Through an inspired, uniquely integrated Waldorf curriculum, we start by meeting the needs of the developing young child, then empower students through the Grades and High School years.
From early on, our students thrive in a joyful and engaging atmosphere that fosters clear thinking, innovation, open-mindedness and compassion.
Even starting at a very young age, children at Rudolf Steiner School of Ann Arbor are well prepared for each new step in their education and for every stage of their personal development.

Quick Stats (2022-23)

School News

  • Pandemic Schooling - 11/01/2020
    Being in person during the pandemic.
  • Growing Bigger Minds - 02/01/2020
    Cover story on how Rudolf Steiner School of Ann Arbor does things differently - and succeeds!

Top Rankings

Rudolf Steiner School Of Ann Arbor ranks among the top 20% of private schools in Michigan for:

Category
Attribute

School Overview

Student Body

Total Students
230 students
Student Body Type
Co-ed
% Students of Color
20%
State avg.: 20%
Students by Grade
Rudolf Steiner School Of Ann Arbor Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers
25 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio
9:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
70%
Average Class Size
20 students
List of Courses Offered
Matriculation DataMatric. Data
Classroom Dress Code
Casual

Tuition and Acceptance Rate

Admission Deadline
None / Rolling
Tuition Notes
Tuition rates vary by grade. For our current rates and tuition assistance information, please visit www.steinerschool.org
% on Financial Aid
50%
Acceptance Rate
80%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director
Janine Huber

Sports

Total Sports Offered
4 sports

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.
7 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.
Club or Organization:
Community Service Club, Robotics Club, Sports Club

Arts and Music Programs:
Art Studio, Choir/Chorus, Drama Productions, Orchestra/Strings

School Notes

  • Waldorf education is the fastest-growing non-denominational educational movement in the world. There are Waldorf schools on every continent. Waldorf education works in the suburbs of Stockholm; the thriving cities of Brazil; the townships of South Africa; and in the ancient cities of Japan. It works here in Ann Arbor, too.
  • Waldorf education works because it is based on profound insight into the needs and capacities of young children, elementary pupils, and high school students. Founded in 1919, Waldorf schools today seem more contemporary than ever. Theme-based education, block scheduling, teaching to different learning styles, moral education, and `looping` have all been part of the Waldorf curriculum since the first school was founded.
  • Our kindergartens give young children the opportunity to work joyfully and play imaginatively within a secure and beautiful environment. Our loving, experienced teachers know the importance of rich sensory experiences, walks in nature, hard work, and joyful festivals.
  • Grades teachers move with their classes through at least Grade 5. They come to know their students intimately, and they are able to unify the entire primary academic curriculum. In addition, special subject teachers introduce the children to a wide array of disciplines: Spanish, German, orchestra, woodworking, handwork, eurythmy, singing, physical education, and the arts. Academic concepts are presented through stories, drama, music, and movement. This kind of artistic presentation reaches children with many different learning styles.
  • High school students need academic rigor, opportunities for self-expression, and a community. Every student studies nearly every subject, all of which are taught by specialists. Students discover new capacities and talents within themselves; their self-confidence allows them to relate to their teachers and to each other in an open, tolerant environment.Professors who have taught Waldorf students across many academic disciplines and across a wide range of campuses-from State Universities to Ivy League-note that Waldorf graduates have the ability to integrate thinking; to assimilate information as opposed to memorizing isolated facts; to be flexible, creative and willing to take intellectual risks; and are leaders with high ethical and moral standards who take initiative and are passionate to reach their goals. Waldorf graduates are highly sought after in higher education.
  • At Rudolf Steiner School of Ann Arbor computers are not part of the early grades curriculum, although mechanical technology and the practical arts are incorporated at all levels. During the middle school years students are introduced to appropriate technology, including computers and the internet, and an after-school robotics club is offered. In high school, computers are used in the classroom as teaching tools across disciplines and computer-specific courses, including coding, are taught. All high school students utilize computers at home for research, to aid in their schoolwork and for in-class or school-wide presentations.  For more information and resources, visit https://www.steinerschool.org/about-us/waldorf-education.cfm
Source: Verified school update

School Calendar

View the Rudolf Steiner School Of Ann Arbor yearly calendar below. Note key dates such as:

Event
Date
NO SCHOOL - Fall Break
November 23, 2022 (Wednesday)
NO SCHOOL - Fall Break
November 24, 2022 (Thursday)
NO SCHOOL - Fall Break
November 25, 2022 (Friday)
NO SCHOOL - PreK-11 Spring Break
April 10, 2023 (Monday)
NO SCHOOL - PreK-11 Spring Break
April 11, 2023 (Tuesday)

