Oakcrest School

Oakcrest is an independent school for girls grades 6-12 guided by the teachings of the Catholic Church.
For over 45 years, we have provided an exceptional liberal arts education to girls of all faiths in Northern VA, MD, and DC. Oakcrest's permanent campus is located on 23 acres in Vienna, VA. Bus Service provided.
Our Admissions team is here to assist you in staying connected to Oakcrest. For more information on admissions events, click here.

Quick Stats (2021-22)

  • Top Ranked VA School
  • Grades: 6-12
  • Students: 298 students
  • Average class size: 15 students
  • Application Deadline: Jan. 18

Upcoming Events and News

  • Oakcrest Announces 2021 Fall Theatre Production - 09/13/2021
    Middle School students will perform Dear Edwina Jr. this fall. The musical, directed by theatre teacher Dr. Kristin O`Malley, will be performed on November 5 and 6 at the Ernst ...moreCommunity Theater in Annandale, Virginia. hide
  • InsideNoVA Highlights Oakcrest's Upcoming School Year - 09/13/2021
    Private, all-girls Oakcrest School made it through the worst of the pandemic and is making final preparations for the new school year.
  • Oakcrest Breaks Ground on New Athletic Center - 06/03/2021
    On Friday, June 4, faculty, staff, students, and families will gather for a historic moment in Chargers history as Oakcrest School officially breaks ground for the construction of its new ...moreAthletic Center. hide
  • Seniors Cap Off Year with Thesis Presentations - 05/25/2021
    This week, the Class of 2021 formally presented their senior theses.The thesis is the culmination of the Oakcrest liberal arts education. After entering into the intellectual conversations of the past ...morethrough her reading of several different primary and secondary sources, the student forms her own ideas on a subject and crafts it into a thesis. hide
  • Oakcrest Golf Team Featured in Inside NoVA - 05/24/2021
    By playing among co-ed teams of mainly boys, the Oakcrest School Chargers made history during the recent Division II state private-school golf tournament.
  • LEAD Days Prepare Seniors for Post-Graduation Success - 05/24/2021
    Oakcrest held its annual LEAD Days for seniors last week.LEAD Days give seniors the opportunity to practically prepare for life in college and beyond.
  • Oakcrest Golf Team Headed to State Championship - 05/17/2021
    The Oakcrest Varsity golf team is advancing to the VISAA Division II State Championship in Williamsburg, Virginia on Monday, May 17.
  • Oakcrest Hosts Eighth Annual Most Courageous American Competition - 05/17/2021
    Oakcrest held the final round of the eighth annual Most Courageous American Competition this Thursday. This year`s finalists were George Washington, presented by the seventh grade, and Mike Murphy, supported ...moreby the eighth grade. hide
  • Students Excel in National Latin Exam - 05/17/2021
    This year, ninety-two Oakcrest students across the Latin program tackled the challenge of this 40-question, 45-minute exam with impressive results: Over 65% of students earned a score at or above ...morethe international average for their exam. hide
  • Senior Signs to Play Lacrosse with Randolph-Macon College - 05/05/2021
    On May 4, in front of Oakcrest faculty, students, and coaches, senior Ellen Stark officially signed to play lacrosse next year with Randolph-Macon College, an NCAA Division III school. Ellen ...morewill play in the position of goalie for the Randolph-Macon Yellow Jackets. hide
  • Class of 2021 Celebrates College Acceptances - 04/15/2021
    Oakcrest is celebrating the members of its senior class, who have been admitted into universities around the country, including Columbia University, the United States Coast Guard Academy, Cornell University, Vanderbilt ...moreUniversity, University of Virginia, and Georgia Institute of Technology. hide
  • Oakcrest featured in The Washington Times - 04/15/2021
    If the school officials in Fairfax County, Virginia, need any tips on how to reopen for full-time in-person learning, they need look no further than the Catholic schools in their ...moreown neighborhood, including Oakcrest. hide
  • English Teacher Accepted to NEH Summer Institute - 04/15/2021
    English Literature Master Teacher Lisa Kenna has been accepted to the National Endowment for the Humanities 2021 Summer Institute on Melville`s "Moby-Dick and the World of Whaling in the Digital ...moreAge." hide
  • Junior’s Gold Award Project Highlights Healthy Eating - 03/19/2021
    Oakcrest junior Rachel Fischer recently completed her Girl Scout Gold Award project by building a website promoting healthy eating. Entitled Healthy Eating for a Healthy Life, Rachel`s site features recipes ...moreand video tutorials for healthy, easy-to-make meals and baked goods. hide
  • Oakcrest Alumnae Coach Chargers Basketball - 02/24/2021
    Oakcrest School has the benefit of a strong alumnae presence in its roster of basketball coaches.
  • Oakcrest Science Olympiad Team Advances to States for Third Year in a Row - 02/17/2021
    Oakcrest's Science Olympiad team is once again advancing to the Virginia State Science Olympiad Tournament after competing in the regional tournament on Saturday, February 6.
  • Oakcrest Students Lead Honduras Donation Drive - 01/20/2021
    Oakcrest students are holding a donation drive this month to benefit Hondurans who have suffered from the hurricanes that hit the country in November.
  • A Commitment to Service - 12/15/2020
    In spite of the many ways that COVID has made life unpredictable, Oakcrest students have continued in their dedication to service. This year students have found many creative ways to ...moreserve those both in their immediate community and beyond. hide
  • Debate Team Kicks Off Tournament Season - 12/15/2020
    On Saturday, December 5, Oakcrest student and Debate Team member Lucy Spence ('23) competed in the third annual Lincoln-Douglas Debate Tournament hosted by the Washington-Arlington Catholic Forensic League (WACFL).
  • Oakcrest Teacher Receives Savino Grant to Teach Science and Natural History in Virginia - 12/08/2020
    Science teacher Angela Fortunato is the recipient this year of Oakcrest's Phyllis A. Savino Grant for Interdisciplinary Education.
  • Harp Circle Selected to Perform for 2020 VMEA Conference - 12/08/2020
    Oakcrest's Harp Circle was selected to perform for the 2020 Virginia Music Educators Association (VMEA) Virtual Conference.
  • Hispanic Oakcrest Students Recognized by the College Board - 12/08/2020
    Three members of the Oakcrest School Class of 2021-Sofia Jauregui, Elena Diaz-Bonilla, and Catalina Scheider Galinanes-were selected for the College Board National Recognition Programs.
  • ...read more

