Rudolf Steiner School Of Ann Arbor

5.00 5 1 (4 reviews)
Tel: (734)995-4141
  • Through an inspired, uniquely integrated Waldorf curriculum, at RSSAA we start by meeting the needs of the developing young child, then empower students through the Grades and High School years. From early on, our students thrive in a joyful and engaging atmosphere that fosters clear thinking, innovation, open-mindedness and compassion. Even starting at a very young age, children at our school are well prepared for each new step in their education and for every stage of their personal development.

School Overview

School Type Waldorf School
School Membership(s)School Assoc. Association of Waldorf Schools of North America
Waldorf Early Childhood Association of North America
Independent Schools Association of the Central States
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten-12
Year Founded 1980

Student Body

Total Students 356 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
24%
State avg.: 18%
Students by Grade Rudolf Steiner School Of Ann Arbor Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Average Class Size 25 students
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $14,650
Tuition Notes PreK and Kindergarten tuition rates vary from $5,890 for 3 mornings a week to $13,900 for 5 extended days a week. Grade 1-8 tuition is $14,650, and High School tuition is $18,180.
% on Financial Aid
30%
Average Financial Aid Grant $6,300
Acceptance Rate
80%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Peggy Wilson, Lower School
Admissions Associate Sian Owen-Cruise, High School

Sports

Total Sports Offered 7 sports
Sports Basketball, Cross Country, Ice Hockey, Soccer, Tennis, Track and Field, VolleyballBasketballCross Country,
Ice HockeySoccer,
TennisTrack and Field,
Volleyball

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 8 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Art Studio, Choir/Chorus, Community Service Club, Drama Productions, Frisbee Golf, Model United Nations, Orchestra/Strings, Robotics Team Art Studio, Choir/Chorus, Frisbee Golf, Robotics Team, Community Service Club,
Drama Productions,
Model United Nations,
Orchestra/Strings,
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Ann Arbor
    Grades: 6-12 | 565 students
    5.1 miles
    850 Greenhills Drive
    Ann Arbor, MI 48105
    (734)769-4010
    5.16-12
    565
  • Ypsilanti
    Grades: K-12 | 199 students
    10.8 miles
    1007 Ecorse Road
    Ypsilanti, MI 48198
    (734)482-1990
    10.8K-12
    199
  • Ann Arbor
    Grades: 9-12 | 497 students
    4.9 miles
    4333 Whitehall Dr
    Ann Arbor, MI 48105
    (734)662-0496
    4.99-12
    497
  • Ann Arbor
    Go Like The Wind Montessori School
    Montessori School (Christian)
    Grades: PK-8 | 168 students
    5.8 miles
    3540 Dixboro Lane
    Ann Arbor, MI 48105
    (734)747-7422
    5.8PK-8
    168
  • Ann Arbor
    Grades: K-2 | 28 students
    5 miles
    2775 Bedford Rd
    Ann Arbor, MI 48104
    (734)971-3080
    5K-2
    28

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (4 reviews)
5  4/15/2016
I have a daughter in the 7th grade at the Rudolph Steiner School in Ann Arbor. We have been at the school since Kindergarten, and can't really imagine being anywhere else. From 1st grade on, the students begin studying both Spanish and German. Year by year, they study the myths and religions of the whole world: Hebrew, Christian, Norse, Hindu, Greek. Art is at the center of everything they do - geometry, physics, biology (drawing the backyard oak tree as it progressed through the fall, winter and spring). Woodworking - they begin carving wooden mice, and this year she is making a wooden sailing ship as they study the Age of Exploration. The classrooms themselves, though cinderblock, are paneled and trimmed with wood, so that they feel more like a home than an institution. They discourage "electronic media" - TV, radio, Internet, and the result that I see is a group of kids who are not interested in being "a famous singer" as a career choice, and who don't all compete to wear the latest hypersexual fashions, make up and hairstyles. If those things appeal to you, this is your tribe.
- Posted by
5  3/17/2016
Posted February 28, 2016 - a parent I couldn't be more pleased with Steiner. We've got a 3rd grader and a preschooler and we've been there for 4 years. I find the environment to be very open and accepting. My daughter's learning style is not only accepted but encouraged, helping her to fit into her classroom community as well as encouraging her individuality. I love how all subjects are taught with a similar emphasis so that everything from language and math to art and music are treated with equal respect. I adore the early childhood program. The way they manage to achieve a daily rhythm is gentle and nurturing. I was worried that the school would be too dogmatic for me but on the whole I've found the environment to be welcoming and accepting of all of our values. [We were not even shunned for having a tv! ;) ]
- Posted by
5  2/26/2016
I have found this school to be a perfect place for my children to grow into positive contributing members of their classroom, school and community. The children are allowed to develop at their pace and enjoy hold hood for all it has to offer. The curriculum is rich in arts integration which supports the academics beautifully and allows for retention of material long after it has been covered. My children have come home singing, asking questions, engaging in conversation, eager to discover new ideas, and independently offering to help with household or family tasks.! The school not only challenges them academically but also physically and emotionally developing them into sturdy human beings that believe they have much to contribute to the world!
- Posted by
5  8/4/2014
RSSAA has a wonderful Lower School and High School with teachers dedicated to teaching the whole child. The facilities are beautiful and peaceful and the children spend time outdoors every day. The teachers are calm and kind and create a great atmosphere for learning. My children have learned so much and have enjoyed the rich curriculum. This summer they have been missing school. The Early Childhood has very energetic and bright teachers who are so gentle with the children yet able to manage and positively direct the energy of the young ones at the same time. It is a very balanced and sweet atmosphere in the EC classes.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
April 25, 2017
What are the attributes which make 21st century military schools so special? We find out in this article.
April 25, 2017
If you are looking for a college preparatory education with a military emphasis, then take a look at military schools.
April 25, 2017
School uniforms are largely found at religious, parochial and military schools. Dress codes have replaced uniforms at most schools.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Ann Arbor, MI is $15,194 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Ann Arbor, MI is 80% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).