Saddle River Day School

5.00 5 1 (5 reviews)
Tel: (201)327-4050
  • "A school where students participate, not spectate..." Saddle River Day School is a vibrant Pre-K to Grade 12, co-ed, college-preparatory community filled with bright, motivated young people, instructed by a talented and dedicated faculty.
  • A 7:1 student-to-faculty ratio provides personalized instruction for every student in a challenging academic environment while embracing core values of responsibility, honesty, compassion and respect.
  • Strong performing/visual arts and competitive intersholastic athletics are offered.
  • Recent college acceptances include Boston College, Brown, Bucknell, Colgate, Cornell, Columbia, Haverford, The College of New Jersey, Tufts, Univ Michigan, U Penn, Vanderbilt, William & Mary just to name a few.  Come see why our students enjoy school!.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
National Association of College Admissions Counselors
New Jersey Association of Independent Schools
Grades OfferedGrades Prekindergarten-12
Year Founded1957

Student Body

Total Students357 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
33%
State avg.: 30%
Students by GradeSaddle River Day School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers64 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio6:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
70%
Average Class Size15 students
Number of AP Courses13 courses
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Advanced CoursesArt History, Computer Science, Macroeconomics, World History,
Average SAT score1244
Average ACT score27
Classroom Dress CodeCasual
(uniform in lower and middle schools; casual but appropriate dress code in upper school)

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineFeb. 1 / Feb. 1 / rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost$36,500
Tuition Notestuition varies between divisions -- the range is from $21,000 - 36,500; meals, technology, transportation fees all additional
% on Financial Aid
20%
Average Financial Aid Grant$18,249
Acceptance Rate
53%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions DirectorGretchen Lee
Admissions AssociateKris Sweeny

Sports

Total Sports Offered11 sports
SportsBasketball, Cross Country, Fencing, Golf, Lacrosse, Soccer, Softball, Tennis, Track and Field, Volleyball, Winter TrackBasketballCross Country,
FencingGolf,
LacrosseSoccer,
SoftballTennis,
Track and FieldVolleyball,
Winter Track

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.20 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Annual Yearbook, Chamber Ensemble, Community Service, Cum Laude Society, Federal Reserve Challenge, Full Interscholastic Athletics, Jazz Band, Math League, Mimesis (annual student literary/art publication), Model U.N., Peer Leaders, Robotics, SRDS Admissions Ambassadors, Strong Graphic Arts, Strong Performing Arts, Strong Visual Arts, Student Newspaper, TED Ed Club, Unplugged Cafe, World Language Exchange Programs Jazz Band, Math League, Model U.N., Peer Leaders, Robotics, TED Ed Club, Unplugged Cafe, Annual Yearbook,
Chamber Ensemble,
Community Service,
Cum Laude Society,
Federal Reserve Challenge,
Full Interscholastic Athletics,
Mimesis (annual student literary/art publication),
SRDS Admissions Ambassadors,
Strong Graphic Arts,
Strong Performing Arts,
Strong Visual Arts,
Student Newspaper,
World Language Exchange Programs,

School Notes

  • see our website for further information regarding our program:  http://lovelearning.saddleriverday.org/
  • Look for us on Facebook -- Saddle River Day Rebel
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Englewood
    Grades: PK-12 | 897 students
    11.7 miles
    315 E Palisade Avenue
    Englewood, NJ 07631
    (201)569-9500
    11.7PK-12
    897
  • Congers
    Grades: PK-12 | 124 students
    10.9 miles
    34 Kings Highway
    Congers, NY 10920
    (845)268-6802
    10.9PK-12
    124
  • Ramsey
    Don Bosco Prep H.S.
    All-boys (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: 9-12 | 848 students
    4.1 miles
    492 N. Franklin Turnpike
    Ramsey, NJ 07446
    (201)327-8003
    4.19-12
    848
  • Livingston
     Newark Academy
    Special Program Emphasis
    Grades: 6-12 | 599 students
    22.7 miles
    91 South Orange Avenue
    Livingston, NJ 07039
    (973)992-7000
    22.76-12
    599
  • Dobbs Ferry
    Grades: 5-12 | 721 students
    11.2 miles
    49 Clinton Avenue
    Dobbs Ferry, NY 10522
    (914)479-6420
    11.25-12
    721

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (5 reviews)
5  5/17/2016
I couldn't agree more with the previous review. Saddle River Day School has changed SO much since the new Head of School Eileen Lambert is there. She is a strong and vibrant leader who is adding to both the physical plant as well as the academic program. The High School athletic program has even gotten much more competitive with Danny Brown the new Athletic Director now. The students coming in are students that would do well anywhere. If you haven't looked at their recent college acceptances, go on the website and check it out... great school that gives kids a chance to explore many other extra-curricular interests in addition to outstanding academics. My daughter is there in the High School and loves school every day.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
My son just started in the Upper School at SRDS and he loves it! He gets up every day and really enjoys going to school there. He's a strong student in Honors classes and is VERY challenged in his courses. And the school really allows students to be involved in SO many different things from athletics to arts (they even have a requirement in the arts). But the best part is that the kids get along so well no matter what they''re involved in. Even though the school is in Saddle River, the kids are very friendly and there aren't really cliques. My son is an athlete and we never would have considered sending him a few years ago because their athletics was so bad but that has totally changed with Danny Brown, the A.D. He is all about the kids, whether they''re athletic or not. Such a great place... if you haven't checked it out recently, you MUST go... facilities are gorgeous (brand new everything), technology is cutting edge now and academics are challenging. We couldn't be happier!
- Posted by
5  5/12/2016
My daughter will be starting her second year at Saddle River Day Upper School. As parents we are beyond thrilled with the education and mentoring she receives on a daily basis. The environment is amazing and totally different from other high school education options in the Bergen County area. We reviewed other girl's high schools in the area and found that the positive environment at SRD and the fantastic academics could not be matched! The teachers and faculty are truly amazing. Classes are very small in size and students are pushed to their potential. The teacher's engage with the kids like mentors in corporations. Teacher are well prepared, happy and interesting but very demanding and the kids seem to love it. 100% satisfied we made the right choice for our child.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
I currently am enrolled in the 10th grade at saddle river day and I love it!!!
- Posted by
5  1/19/2012
Saddle River Day has definitely changed over the last few years! The new Head of School is fantastic and the school is becoming much more competitive academically. They are also growing in enrollment and the kids coming in are really strong students and well-rounded kids. I have a son there in the Middle School and he loves his teachers and his school. It is such a joy as a parent to wake up every morning and have him happy to go to school in a great enrivonment where teachers truly care about him as a person and where he is receiving an incredible education. We are so pleased and definitely made the right choice to send him there. I highly recommend the school to anyone looking for a smaller, very challenging yet balanced academic program. It is well worth the price.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
October 18, 2017
The Seattle area is home to many fine private schools as well as to major companies such as Microsoft, Boeing and Starbucks.
September 30, 2017
Scandals in private school are bound to raise questions for those of us thinking about sending our children to private school. Regardless of how sensational these scandals may appear, they are actually few and far between.
September 29, 2017
Parents have many reasons for deciding to take their children out of public school and enrolling them in private school. This circumstance is something which can happen at any stage of your child's education.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Bergen County, NJ is $8,561 for elementary schools and $18,128 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Bergen County, NJ is 77% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).