Palmetto Bay Academy

5.00 5 1 (9 reviews)
Tel: (786)293-5353
  • Palmetto Bay Academy provides a top-quality educational experience for secondary students who desire a small, nurturing environment. Our program has a 18 year proven record of success with students who are struggling in traditional public or private schools for a variety of reasons.
  • We offer rigorous academics as well as group and individual electives in a socially and emotionally supportive setting.
  • All levels of instruction are available, from remedial to Advanced Placement.
  • Our goal is to help students develop the values, motivation, and self-reliance that will successfully prepare them for the future.

School Overview

School TypeAlternative School
School Membership(s)School Assoc.Other school association(s)
AdvancED
Grades OfferedGrades 6-12
ADD/ADHD SupportYes
Learning Difference ProgramsYes
Learning Programs SupportedADD, ADHD, Processing, Gifted, Autism/Aspergers
Year Founded2000

Student Body

Total Students39 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
53%
State avg.: 32%
Students by GradePalmetto Bay Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers5 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio8:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
60%
Average Class Size7 students
Number of AP Courses15 courses
Advanced CoursesAP - CSP - New Next Year!, AP Art History, AP Biology, AP Calculus, AP Computer Science A, AP English Comp, AP English Language and Literature, AP Environmental Science, AP Human Geography, AP Macroeconomics, AP Microeconomics, AP Psychology, AP Statistics, AP US Government and Politics, AP US History
Average ACT score24
Classroom Dress CodeCasual
(khaki pants or skirt, polo with school logo)

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost$23,500
Tuition NotesApplication fee of $75 (includes diagnostic testing for placement purposes). Additional registration fees of $500 for new students and an annual book & course fee of $750.
% on Financial Aid
25%
Acceptance Rate
90%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions DirectorMaggie Eubanks
Admissions AssociateJohn Eubanks

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.14 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Club or Organization:
Books to Movies Club, Chess and Games Club, Cooking Club, Creative Writing Club, Design Club, Destination Imagination, Robotics Club, Service Clubs, Speech & Debate, Student Government Association, Yearbook

Arts and Music Programs:
Showcase/Performing Arts Club

Recreational Athletic Programs:
Basketball, Fitness Clu

School Notes

  • Experienced and passionate school staff
  • Small class size (maximum 7 students)
  • Challenging academic content
  • Seemless integration of blended learning
  • Curriculum customized to student's level to pinpoint factors for success
  • Study skills and organizational strategies
  • Long and short term goal setting
  • Higher-level thinking, not memorization
  • Flexible-paced instruction with eye to setting and meeting goals
  • Accelerate learning or recapture credits
  • Nurturing, home-like environment
  • Field trips and enrichment activities
  • Community service component
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Miami
    Grades: PK-12 | 957 students
    7.2 miles
    5801 Sw 120th Avenue
    Miami, FL 33183
    (305)274-3380
    7.2PK-12
    957
  • Miami
    Carpe Diem Academia
    Special Education School
    Grades: K-12 | 38 students
    0.5 miles
    15924 Sw 92nd Ave
    Miami, FL 33157
    (305)971-1230
    0.5K-12
    38
  • Miami
    Grades: PK-12 | 885 students
    8.5 miles
    6800 Nervia Street/9775 SW 87 Ave.
    Miami, FL 33146
    (305)666-1856
    8.5PK-12
    885
  • Miami
    Grades: 9-12 | 1165 students
    8.7 miles
    2950 Sw 87th Ave
    Miami, FL 33165
    (305)223-5181
    8.79-12
    1165
  • Miami
    Grades: PK-5 | 395 students
    6.1 miles
    5950 N Kendall Dr
    Miami, FL 33156
    (305)665-6228
    6.1PK-5
    395

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (9 reviews)
5  11/24/2017
My son has blossomed since coming to PBA . He use to attend a large private prep school with over 1200 students.. He went from being unhappy and having failing grades to a 3.9GPA . He loves his environment now - the smaller classrooms - and that made all the difference in the world for him.
- Posted by
5  11/24/2017
I can absolutely say that Palmetto Bay Academy saved my son. He is gifted, but had ADHD (inattentive type) and dyslexia which had not been diagnosed until he was 16 and failing his gifted high school program. We were all ready to give up. Thankfully when he was diagnosed, we were introduced to this school, and we have our son back again! He now has a 4.6 GPA, all honors classes, and has completely turned around socially and emotionally. He now has the chance to succeed in life as he should, thanks to Maggie and John Eubanks and staff. We are incredibly grateful. They will truly go to the mat for each child according to that child's needs.
- Posted by
5  11/24/2017
My son started at PBA this August and I have nothing but praises for this amazing school. The teachers are so dedicated and helpful. It is obvious they want to see the students succeed. He was way behind in his academics and in just a few months, the teachers have done an amazing job in getting him on track. He is enjoying the various activities such as the field trip to the Science Museum, playing basketball and interacting with his fellow students, and he likes all his teachers and Mr. & Mrs. Eubanks. Thank you so much for providing such a wonderful school providing such a nurturing environment for our children.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
The best school that we have had for our children's, we have been blessed for finding this school. We strongly recommend it and we congratulate Ms. Gross and the staff.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
Without trying to be overly dramatic, I would have to say that Palmetto Bay Academy saved my son's life and got him back on the road to academic and personal success. My very bright son went from missing over 70 days of 11th grade due to illness with failing grades, no interest in college and behavioral issues to being the valedictorian of the Palmetto Bay Academy class of 2014 and getting into all 10 colleges he applied to. The guidance and positive acceptance of this child by PBA teachers and staff put my son back in the academic world and inspired him to turn everything around in his life. We can never be grateful enough for what Palmetto Bay Academy did for our son.
- Posted by
5  4/14/2016
Our son had lost direction and motivation for school. He had tested as gifted his entire and did well until middle school. We tried several high schools for him but he always seemed to get "lost" with teachers that didn't inspire him to learn or grow. We thought that there was nowhere left to try until an academic counselor suggested PBA. Our son is finishing high school there in the next two months and has been admitted to eight different colleges and is on the waitlist for three others. The school offered a personalized approach to our son's needs and got him to see the "goal line" and finish high school with a very respectable GPA. Thanks PBA!! PS Maggie Eubanks is great!!
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
The excellence of the faculty members at any school is a major factor in the quality of education you receive and this is one of the main advantages of attending PBA very supportive and qualified faculty. Failing is not an option.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
Mrs. Gross is the best !! She made all the difference in the world for our son. We feel blessed to have had her as a teacher, director and supportive human being. Great faculty too!
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
PBA has a unique learning environment where our son was finally able to do well in school. There is no place like it! He has been at several private/boarding schools that have all claimed to be dedicated to helping him succeed, but this is the first school that showed us they meant it! Mrs. Gross and all of the teachers are truly dedicated to helping students find a pathway to achieving their full potential! They CARE! We are so grateful to have found this school.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
February 03, 2018
After conducting a survey of the educational backgrounds of current U.S. senators we were able to draw some interesting conclusions. Keep reading to learn more.
January 23, 2018
Depending on their family circumstances, our Presidents received a wide range of primary and secondary schooling.
January 18, 2018
From time to time we all wonder how things might have turned out if circumstances and situations had been different. We apply that questioning to private schools.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Miami, FL is $11,366 for elementary schools and $15,425 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Miami, FL is 84% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).
Related School Videos