Top Rankings

Oakcrest School ranks among the top 20% of private schools in Virginia for:

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.
Religious Affiliation
Grades Offered
Grades 6-12
Year Founded
1976

Student Body

Total Students
298 students
Student Body Type
% Students of Color
22%
State avg.: 29%
Students by Grade
Oakcrest School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers
48 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio
6:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
80%
Average Class Size
15 students
Number of AP Courses
16 courses
List of Courses Offered
Advanced Courses
AP Art History, AP Biology, AP Calculus AB, AP Calculus BC, AP Chemistry, AP English Language and Composition, AP English Literature, AP European History, AP Latin, AP Music Theory, AP Physics, AP Spanish Language, AP Statistics, AP Studio Art, AP U.S. Government & Politics, AP U.S. History
Matriculation DataMatric. Data
Classroom Dress Code
Formal
(Uniform)

Tuition and Acceptance Rate

Admission Deadline
Jan. 18
Tuition Notes
Middle School: $27,775 Upper School: $29,955
% on Financial Aid
50%
Average Financial Aid Grant
$11,500
Admissions Director
Cynthia Bertolini
Admissions Associate
Janet Monroe

Sports

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.
17 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.
Club or Organization:
6th Grade Club, Debate Team, English Honor Society, Junior Classical League, Literary Magazine, Math Honor Society/Virginia Math League, National Honor Society, Newspaper Club, Respect Life Club, Science Olympiad, Spanish Honor Society, Student Ambassadors, Student Council

Arts and Music Programs:
Harp Circle, Middle School Liturgical Choir, Theatre, Upper School Liturgical Choir

School Notes

  • As an independent school guided by the teachings of the Catholic Church, Oakcrest School has the freedom to nurture, challenge, and inspire young women. Our rich liberal arts curriculum allows girls to discover their passions and become confident leaders with a deep sense of purpose and service to others. Each day at Oakcrest is filled with an enthusiastic, vibrant spirit of love and learning. As a result, our girls thrive and grow in wisdom and virtue. 
Profile last updated: 08/04/2021