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (8 reviews)
5  
We switched to Rudolf Steiner Ann Arbor this year from public schools. My kids are in 3rd and 7th. There have been so many wonderful experiences and my kids LOVE being at Steiner. The way they educate and focus on the whole child is truly incredible. The relationship they create with their peers and teachers is unlike other schools as they move with this same class and teacher grade to grade. Even during a pandemic, the community feeling is so much stronger than we`ve ever experienced before.
- Posted by
5  
Very happy to have my child at the Steiner School of Ann Arbor. In 8th grade now and looking forward to high school also. The opportunity for a consistent experience through the grades and through high school years was a big influence in choosing this school. The curriculum matches the developmental stages of the child and rich relationships with individual teachers nurture a love of learning. What more could a parent want?!
- Posted by
5  
Excellent school. Well-rounded program and the way the kids are taught is amazing. They learn quicker and getter a deeper knowledge of the subjects.
- Posted by
5  
After a few months of online schooling and many tears (from both our 9 year old and mom), we were desperate to find an in-person alternative to the anxiety inducing situation we had been forced into. Of course, we were concerned about in-person learning and how safe it would be in the midst of the pandemic, but as I said, we were desperate. We knew a few people who had gone to Rudolf Steiner and they couldn`t say enough about the incredible education, academically and emotionally. Our 9 year old son and almost 5 year old daughter have been attending the lower school since January and we are extremely pleased and feel so fortunate to have landed there. Our sensitive son`s anxiety level has been lowered significantly, and he really responds to the learning style there. He is thrilled to be learning cursive and German and knitting, and also seems to really appreciate the extra outdoor time and learning about nature and Native American stories in addition to his times tables and long division. Our nearly 5 year old daughter`s imagination is put to great use every day and she has also become quite the little finger knitter! The environment is nurturing and thoughtful. And to top it off, they have done an incredible job keeping everyone safe during this very scary time.
- Posted by
5  
I have a daughter in the 7th grade at the Rudolph Steiner School in Ann Arbor. We have been at the school since Kindergarten, and can't really imagine being anywhere else. From 1st grade on, the students begin studying both Spanish and German. Year by year, they study the myths and religions of the whole world: Hebrew, Christian, Norse, Hindu, Greek. Art is at the center of everything they do - geometry, physics, biology (drawing the backyard oak tree as it progressed through the fall, winter and spring). Woodworking - they begin carving wooden mice, and this year she is making a wooden sailing ship as they study the Age of Exploration. The classrooms themselves, though cinderblock, are paneled and trimmed with wood, so that they feel more like a home than an institution. They discourage "electronic media" - TV, radio, Internet, and the result that I see is a group of kids who are not interested in being "a famous singer" as a career choice, and who don't all compete to wear the latest hypersexual fashions, make up and hairstyles. If those things appeal to you, this is your tribe.
- Posted by
5  
Posted February 28, 2016 - a parent I couldn't be more pleased with Steiner. We've got a 3rd grader and a preschooler and we've been there for 4 years. I find the environment to be very open and accepting. My daughter's learning style is not only accepted but encouraged, helping her to fit into her classroom community as well as encouraging her individuality. I love how all subjects are taught with a similar emphasis so that everything from language and math to art and music are treated with equal respect. I adore the early childhood program. The way they manage to achieve a daily rhythm is gentle and nurturing. I was worried that the school would be too dogmatic for me but on the whole I've found the environment to be welcoming and accepting of all of our values. [We were not even shunned for having a tv! ;) ]
- Posted by
5  
I have found this school to be a perfect place for my children to grow into positive contributing members of their classroom, school and community. The children are allowed to develop at their pace and enjoy hold hood for all it has to offer. The curriculum is rich in arts integration which supports the academics beautifully and allows for retention of material long after it has been covered. My children have come home singing, asking questions, engaging in conversation, eager to discover new ideas, and independently offering to help with household or family tasks.! The school not only challenges them academically but also physically and emotionally developing them into sturdy human beings that believe they have much to contribute to the world!
- Posted by
5  
RSSAA has a wonderful Lower School and High School with teachers dedicated to teaching the whole child. The facilities are beautiful and peaceful and the children spend time outdoors every day. The teachers are calm and kind and create a great atmosphere for learning. My children have learned so much and have enjoyed the rich curriculum. This summer they have been missing school. The Early Childhood has very energetic and bright teachers who are so gentle with the children yet able to manage and positively direct the energy of the young ones at the same time. It is a very balanced and sweet atmosphere in the EC classes.
- Posted by

Endorse Rudolf Steiner School Of Ann Arbor. Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards
Endorse this school:

Nearby Homes for Sale

Recent Articles

A Timeline of Private School Events and History
A Timeline of Private School Events and History
What was the first private school? What's the oldest school? What are some of the educational philosophies commonly found? Some answers here.
Suicide Prevention: Caring For Our Young People
Suicide Prevention: Caring For Our Young People
At last we have a dedicated phone number for suicide and crisis support. The Suicide and Crisis Lifeline is 988. More about it and suicide prevention here.
School Safety
School Safety
Seemingly never-ending school shootings prompted me to find out whether private schools were safer than public schools. Some answers and opinions on the matter here.

Quick Stats (2022-23)

Request Information

Did You Know?

The average private school tuition in Ann Arbor, MI is $15,837 for elementary schools and $17,062 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Ann Arbor, MI is 83% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).

Quick Links