 to develop their intellect, character, faith and leadership potential to thrive in college and throughout their lives." We've witnessed the results of an Oakcrest education first hand in all three of our daughters. We highly recommend the school. It bears good fruit.
- Posted by
5  
I have sent all of my daughters to Oakcrest and have been extremely satisfied with their formation at this school. They are well educated and well rounded when they graduate. They have gone on to succeed at their respective colleges .
- Posted by
5  
I am a current student at Oakcrest. This is my first year here and I really enjoy it. The school has already made such an impact on me.The teachers are great and really care about you. They are very enthusiastic about what they teach and want to help you excel in your classes. The classes are very enjoyable and I have already learned so much. One class I have learned a lot in is Spanish. I used to not be really interested in other languages, but now I am becoming more involved in class and really wanting to further my knowledge of the language. Also, since it is an all-girls school, there are no boys in class to distract you or make it take longer to learn something. Since coming to Oakcrest I have also gained a greater understanding of my faith. I go to mass often, because it is offered every day, and am becoming more involved in the Church because of that. I have read at Mass multiple times, brought up the gifts, and other things. I am also joining things at my own church, such as the choir. I have time after mass to reflect and talk with God, something I did not have at my old school. Confession is offered almost all day long, and in religion classes, we get into discussions about religion, that let all students be more aware of their faith. This school has many different sports you can be a part of, I did volleyball in the fall and am doing swimming this winter. Because of its small student body size, Oakcrest gives students the opportunity to try new sports, while not having to worry about not making the team. Still, though, the sports are competitive. For example, my swim relay already made states and we are very excited about it. Another quality of Oakcrest, is that you can have friends in many grades. The older students are welcoming and do not shut out younger kids. The students in lower grades are not "scared" of older students. This creates a dynamic in which students of all ages can be friends. I have multiple friends in grades 6-12. The environment is very nice as well. The building is beautiful. We can always eat outside and spend time there. Each grade gets their own common areas as well, so we have the lockers there and some seating spaces too.You can partake in many different sorts of extracurricular activities as well. I do Debate club, Ambassadors club, and Respect Life club. Debate club is very fun and lets me be able to debate over issues I care about or learn more about ones I don't know as much about. Ambassadors club is a leadership club where I can introduce people to Oakcrest and be a sort of representative of it. All of the different clubs Oakcrest offers, lets students learn more and do fun things with their peers. Also, it is very easy to start a club of your own. All in all, I definitely would recommend Oakcrest. There are so many opportunities here and possibilities to come if you take advantage of it.
- Posted by
5  
Our daughter started at Oakcrest in 8th grade, and I wish she could have started in 6th grade because the middle school is such a fantastic environment where girls learn to grow in self-confidence, take academic risks, and figure out both who they are and who they strive to be. Oakcrest's academic program is rigorous and top-notch in all disciplines. They offer at least 16 AP courses. Oakcrest's small class sizes, one-to-one mentoring program, faith formation, athletics, commitment to service, and deep commitment to educating the whole person combine to offer a uniquely superb school environment. We are so grateful for all that Oakcrest is doing for our daughter, and know that when she graduates, she will be equipped both intellectually and personally to face the challenges of college and beyond.
- Posted by
5  
This school is amazing. I felt so welcome and open to talk to anybody. All the grades talk and are friends. All different teaching styles.
- Posted by

Endorse Oakcrest School. Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards
Endorse this school:

Recent Articles

How To Find The School You Want
How To Find The School You Want
Finding the right school for your child is a major project. However, if you tackle it methodically, you will get good results. Here's a roadmap to finding the school you want.
Private School Supplies
Private School Supplies
Your child will need lots of supplies when she goes off to private school. These lists will help get you organized.
A Baker's Dozen of 'Must Have' Sites
A Baker's Dozen of 'Must Have' Sites
Here are my picks for 'must have' web sites when it comes to finding out about private K-12 schools.

Quick Stats (2022-23)

  • Top Ranked VA School
  • Grades: 6-12
  • Enrollment: 297 students
  • Average class size: 15 students
  • Application Deadline: Dec. 16 / Jan. 18
  • Source: Verified school update

Request Information

Did You Know?

The average private school tuition in Fairfax County, VA is $19,297 for elementary schools and $21,638 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Fairfax County, VA is 82% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).

Quick Links