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (7 reviews)
5  
Our daughter started Oakcrest as a 6th grader. We are so glad we made the leap of faith to have her attend Oakcrest. Her academic education has been outstanding. Oakcrest emphasizes meaningful work outside the classroom so her homework load has been very manageable despite the most demanding class schedule allowed at Oakcrest. Her class sizes are small and her teachers are very involved with each class so she really uses her time in school to deeply understand what is taught. Her math teachers have held weekly review sessions for interested students as needed in different years. Her AP science class had less than 10 students in it and her teacher has a PhD in a hard science. This same teacher started the Science Olympiad club and built a team that qualified for the state tournament 2 years in a row within 5 years. Her quality of life at school has been excellent. She has played a varsity sport since 7th grade. She has been involved with music, theater, clubs, student government, and so much more. Our daughter has close friendships with other students and teachers and other adults at school who know her heart and care about her beyond the classroom. When it came time to apply to college, Oakcrest's college counseling program provides an incredible amount of support. At Oakcrest, college counseling services begin in 9th grade. This is a service that we came to value beyond measure. Our daughter was accepted at her first choice school and we are delighted to be paying in state tuition in Virginia! We will miss having a student at Oakcrest, but are very thankful that our daughter had 7 years there.
- Posted by
5  
My daughter is a rising senior at Oakcrest who has been there since 9th grade. She has grown into a positive, confident, caring young woman. She is challenged academically and socially and has grown in her faith. The school itself is beautiful and very welcoming.
- Posted by
5  
We have had three daughters graduate from Oakcrest (2013, 2015 & 2018). Each one's personality is unique and yet all three loved their Oakcrest experience. We believe it's because the school is so good at valuing the individual and helping her to grow holistically - not only academically - but personally and spiritually. It doesn't matter if your child is an extrovert or introvert, boisterous or painfully shy all personality types are welcome and cherished by the school's community. We were very interested in Oakcrest's approach to education. While we had limited experience with "single-sex" education we were convinced after talking with more seasoned parents that the school offered an academically challenging course loan in a supportive and collegian environment. Sealing the deal for us was the number of times we witnessed how happy the girls are at Oakcrest and the easy exchange between students of different grade levels. We appreciated the all-female faculty and coaching staff and its impact on the girl's education in and outside of the classroom.Our girls enjoyed the small class sizes, the leadership opportunities in various extracurricular activities (all three had the opportunity to be captain of a sports team during their high school career), and the opportunity to attend daily Mass or track down a priest for Confession. As parents, we appreciated the community service requirements, the college prep assistance, the inspirational guest speakers and the school's commitment to The Arts with middle and high school plays, band and chorus competitions. The school's stated philosophy is to challenge "girls in grades 6-12 to develop their intellect, character, faith and leadership potential to thrive in college and throughout their lives." We've witnessed the results of an Oakcrest education first hand in all three of our daughters. We highly recommend the school. It bears good fruit.
- Posted by
5  
I have sent all of my daughters to Oakcrest and have been extremely satisfied with their formation at this school. They are well educated and well rounded when they graduate. They have gone on to succeed at their respective colleges .
- Posted by
5  
I am a current student at Oakcrest. This is my first year here and I really enjoy it. The school has already made such an impact on me.The teachers are great and really care about you. They are very enthusiastic about what they teach and want to help you excel in your classes. The classes are very enjoyable and I have already learned so much. One class I have learned a lot in is Spanish. I used to not be really interested in other languages, but now I am becoming more involved in class and really wanting to further my knowledge of the language. Also, since it is an all-girls school, there are no boys in class to distract you or make it take longer to learn something. Since coming to Oakcrest I have also gained a greater understanding of my faith. I go to mass often, because it is offered every day, and am becoming more involved in the Church because of that. I have read at Mass multiple times, brought up the gifts, and other things. I am also joining things at my own church, such as the choir. I have time after mass to reflect and talk with God, something I did not have at my old school. Confession is offered almost all day long, and in religion classes, we get into discussions about religion, that let all students be more aware of their faith. This school has many different sports you can be a part of, I did volleyball in the fall and am doing swimming this winter. Because of its small student body size, Oakcrest gives students the opportunity to try new sports, while not having to worry about not making the team. Still, though, the sports are competitive. For example, my swim relay already made states and we are very excited about it. Another quality of Oakcrest, is that you can have friends in many grades. The older students are welcoming and do not shut out younger kids. The students in lower grades are not "scared" of older students. This creates a dynamic in which students of all ages can be friends. I have multiple friends in grades 6-12. The environment is very nice as well. The building is beautiful. We can always eat outside and spend time there. Each grade gets their own common areas as well, so we have the lockers there and some seating spaces too.You can partake in many different sorts of extracurricular activities as well. I do Debate club, Ambassadors club, and Respect Life club. Debate club is very fun and lets me be able to debate over issues I care about or learn more about ones I don't know as much about. Ambassadors club is a leadership club where I can introduce people to Oakcrest and be a sort of representative of it. All of the different clubs Oakcrest offers, lets students learn more and do fun things with their peers. Also, it is very easy to start a club of your own. All in all, I definitely would recommend Oakcrest. There are so many opportunities here and possibilities to come if you take advantage of it.
- Posted by
5  
Our daughter started at Oakcrest in 8th grade, and I wish she could have started in 6th grade because the middle school is such a fantastic environment where girls learn to grow in self-confidence, take academic risks, and figure out both who they are and who they strive to be. Oakcrest's academic program is rigorous and top-notch in all disciplines. They offer at least 16 AP courses. Oakcrest's small class sizes, one-to-one mentoring program, faith formation, athletics, commitment to service, and deep commitment to educating the whole person combine to offer a uniquely superb school environment. We are so grateful for all that Oakcrest is doing for our daughter, and know that when she graduates, she will be equipped both intellectually and personally to face the challenges of college and beyond.
- Posted by
5  
This school is amazing. I felt so welcome and open to talk to anybody. All the grades talk and are friends. All different teaching styles.
- Posted by

Endorse Oakcrest School. Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards
Endorse this school:

Recent Articles

Understanding Private School Tuition
Understanding Private School Tuition
We look at why tuition costs vary so widely from school to school.
Books About Private School
Books About Private School
What's private school really like? Find out from people who have been there.
You Won't Find....
You Won't Find....
You won't find several things in private schools which you will find in public schools.

Quick Stats (2021-22)

  • Top Ranked VA School
  • Grades: 6-12
  • Students: 298 students
  • Average class size: 15 students
  • Application Deadline: Jan. 18

Request Information

Did You Know?

The average private school tuition in Fairfax County, VA is $18,474 for elementary schools and $21,620 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Fairfax County, VA is 85% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).

Quick Links